Cultural Intermediaries

Zubin Mehta, Ravi and Anoushka Shankar

Anoushka Shankar
(Photo: promo)

They are each seen in their own way as musical bridge builders: Zubin Mehta, who was the first Indian to forge a unique career as a conductor on the international classical music scene, and his fellow countryman Ravi Shankar who, before he died in 2012, taught western audiences to appreciate the beauty and fascination of Indian music. Shankar toured Europe and the USA as a member of his brother’s dance troupe in the 1930s, which gave him a deep understanding of Western musical culture. He decided rather late, at the age of 18, that he wanted to be a professional sitar player, and studied the Asian long-necked lute under the sitar master Allauddin Khan for six years. He later founded the Indian National Orchestra and was music director of All India Radio. However, what established his worldwide fame were his numerous tours of Western countries, his legendary appearance at Woodstock in 1969 and the “Concert for Bangladesh” in New York in 1971, plus his encounters and collaborations with outstanding classical and pop artists: the violinist Yehudi Menuhin, the ex-Beatle George Harrison, and the composer Philip Glass. “Music transcends all languages and barriers and is the most beautiful communicative skill one can have. Music makes us all experience different emotions or the Navarasa as we call it.”

“Father of World Music”

As a composer, his intention was always to combine the improvisation-based soundscape of India and its subtle, sophisticated melodies called ragas, with Western music and its polyphonic structure. As such, he was one of the first cross-over artists and is often referred to by many as the “father of world music”. The bringing together of Indian and classical music techniques also characterises his Concerto for sitar and orchestra No. 2 Raga-Mālā, which Shankar was commissioned to write by the New York Philharmonic and their former musical director Zubin Mehta in 1981. Mehta, a long-time artistic and personal friend of Shankar, remembers well the genesis of the work: “Ravi initially played ragas on the sitar, and since he had not mastered Western notation, I wrote everything down. He then worked with our section leaders and wrote out a kind of Indian improvisation.” In this way, a sensuous dialogue between solo instrument and orchestra was created which, to Western ears, sounds strange and familiar at the same time.

Family tradition

At his next guest appearance in Berlin, Mehta performs his friend’s concerto with the Philharmoniker. For classical musicians, it is – says the conductor – an unknown world, so he is pleased that the Berliner Philharmoniker are brave enough to take it on. Soloist Anoushka Shankar, the composer’s daughter, who was born in the year of the concerto’s premiere, began her studies with her father when she was seven years old. Today, she herself is one of the leading sitar players of her time and a worthy heir to Ravi Shankar’s ambitions to combine different musical traditions: “I grew up in three different countries, and the balancing act between Western and Eastern cultures is something that came easily to me,” she says. “That sets me apart from most musicians from India.” But not from Zubin Mehta who, like Ravi and Anoushka Shankar, is a musical cosmopolitan of our time.

Ravi Shankar at Woodstock
(Photo: Wikicommons/Markgoff2972)
1985 with Zubin Mehta
(Photo: AKG/Marion Kalter)
Concert with daughter Anoushka
(Photo: copyright by A. Shankar)

Digital Concert Hall

Visit the Digital Concert Hall, where you can experience the live concerts with Zubin Mehta in the Philharmonie. In the concert archive you find the artist’s concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker since 2008.

Digital Concert Hall

Grenzgänger der Kulturen

Zubin Mehta, Ravi und Anoushka Shankar

Anoushka Shankar
(Foto: promo)

