Puccini’s First Lady

Kristine Opolais makes her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker as Tosca

Kristīne Opolais
(Photo: Elena Nezenceva)

The press has nicknamed her “Puccini’s First Lady”. Not by chance, because Kristine Opolais is currently regarded as one of the most sought-after singers for the soprano roles of the Italian opera composer: the title role in Manon Lescaut, Mimì in La Bohème, Cio-Cio-San in Madama Butterfly and Tosca in the opera of the same name – in these roles, the native Latvian has sung her way to the top. She thanks her mother that she became an opera singer: she realised her daughter’s talent at a time when Kristine Opolais found classical operas totally uninteresting.

Longing for the stage

She had always wanted to go on the stage, but at that time, she would have preferred to be a pop singer or actress. However, her acting ambitions have also helped her as an opera singer. She is celebrated by critics not only for her magnificent voice, but also for her thrilling acting abilities. Kristīne Opolais laid the foundation for her career in Riga, where she received her vocal training – first at the conservatory, then later privately. In 2001, she joined the chorus of Latvian National Opera. She sang her first solo role two years later and, as a member of the ensemble, had the opportunity to sing major roles. In 2006, the soprano was offered her first international engagement: Under the direction of Daniel Barenboim, she made her debut at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin as Tosca. Not such a clever idea, as the singer admitted in an interview. Barenboim said after the performance that although she had a great voice, the role was just too heavy for her. Advice which she took to heart, and dropped the role for a while.

Open, honest, independent

As evidenced by her performances at the Royal Opera House in London, she now has the vocal and dramatic skills required for the part: “Tosca is a complicated character. [...] Puccini did not idealise her. She is very human – open, honest, independent – and she has a great vulnerability which the audience can identify with. She is passionate, jealous, self-centred – a typical artist, essentially a diva.” Kristine Opolais is now to sing Tosca in a new production of the opera at the Easter Festival in Baden-Baden. It will also be her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker. “I am looking forward to working with Simon Rattle. I’m sure he will help me bring all of the wonderful details of Puccini’s score to life. Tosca is not only a bravura role with many dramatic moments, but also full of wonderful, delicate melodies. During the opera, the character undergoes an incredible development, and it is important to represent that.” The singer made her international breakthrough at the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich in 2010, when she stood in at short notice for Nina Stemme in the title role of Martin Kušej’s new production of Antonín Dvořák’s Rusalka, and the audience rewarded her performance with storms of applause. To sing in Rusalka, she cancelled on the spur of the moment her planned debut at the Metropolitan Opera in New York, where she was to be introduced as Musetta in La Bohème.

Star at the Met

However, her cancellation did not harm her career, and she is now one of the most popular stars of the house. She won the respect and admiration of the general manager of the Met and achieved overnight fame in the USA when, just hours after her successful debut as Butterfly, she stepped in as Mimì for a performance of Bohème which was broadcast nationwide in many cinemas. The New York Met, London’s Covent Garden and the Bayerische Staatsoper are currently the artistic fixed points of her career. And even if she enjoys success at the moment primarily as “Puccini’s First Lady”, she of course has other roles in her repertoire: Donna Elvira in Mozart’s Don Giovanni, Vitellia in La clemenza di Tito, Jenůfa in Janáček’s opera, Margherita in Boito’s Mefistofele and Amelia in Verdi’s Simon Boccanegra.

Puccini’s First Lady

Kristine Opolais debütiert als Tosca bei den Berliner Philharmonikern

Kristīne Opolais
(Foto: Elena Nezenceva)

Die Presse verpasste ihr den Spitznamen »Puccini’s First Lady«. Nicht von ungefähr, denn Kristine Opolais gilt derzeit als eine der gefragtesten Interpretinnen für die Sopranpartien des italienischen Opernkomponisten: die Titelheldin in Manon Lescaut, Mimì in La Bohème, Cio-Cio-San in Madama Butterfly und Tosca in der gleichnamigen Oper – in diesen Rollen sang sich die gebürtige Lettin an die Weltspitze. Dass sie Opernsängerin geworden ist, verdankt sie ihrer Mutter, die ihr Talent zu einer Zeit gesehen hat, als Kristine Opolais klassische Opern vollkommen uninteressant fand.

