Andris Nelsons, Daniele Gatti and Manfred Honeck

At the Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Following the season opening concert with their chief conductor Sir Simon Rattle, the Berliner Philharmoniker have invited three great guest conductors for their upcoming concerts: Andris Nelsons, Daniele Gatti and Manfred Honeck. Nelsons confessed in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall that it was always a great experience to work with the Berliner Philharmoniker, but at the same time a great responsibility, “so I am always a little nervous before every concert.” Since his debut with the Philharmoniker in October 2010, the conductor, the son of a Latvian family of musicians, has performed 13 concert programmes with the orchestra – and has always demonstrated his versatility, whether in the Classical, Romantic, Modern or contemporary repertoire.

Meteoric career

A former pupil of Mariss Jansons, Nelsons belongs to a generation of young conductors who have achieved world renown within only a few years: Chief conductor positions at Latvian National Opera, the Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie in Herford, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and – since the 2014/2015 season – the Boston Symphony Orchestra mark the stations of his remarkable career. And in 2018, Nelsons begins his tenure as Gewandhauskapellmeister in Leipzig. For his guest appearances in September 2016 as part of Musikfest Berlin, he will conduct an all-French programme: Hector Berlioz’ expressive Symphonie fantastique, Claude Debussy’s languorous Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune and Edgard Varèse’s anarchic Arcana.

Return with Wagner and Brahms

Daniele Gatti conducted the Berliner Philharmoniker for the first time in 1997. This native of Milan, who feels bound to the tradition of the great Italian conductors such as Arturo Toscanini and Carlo Maria Giulini, introduced himself with a Hungarian-French programme: Hector Berlioz’s Carnival Overture, Franz Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with Yefim Bronfman as the soloist, and Béla Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra. He impressed audiences – as the reviews reported – with his simultaneously controlled and spirited music-making: he was an “impulsive, thoroughbred musician”. Gatti, chief conductor of the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam as of this season, conducts all around the world: at La Scala in Milan and the New York Met, at London’s Covent Garden and the festivals in Bayreuth and Salzburg. For his return to the podium of the Berliner Philharmoniker in October 2014, Daniele Gatti presented an all-German programme with works by Richard Wagner, Johannes Brahms and Alban Berg. This time Daniele Gatti conducts classics of French modernism: Claude Debussy’s impressionistic tone poem La Mer, Henri Dutilleux’ avant-garde Métaboles and Arthur Honegger’s apocalyptic Symphony liturgique.

Selfless Service to Art

Compared to Andris Nelsons and Daniele Gatti, Manfred Honeck is still somewhat of a “new boy” with the Philharmoniker. He was first invited to appear in February 2013, and conducted a programme which, alongside Witold Lutosławski’s Concerto for Orchestra, included Antonín Dvořák’s Romance for Violin and Orchestra and the Violin Concerto with Anne-Sophie Mutter as the soloist. Press reports wrote of his impressive “selfless service to art”. Working with the Philharmoniker feels like sitting in a Rolls Royce, as Honeck said enthusiastically in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall. “They respond to every nuance.” The Austrian conductor comes from a family of musicians, and began his musical career as a violist with the Vienna Philharmonic before starting his conducting career which so far has included positions as first Kapellmeister with Zurich Opera, principal conductor of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra in Stockholm and as general music director of the Staatsoper Stuttgart. Since the 2008/2009 season, he has been music director of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. In March 2016, Manfred Honeck stood in for the indisposed Yannick Nézet-Séguin for an orchestral concert at the Baden-Baden Easter Festival. Now, he returns to the desk of the Philharmoniker at the end of September, beginning of October with an unusual programme: a fantasy from Antonín Dvořák’s opera Rusalka arranged by Honeck himself, plus the Czech composer’s Eighth Symphony. Together with the baritone Matthias Goerne, the Philharmoniker and Manfred Honeck also perform orchestral songs by Richard Strauss and Lieder by Franz Schubert, arranged for orchestra.


Daniele Gatti
(Photo: promo)

Manfred Honeck
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Andris Nelsons, Daniele Gatti und Manfred Honeck

Am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)

Nach der Saisoneröffnung mit ihrem Chef Sir Simon Rattle haben die Berliner Philharmoniker für ihre nächsten Konzerte drei großartige Gastdirigenten eingeladen: Andris Nelsons, Daniele Gatti und Manfred Honeck. Nelsons bekannte in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall, dass es für ihn stets eine tolle Erfahrung sei, mit den Berliner Philharmonikern zu arbeiten, aber gleichzeitig auch eine große Verantwortung. »Ich bin daher vor jedem Konzert immer etwas nervös.« Seit seinem philharmonischen Debüt im Oktober 2010 stand der Dirigent, Sproß einer lettischen Musikerfamilie, bei 13 Konzertprogrammen am Pult des Orchesters – und stellte dabei stets seine Vielseitigkeit unter Beweis, egal ob Klassik, Romantik, Moderne oder Zeitgenössisches.