Sie gelten, jeder auf seine Weise, als musikalische Brückenbauer: Zubin Mehta, der als erster Inder eine internationale Dirigentenkarriere hinlegte, und sein 2012 verstorbener Landsmann Ravi Shankar, der dem westlichen Publikum die Schönheit und Faszination der indischen Musik nahegebracht hat. Shankar, der in den 1930er-Jahren als Mitglied der Tanztruppe seines Bruders durch Europa und USA tourte und dadurch ein tiefes Verständnis für die westliche Musikkultur entwickelte, entschied sich erst spät, im Alter von 18 Jahren, ein professioneller Sitar-Spieler zu werden. Er studierte die asiatische Langhalslaute sechs Jahre lang bei dem Sitarmeister Allauddin Khan, gründete später das Indische Nationalorchester und war Musikdirektor beim All India Radio. Was seinen Weltruhm, begründete waren jedoch seine zahlreichen Tourneen in die Länder des westlichen Kulturkreises, sein legendärer Auftritt 1969 in Woodstock und das »Concert for Bangladesh« 1971 in New York sowie die Begegnungen und die Zusammenarbeit mit herausragenden Künstlern der Klassik und des Pop: mit dem Geiger Yehudi Menuhin, dem Ex-Beatle George Harrison oder dem Komponisten Philip Glass. »Musik überwindet alle Sprachen und Grenzen und ist die schönste Art zu kommunizieren. Musik vermittelt uns allen verschiedene Emotionen oder ›Navarasa‹, wie wir es nennen«, lautete sein Credo.

»Vater der Weltmusik«

Als Komponist versuchte er immer wieder, die auf Improvisation basierende Klangwelt Indiens, mit ihren subtilen, differenzierten Melodien, Raga genannt, und die abendländische Musik mit ihrer mehrstimmigen Struktur zu verbinden. Er gehörte somit zu den ersten Cross-over-Künstlern und wird von vielen gerne auch als »Vater der Weltmusik« bezeichnet. Die Verknüpfung von indischen und klassischen Musiktechniken zeichnet auch sein Zweites Sitarkonzert Raga-Mālā aus, das Shankar 1981 im Auftrag des New York Philharmonic und seines damaligen musikalischen Chefs Zubin Mehta schieb. Mehta, ein langjähriger künstlerischer und persönlicher Freund Shankars, erinnert sich noch gut an die Entstehung des Werks: »Ravi hat die Ragas zunächst auf der Sitar gespielt, und da er die abendländische Notation nicht beherrschte, habe ich alles aufgeschrieben. Danach hat er mit unseren Stimmführern gearbeitet und eine Art indische Improvisation ausgeschrieben.« Auf diese Weise entstand ein sinnlicher Dialog zwischen Soloinstrument und Orchester, der für westliche Ohren fremd und gleichzeitig vertraut klingt.

Familiäres Erbe

Bei seinem nächsten Berliner Gastauftritt führt Mehta das Konzert seines Freundes mit den Philharmonikern auf. Für klassische Musiker sei das – so der Dirigent – eine unbekannte Welt und eine ungewohnte Tonsprache. Und er freut sich, dass die Berliner Philharmoniker so mutig sind, sich darauf einzulassen. Solistin ist Anoushka Shankar, die Tochter des Komponisten, die im Uraufführungsjahr des Konzerts auf die Welt kam und als Siebenjährige Schülerin ihres Vaters wurde. Heute gilt sie selbst als eine der führenden Sitarspielerinnen ihrer Zeit und als würdige Erbin von Ravi Shankars Bestreben, verschiedene Musiktraditionen zu vereinen: »Ich bin in drei verschiedenen Ländern aufgewachsen, und der Spagat zwischen der westlichen und der östlichen Kultur fiel mir sichtlich leicht«, meint sie. »Das unterscheidet mich von den meisten Musikern aus Indien.« Nicht jedoch von Zubin Mehta, der ebenso wie Ravi und Anoushka Shankar zu den musikalischen Kosmopoliten unserer Zeit zählt.

Ravi Shankar in Woodstock
(Foto: Wikicommons/Markgoff2972)
1985 mit Zubin Mehta bei der Probe
(Foto: AKG/Marion Kalter)
Gemeinsames Konzert mit Anoushka
(Foto: Rechte bei A. Shankar)

Digital Concert Hall

Besuchen Sie die Digital Concert Hall und sehen Sie die Konzerte der Berliner Philharmoniker mit Zubin Mehta seit 2008.

Zur Digital Concert Hall