“Together we can achieve so much artistically”

Kirill Petrenko conducts works by Mozart, Tchaikovsky and Adams

Kirill Petrenko
(Photo: Wilfried Hösl)

Kirill Petrenko returns to the Berliner Philharmoniker for the first time since his election as the orchestra’s future chief conductor – with a programme that ranges from the First Viennese School to Romanticism to contemporary music: In addition to Mozart’s Haffner Symphony and Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique he also conducts The Wound-Dresser by John Adams, the orchestra’s Composer in Residence this season. Petrenko will also present these three works at the Easter Festival in Baden-Baden. As he revealed during the press conference of his contract signing in October 2016, he views his new role which he takes up in August 2019 with optimism: “Through my few guest appearances with this orchestra, I have gained the impression that together we can achieve so much artistically.”

Spectacular debut

Even when he made his debut with the Philharmoniker in February 2006, Petrenko impressed the orchestra with his personality and his way of music-making, which is meticulous, scrupulous, yet passionate and exciting. “When you stand before an orchestra, so many sonic possibilities come to a conductor. Anyone who does not have their own point of view about the sound falls through the cracks,” Petrenko said in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall. At that time, he was already known to Berlin audiences – as general music director of the Komische Oper. He took up this office in the 2002/2003 season, and from that point took his orchestra to the highest musical heights. The Komische Oper was his springboard into the global music scene: Petrenko now conducts at the Wiener Staatsoper, the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, the Metropolitan Opera and in Bayreuth, where he conducted the Ring des Nibelungen in the staging by Hans Castorf. Since the 2013/2014 season, Petrenko has been general music director of the Bayerische Staatsoper where he has celebrated one triumph after another. The Bayerisches Staatsorchester, one of Germany’s outstanding opera orchestras, has – according to the press – become even better, with a more slender tone and more precise intonation. The magazine Opernwelt has now named Petrenko “Conductor of the Year” on several occasions.

Challenging and fulfilling

Petrenko, who was born in Omsk and studied both in his home town and Vienna, initially learned his craft in smaller houses: at the Vorarlberger Landestheater, the Vienna Volksoper and the Meininger Theater, where he conducted a much-admired Ring des Nibelungen together with Christine Mielitz. In concerts with the Phiharmoniker, Petrenko – who still feels very much at home in Berlin – has presented himself since his debut as an interpreter of the Russian masters as well as with works by Béla Bartók, Edward Elgar and Ludwig van Beethoven. His last concerts with the orchestra in December 2012 included Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms and Alexander Scriabin’s The Poem of Ecstasy plus two works by Rudi Stephan, a brilliant composer who died when still young. An unusual but exciting programme which reflected the various aspects of Petrenko’s artistic work. As the conductor said in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, a concert programme is successful when the musicians play something where they have some fun, and the audience hears something which can both teach them something and move them at the same time. For Petrenko, standing in front of the Berliner Philharmoniker is both challenging and fulfilling at the same time: “I hope for many moments of artistic happiness in our music-making together which will reward our hard work and fill our lives as artists with meaning.”

Applause after the concert on 22 March 2017
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

»Wir können zusammen künstlerisch viel erreichen«

Kirill Petrenko dirigiert Mozart, Tschaikowsky und Adams

Kirill Petrenko
(Foto: Wilfried Hösl)

Erstmals seit seiner Wahl zum künftigen Chefdirigenten der Berliner Philharmoniker steht Kirill Petrenko wieder am Pult des Orchesters – mit einem Programm, das von der Wiener Klassik über die Romantik bis hin zur zeitgenössischen Musik reicht: Neben Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Haffner-Symphonie und Peter Tschaikowskys Pathétique erklingt The Wound-Dresser von John Adams, in dieser Saison Composer in Residence des Orchesters. Die drei Werke dirigiert Petrenko auch bei den Osterfestspielen in Baden-Baden. Auf seine neue Aufgabe, die er im August 2019 übernimmt, blickt er – wie er bei der Pressekonferenz anlässlich seiner Vertragsunterzeichnung im Oktober 2016 verriet – voller Optimismus: »Durch meine wenigen Gastauftritte bei diesem Orchester habe ich das Gefühl gewonnen, dass wir zusammen künstlerisch viel erreichen können.«