Steile Karriere

Der Zögling von Mariss Jansons gehört zu jener Generation von jungen Dirigenten, die innerhalb weniger Jahre zu Weltruhm gelang sind: Chefpositionen an der Lettischen Nationaloper, bei der Nordwestdeutschen Philharmonie in Herford, dem City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra und – seit der Saison 2014/2015 – beim Boston Symphony Orchestra markieren die Stationen von Nelsons’ bemerkenswerter Karriere. Außerdem übernimmt er 2018 das Amt des Leipziger Gewandhauskapellmeisters. Bei seinen Gastauftritten im September 2016, die im Rahmen des Musikfests Berlin stattfinden, dirigiert er ein rein französisches Programm: Hector Berlioz’ expressive Symphonie fantastique, Claude Debussys verträumtes Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune und Edgard Varèses anarchisches Arcana.

Comeback mit Wagner und Brahms

Daniele Gatti leitete 1997 erstmals die Berliner Philharmoniker. Der gebürtige Mailänder, der sich der Tradition der große italienischen Dirigenten wie Arturo Toscanini und Carlo Maria Giulini verpflichtet fühlt, führte sich mit einem ungarisch-französischem Programm ein: Hector Berlioz’ Carneval-Ouvertüre, Franz Liszts Klavierkonzert Nr. 2 mit Yefim Bronfman als Solisten sowie Béla Bartóks Konzert für Orchester. Er beeindruckte – wie den Rezensionen zu entnehmen ist – durch sein gleichzeitig kontrolliertes wie temperamentvolles Musizieren. Er sei ein »impulsiver Vollblutmusiker«. Als Dirigent gastiert Gatti, seit dieser Saison Chef des Amsterdamer Concertgebouworkest, weltweit: an der Mailänder Scala ebenso wie an der New Yorker Met, an Londons Covent Carden oder bei den Bayreuther und den Salzburger Festspielen. Im Oktober 2014 feierte der Italiener nach 17 Jahren sein Comeback am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker und präsentierte mit Werken von Richard Wagner, Johannes Brahms und Alban Berg ein rein deutsches Programm. Dieses Mal ist Daniele Gatti mit Klassikern der französischen Moderne zu erleben: Claude Debussys impressionistisches Tongemälde La Mer, Henri Dutilleux’ avantgardistisches Métaboles und Arthur Honeggers apokalyptische Symphonie liturgique.

Selbstloser Diener der Kunst

Im Vergleich zu Andris Nelsons und Daniele Gatti erscheint Manfred Honeck noch als philharmonischer »Neuling«. Er wurde im Februar 2013 erstmals eingeladen, das Orchester zu dirigieren. Auf dem Programm standen neben Witold Lutosławskis Konzert für Orchester die Romanze für Violine und Orchester sowie das Violinkonzert von Antonín Dvořák mit Anne-Sophie Mutter als Solistin, und er beeindruckte – wie den Presseberichten zu entnehmen war – durch seine »selbstlose Kunst des Dienens«. Mit den Philharmonikern zusammenzuarbeiten fühle sich an, wie in einem Rolls Royce zu sitzen, schwärmte Honeck in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall. »Es wird auf jede Nuance reagiert.« Der Österreicher stammt aus einer Musikerfamilie und begann seine musikalische Karriere als Bratscher bei den Wiener Philharmonikern, ehe er die Dirigentenlaufbahn einschlug, die ihn u. a. als Erster Kapellmeister ans Opernhaus Zürich, als Chefdirigent des Schwedischen Radio-Symphonieorchesters nach Stockholm und als Generalmusikdirektor an die Staatsoper Stuttgart führte. Seit der Spielzeit 2008/2009 ist er Musikdirektor beim Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. Im März 2016 dirigierte er bei den Osterfestspielen Baden-Baden ein Orchesterkonzert als Einspringer für den erkrankten Yannick Nézet-Séguin und kehrt nun Ende September, Anfang Oktober mit einem ungewöhnlichen Programm ans Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker zurück: Es erklingt aus Antonín Dvořáks Oper Rusalka eine Fantasie, die Manfred Honeck aus Teilen des Werks zusammengestellt hat, außerdem die Achte Symphonie des tschechischen Komponisten. Gemeinsam mit dem Bariton Matthias Goerne führen die Philharmoniker und Manfred Honeck Orchesterlieder von Richard Strauss sowie für Orchester instrumentierte Lieder von Franz Schubert auf.


Daniele Gatti
(Foto: promo)

Manfred Honeck
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)