30 years of Suntory Hall in Tokyo

The Berliner Philharmoniker’s second home in Japan

(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

It is the younger sister of the Berliner Philharmonie: Suntory Hall in Tokyo, which was opened 30 years ago on 12 October 1986 with a gala concert by the NHK Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Wolfgang Sawallisch. Just a few days later, the Berliner Philharmoniker made a guest appearance with three concerts in the new hall – the first foreign orchestra to do so. Herbert von Karajan was in fact due to conduct the performances, but had to cancel for health reasons. In his place, Seiji Ozawa conducted the Philharmoniker in performances of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Fourth and Johannes Brahms’ First Symphony on 28 and 29 October. This was followed by Franz Schubert’s Unfinished and Richard Strauss’ Ein Heldenleben on 30 October. “Notably apparent from the very start was the beautiful cantabile tone of the strings with principal woodwinds very clear and harmoniously blended,” was how the review in the Japan Times described the performance. This concert, which was then recorded by NHK, can be viewed in the Digital Concert Hall.


To the Digital Concert Hall

Inspired by the Berlin Philharmonie

In May 1988, a year before his death, Karajan himself took to the podium of Suntory Hall for the first time for two concerts. The architecture of the hall owes much to the lively cultural exchange between the Berliner Philharmoniker and Japan: the vineyard-like, arena-shaped hall, which at the time was new and unusual, can be traced back to a suggestion by Karajan. Keizo Saji, president of Suntory at the time, and friend of the legendary Sony boss and Karajan confidant Norio Ohga, wanted to ask Karajan’s advice at a meeting. Although Saji originally favoured the more conventional shoebox-shape like the Vienna Musikverein, the conductor’s arguments convinced him. He just said quietly, “Then let's do it like that”. This swift decision-making very much impressed the chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker. The acoustics, which are regarded as exemplary, are an early example of the work of Yasuhisa Toyota, who has since taken on a number of famous concert halls, from the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles and the Elbphilharmonie to the Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin.

World Famous Acoustics

Suntory Hall, which is now one of the most famous concert halls in the world, belongs to the Japanese beverage company Suntory, which has an international reputation as a manufacturer of whisky. Unlike many German cultural venues, it is a privately operated venue. What was absolutely new when it opened was not only the unusual architecture, but the specialisation in performances of classical music, something that Tokyo had never seen before. Even today, there is much that commemorates the association with Herbert von Karajan: the square in front of the hall, for example, bears the name of the conductor, and in the foyer there is a plaque with Karajan’s original greeting when the hall opened. Since 1986, it has been natural for the Berliner Philharmoniker to include Suntory Hall on their Japan tour dates. For the orchestra, the Brahms cycle under Claudio Abbado in 1992 and the first guest appearance under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle in 2004 are only two of the numerous musical highlights they have experienced. The most recent guest appearances by the Philharmoniker and their chief conductor was in May 2016 when they performed their acclaimed Beethoven cycle. The orchestra feels a special connection to Japanese audiences: In 1957, the Berliner Philharmoniker went to Japan for the first time and were overwhelmed by the enthusiastic reception they received, something that has not changed to this day. During guest performances, numerous private contacts, friendships and collaborations have developed between the musicians and the Japanese. And Suntory Hall has become the orchestra’s second home.


Herbert von Karajan and Keizo Saji
(Photo: Suntroy Hall)
The concert hall during construction
(Photo: Suntory Hall)
The similarity to the Berlin Philharmonie is unmistakable.
(Photo: Suntory Hall)
1986: Seiji Ozawa conducts the first guest appearance of the Berliner Philharmoniker.
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1988: Herbert von Karajan’s guest appearance
(Photo: Suntory Hall)
Entrance from Herbert von Karajan square
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)

30 Jahre Suntory Hall in Tokio

Eine zweite Heimat der Berliner Philharmoniker in Japan

(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)