Sehnsucht nach der Bühne

Aber im Rampenlicht stehen, das wollte sie schon immer. Sie wäre damals jedoch lieber Popsängerin oder Filmschauspielerin geworden. Ihre schauspielerischen Ambitionen kommen ihr allerdings auch als Opernsängerin zugute. Von den Kritikern wird sie nicht nur für ihre grandiosen stimmlichen, sondern auch für ihre mitreißenden darstellerischen Fähigkeiten gefeiert. Den Grundstein für ihre Karriere legte Kristine Opolais in Riga: Hier erhielt sie ihre Gesangsausbildung, zunächst am Konservatorium, später privat. 2001 fand sie Aufnahme in den Chor der Lettischen Nationaloper. Zwei Jahre später sang sie ihre erste Solistenrolle und konnte sich als Ensemblemitglied der Oper wichtige Partien erarbeiten. 2006 erhielt die Sopranistin ihr erstes Auslandsengagement: Unter der Leitung von Daniel Barenboim debütierte sie an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin als Tosca. Das sei – so die Sängerin in einem Interview – nicht gerade clever gewesen. Barenboim meinte nach der Aufführung, sie habe zwar eine großartige Stimme, doch die Rolle sei einfach noch zu schwer für sie. Ein Rat, den sie sich zu Herzen nahm, so dass sie die Partie eine Weile ruhen ließ.

Offen, ehrlich, unabhängig

Wie ihre Auftritte am Royal Opera House in London beweisen, besitzt sie mittlerweile die stimmlichen und darstellerischen Voraussetzungen für diese Figur: »Tosca ist kein komplizierter Charakter. […] Puccini hat sie nicht idealisiert. Sie erscheint sehr menschlich – offen, ehrlich, unabhängig ‒, und sie besitzt eine große Verletzlichkeit, mit der sich das Publikum identifizieren kann. Sie ist leidenschaftlich, eifersüchtig, selbstbezogen – eine typische Künstlerin, eine Diva eben.« Nun wird Kristine Opolais die Tosca in der Neuproduktion der Oper bei den Osterfestspielen in Baden-Baden singen, gleichzeitig gibt sie damit ihr Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern. »Ich freue mich, mit Simon Rattle zusammenzuarbeiten. Ich bin sicher, er wird mich unterstützen, all die wunderbaren Details von Puccinis Partitur zum Leben zu erwecken. Tosca ist nicht nur eine bravouröse Rolle mit vielen dramatischen Momenten, sondern auch voll wunderbarer, zarter Melodien. Die Figur erfährt während der Oper eine ungeheure Entwicklung, und das gilt es darzustellen.« Der internationale Durchbruch gelang der Sängerin 2010 an der Bayerischen Staatsoper in München, als sie in Martin Kušejs Neuinszenierung von Antonín Dvořáks Rusalka kurzfristig für Nina Stemme in der Titelpartie einsprang und das Publikum mit ihrer Interpretation zu Beifallsstürmen hinriss. Um in Rusalka mitwirken zu können, sagte sie kurzentschlossen das geplante Debüt an der New Yorker Metropolitan Opera ab, an der sie sich als Musetta in La Bohème einführen sollte.

Star an der Met

Geschadet hat ihr diese Absage nicht, inzwischen gehört sie zu den beliebtesten Stars des Hauses. Dass sie nur wenige Stunden nach ihrem erfolgreichen Butterfly-Debüt als Mimì bei einer Bohème-Vorstellung einsprang, die landesweit in vielen Kinos übertragen wurde, trug ihr die Achtung und die Bewunderung des General Managers der Met ein und machte sie in Amerika schlagartig berühmt. Die New Yorker Met, Londons Covent Garden und die Bayerische Staatsoper sind derzeit die künstlerischen Fixpunkte ihrer Karriere. Und auch wenn sie im Moment vor allem als »Puccini’s First Lady« reüssiert, hat sie selbstverständlich auch andere Partien im Repertoire: Donna Elvira in Mozarts Don Giovanni, Vitellia in La clemenza di Tito, Jenůfa in Leoš Janáčeks gleichnamiger Oper, Margherita in Boitos Mefistofele oder Amelia in Verdis Simon Boccanegra.