Aufsehenerregendes Debüt

Bereits bei seinem philharmonischen Debüt im Februar 2006 beeindruckte Petrenko die Orchestermusiker mit seiner Persönlichkeit und seiner Art des Musizierens, die akribisch, skrupulös und dennoch leidenschaftlich und mitreißend ist. »Wenn man vor ein Orchester tritt, kommen so viele klangliche Möglichkeiten auf einen Dirigenten zu. Wer da keine eigene Klangvorstellung entwickelt hat, geht unter«, meinte Petrenko in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall. Dem Berliner Publikum war er damals schon bestens bekannt – als Generalmusikdirektor der Komischen Oper. In der Spielzeit 2002/2003 hatte er dieses Amt angetreten und seither sein Orchester auf musikalisch höchste Höhen geführt. Die Komische Oper wurde sein Sprungbrett in die Welt, denn mittlerweile dirigiert Petrenko an der Wiener Staatsoper, dem Royal Opera House Covent Garden, der Metropolitan Opera und in Bayreuth, wo er den von Frank Castorf inszenierten Ring des Nibelungen leitete. Seit der Spielzeit 2013/2014 ist Petrenko Generalmusikdirektor der Bayerischen Staatsoper. Dort feiert er einen Triumph nach dem anderen. Das Bayerische Staatsorchester, eines der herausragenden Opernorchester Deutschlands, sei – so der Tenor der Presse – noch besser geworden, schlanker im Klang und präziser in der Tongebung. Die Zeitschrift Opernwelt kürte Petrenko mehrmals zum »Dirigenten des Jahres«.

Herausforderung und Erfüllung

Der aus Omsk stammende Künstler, der in seiner Heimatstadt und in Wien studierte, hat sein Handwerk zunächst an kleineren Häusern gelernt: am Landestheater Vorarlberg, an der Wiener Volksoper und am Meininger Theater, wo er zusammen mit Christine Mielitz einen vielbeachteten Ring des Nibelungen herausbrachte. In den philharmonischen Konzerten präsentierte sich Petrenko, der sich Berlin nach wie vor heimatlich verbunden fühlt, seit seinem Debüt bislang als Interpret russischer Meister, aber auch mit Werken von Béla Bartók, Edward Elgar und Ludwig van Beethoven. Bei seinen letzten Konzerten mit dem Orchester im Dezember 2012 erklangen neben Igor Strawinskys Psalmensymphonie und Alexander Skrjabins Le Poème de l’extase zwei Werke des genialen, früh verstorbenen Komponisten Rudi Stephan. Eine ebenso ungewöhnliche wie spannende Programmzusammenstellung, die verschiedene Aspekte von Petrenkos künstlerischer Arbeit widerspiegelt. Denn ein gelungenes Konzertprogramm – so der Dirigent in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall – zeichne sich dadurch aus, dass die Musiker etwas spielen, woran sie Spaß haben, und das Publikum etwas hört, von dem es etwas lernen kann, gleichzeitig aber auch mitgerissen wird. Vor den Berliner Philharmonikern zu stehen, bedeutet Petrenko Herausforderung und Erfüllung zugleich: »Ich erhoffe mir vom gemeinsamen Musizieren viele Momente des künstlerischen Glücks, die unsere harte Arbeit belohnen und unser Künstlerleben mit Sinn erfüllen sollen.«

Schlussapplaus nach dem Konzert am 22. März 2017
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)

Konzerte

Samstag,

08. Apr 2017
18:00 Uhr

Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Konzertreise

Sa, 08. Apr 2017 18:00 Uhr
Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Osterfestspiele Baden-Baden

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko Dirigent

Georg Nigl Bariton

Werke von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, John Adams und Peter Tschaikowsky

mehr lesen