Sie ist die jüngere Schwester der Berliner Philharmonie: die Suntory Hall in Tokio, die vor 30 Jahren am 12. Oktober 1986 mit einem Galakonzert des NHK-Symphonieorchesters unter der Leitung von Wolfgang Sawallisch eröffnet wurde. Nur wenige Tage später gastierten die Berliner Philharmoniker mit drei Konzerten in dem neuen Haus – als erstes ausländisches Orchester. Eigentlich sollte Herbert von Karajan die Aufführungen dirigieren, doch dieser musste aus gesundheitlichen Gründen kurzfristig absagen. An seiner Stelle stand Seiji Ozawa am Pult der Philharmoniker und leitete am 28. und 29. Oktober die Vierte Symphonie von Ludwig van Beethoven sowie die Erste von Johannes Brahms. Am 30. Oktober folgten Franz Schuberts Unvollendete und Ein Heldenleben von Richard Strauss. »Von Anfang an bemerkenswert war der wunderbar kantable Ton der Streicher, mit dem sich die solistischen Holzblasinstrumente sehr klar und harmonisch mischten«, hieß es anschließend in der Kritik der Japan Times. Dieses Konzert, das damals von NHK aufgezeichnet wurde, können Sie in der Digital Concert Hall ansehen.


Zur Digital Concert Hall

Von der Berliner Philharmonie inspiriert

Karajan selbst stand im Mai 1988, ein Jahr vor seinem Tod, erstmals für zwei Konzerte auf dem Podium der Suntory Hall, die ihre architektonische Gestalt dem regen kulturellen Austausch zwischen den Berliner Philharmonikern und Japan verdankt: Denn die weinbergartige, arenaförmige Form des Saals, die damals neu und ungewöhnlich wirkte, geht auf eine Anregung Karajans zurück. Der Bauherr Keizo Saji, damaliger Präsident von Suntory und Freund des legendären Sony-Chefs und Karajan-Vertrauten Norio Ohga, wollte sich bei einem Treffen den Rat Karajans holen. Obwohl Saji ursprünglich die konventionellere Schuhkarton-Form wie im Wiener Musikverein favorisierte, überzeugten ihn die Argumente des Dirigenten. Er meinte nur leise: »Dann lass es uns so machen«. Diese schnelle Entschlusskraft beeindruckte den Chefdirigenten der Berliner Philharmoniker sehr. Die Akustik, die als vorbildlich gilt, ist ein Frühwerk Yasuhisa Toyotas, der mittlerweile eine Reihe berühmter Konzerthäuser betreut hat: von der Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles über die Elbphilharmonie bis hin zum Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin.

Weltberühmte Akustik

Die Suntory Hall, die heute zu den berühmtesten Konzertsälen der Welt zählt, gehört dem japanischen Getränkekonzern Suntory, der als Hersteller von Whisky internationales Renommee besitzt. Im Gegensatz zu vielen deutschen Kulturstätten ist sie ein privat geführtes Haus. Das absolut Neue bei der Eröffnung war nicht nur die ungewöhnliche Architektur, sondern die Spezialisierung auf Aufführungen klassischer Musik. Das gab es vorher in Tokio nicht. Noch heute erinnert Vieles an die Zusammenarbeit mit Herbert von Karajan: So trägt der Vorplatz des Hauses den Namen des Dirigenten und im Foyer hängt eine Tafel mit Karajans Grußworten zur Eröffnung. Seit 1986 ist es für die Berliner Philharmoniker eine Selbstverständlichkeit bei jeder ihrer Japan-Tourneen in der Suntory Hall aufzutreten. Von den zahlreichen musikalischen Höhepunkten, die das Orchester erlebte, sei nur an den Brahms-Zyklus unter Claudio Abbado 1992 oder das erste Gastspiel unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle 2004 erinnert. Zuletzt gastierten die Philharmoniker und ihr Chefdirigent dort im Mai 2016 und führten ihren gefeierten Beethoven-Zyklus auf. Das Orchester fühlt sich dem japanischen Publikum auf besondere Weise verbunden: 1957 kamen die Berliner Philharmoniker zum ersten Mal nach Japan und waren überwältigt von der Begeisterung, die ihnen entgegengebracht wurde. Und daran hat sich bis heute nichts geändert. Während der Gastspielreisen entwickelten sich zwischen den Musikern und den Japanern zahlreiche private Kontakte, Freundschaften und Kooperationen. Und die Suntory Hall ist dem Orchesters zur zweiten Heimat geworden.

 


Herbert von Karajan und Keizo Saji
(Foto: Suntroy Hall)
Der Konzertsaal im Bau
(Foto: Suntory Hall)
Unübersehbar: die Ähnlichkeit mit der Berliner Philharmonie
(Foto: Suntory Hall)
1986: Seiji Ozawa dirigiert das erste Gastspiel der Berliner Philharmoniker.
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
Herbert von Karajans Auftritt 1988
(Foto: Suntory Hall)
Eingang von Herbert-von-Karajan-Platz
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)