Aufführungen

Freitag,

07. Apr 2017
18:00 Uhr

Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Konzertreise

Fr, 07. Apr 2017 18:00 Uhr
Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Osterfestspiele Baden-Baden

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Kristine Opolais Sopran (Floria Tosca)

Marcelo Álvarez Tenor (Mario Cavaradossi)

Evgeny Nikitin Bassbariton (Baron Scarpia)

Alexander Tsymbalyuk Bass (Cesare Angelotti)

Peter Tantsits Tenor (Spoletta)

Douglas Williams Bass (Sciarrone)

Peter Rose Bass (Mesner)

Walter Fink Bass (Schließer)

Philharmonia Chor Wien

Walter Zeh Einstudierung

Philipp Himmelmann Regie

Giacomo Puccini Tosca

mehr lesen

Montag,

10. Apr 2017
18:00 Uhr

Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Konzertreise

Mo, 10. Apr 2017 18:00 Uhr
Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Osterfestspiele Baden-Baden

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Kristine Opolais Sopran (Floria Tosca)

Marcelo Álvarez Tenor (Mario Cavaradossi)

Evgeny Nikitin Bassbariton (Baron Scarpia)

Alexander Tsymbalyuk Bass (Cesare Angelotti)

Peter Tantsits Tenor (Spoletta)

Douglas Williams Bass (Sciarrone)

Peter Rose Bass (Mesner)

Walter Fink Bass (Schließer)

Philharmonia Chor Wien

Walter Zeh Einstudierung

Philipp Himmelmann Regie

Giacomo Puccini Tosca

mehr lesen

Donnerstag,

13. Apr 2017
18:00 Uhr

Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Konzertreise

Do, 13. Apr 2017 18:00 Uhr
Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Osterfestspiele Baden-Baden

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Kristine Opolais Sopran (Floria Tosca)

Marcelo Álvarez Tenor (Mario Cavaradossi)

Evgeny Nikitin Bassbariton (Baron Scarpia)

Alexander Tsymbalyuk Bass (Cesare Angelotti)

Peter Tantsits Tenor (Spoletta)

Douglas Williams Bass (Sciarrone)

Peter Rose Bass (Mesner)

Walter Fink Bass (Schließer)

Philharmonia Chor Wien

Walter Zeh Einstudierung

Philipp Himmelmann Regie

Giacomo Puccini Tosca

mehr lesen

Montag,

17. Apr 2017
18:00 Uhr

Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Konzertreise

Mo, 17. Apr 2017 18:00 Uhr
Baden-Baden, Festspielhaus

Osterfestspiele Baden-Baden

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Kristine Opolais Sopran (Floria Tosca)

Marcelo Álvarez Tenor (Mario Cavaradossi)

Evgeny Nikitin Bassbariton (Baron Scarpia)

Alexander Tsymbalyuk Bass (Cesare Angelotti)

Peter Tantsits Tenor (Spoletta)

Douglas Williams Bass (Sciarrone)

Peter Rose Bass (Mesner)

Walter Fink Bass (Schließer)

Philharmonia Chor Wien

Walter Zeh Einstudierung

Philipp Himmelmann Regie

Giacomo Puccini Tosca

mehr lesen online sehen

Samstag,

22. Apr 2017
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert Aboserie: - Sonderkonzerte

Sa, 22. Apr 2017 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Kristine Opolais Sopran (Floria Tosca)

Stefano La Colla Tenor (Mario Cavaradossi)

Evgeny Nikitin Bassbariton (Baron Scarpia)

Alexander Tsymbalyuk Bass (Cesare Angelotti)

Peter Tantsits Tenor (Spoletta)

Douglas Williams Bass (Sciarrone)

Maurizio Muraro Bass (Mesner)

Walter Fink Bass (Schließer)

Philippe Tsouli Knabensopran (Hirtenjunge)

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Kinderchor der Staatsoper Unter den Linden

David Jones Einstudierung

Giacomo Puccini Tosca konzertante Aufführung

mehr lesen online sehen