Maurizio Pollini

Grand master of the piano

(Photo: Mathias Bothor)

Maurizio Pollini’s reputation preceded him when he made his first appearance as a soloist with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 1970. Ten years previously, the barely 18-year-old had won the prestigious International Chopin Competition in Warsaw. Despite this pianistic accolade, the Milan-born musician did not throw himself immediately into an international career, but decided to continue studying and to finish off his musical studies with Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli. This was an investment in the future. “He has the late-Classical coolness of a Benedetti Michelangeli in his fingers,” wrote Die Welt following Pollini’s début with the Philharmoniker, in which he played Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto, conducted by Zdenek Mácal.

Regular guest artist of the Philharmoniker

Since then, Pollini has been an established figure with the Berliner Philharmoniker. He has played all the major piano concertos with the orchestra: Beethoven, Schumann, Chopin, Brahms, Bartók, Schoenberg – and Mozart on repeated occasions. Over the years, the pianist also conducted the performance of the Mozart work himself, thus giving the Berliners the opportunity to experience him as “primus inter pares” who encouraged a more chamber music style of playing from the Philharmoniker. The performances with his friend and fellow artist Claudio Abbado are legendary. For example, the memorable concert at the Waldbühne after the fire in the Philharmonie in 2008, when they performed Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto. He and Abaddo also shared a keen interest in contemporary music, and together with the composer Luciano Berio, they initiated several concert series for new music.

Concise, clear, intense

Maurizio Pollini impresses with his clear, structured, and at the same time brilliant playing: Intensive and expressive, without resorting to sentimentality – a skill that few command as well as he. “While other pianists struggle to say anything creative with Mozart, the notes as written in the score still suffice for Pollini. Everything is there as a matter of course. Dry and laconic, yet incredibly present. And Pollini is the only pianist capable of this,” enthused the critic from Kulturradio following Pollini’s performance with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Christian Thielemann in December 2012, in which he performed Mozart’s C major Piano Concerto KV 467. At his most recent appearance with the orchestra in January 2016, he performed Chopin’s First Piano Concerto. Although Pollini has often been a guest soloist with the orchestra, his first solo recital as part of Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation concerts was only in 2011. A regular feature of his recital programming has been works by Chopin which he contrasts with those of another composer. However, his next recital on 3 April will be an all-Chopin occasion: Nocturnes, Ballades, Berceuse, Scherzo and the Sonata in B minor.

Rehearsal 1974: Maurizio Pollini with Christoph von Dohnanyi
(Photo: Reinhard Friedrich)
Salzburg Whitsun Festival 1975: Pollini with the cellist Ottomar Borwitzky
(Photo: privat)
Pollini and Abbado 2008: concert at the Waldbühne after the fire in the Philharmonie
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Maurizio Pollini

Grandseigneur des Klaviers

(Foto: Mathias Bothor)

Maurizio Pollini eilte ein großer Ruf voraus, als er 1970 zum ersten Mal als Solist mit den Berliner Philharmonikern auftrat. Zehn Jahre zuvor hatte er, gerade 18-Jährig, den renommierten Internationalen Chopin-Wettbewerb in Warschau gewonnen. Trotz dieses pianistischen Ritterschlags stürzte sich der gebürtige Mailänder damals nicht gleich in eine Konzertkarriere, sondern entschied, weiter zu studieren und sich den letzten musikalischen Schliff bei Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli zu holen. Das war eine Investition in die Zukunft. »Die spätklassizistische Kühle eines Benedetti Michelangeli sitzt ihm in den Fingern«, hieß es in der Welt nach Pollinis philharmonischem Debüt, bei dem er unter Leitung von Zdenek Mácal Beethovens Fünftes Klavierkonzert interpretierte.

Regelmäßiger Gast der Philharmoniker

Seither ist Pollini bei den Berliner Philharmonikern eine beständige Größe. Sämtliche wichtigen Klavierkonzerte hat er mit dem Orchester gespielt: Beethoven, Schumann, Chopin, Brahms, Bartók, Schönberg – und immer wieder Mozart. Drei Mal in all den Jahren dirigierte der Pianist die Aufführung der mozartschen Werke auch selbst. Die Berliner konnten ihn dabei als »Primus inter pares« erleben, der die Philharmoniker zu einem intimen, kammermusikalischen Musizieren anhielt. Legendär waren die Auftritte mit seinem Freund und künstlerischen Weggefährten Claudio Abbado. Man erinnere sich nur an das denkwürdige Konzert in der Waldbühne nach dem Brand in der Philharmonie im Jahr 2008, bei dem die beiden Beethovens Viertes Klavierkonzert aufführten. Mit Abaddo verband ihn zusätzlich ein großes Interesse an der zeitgenössischen Musik. Gemeinsam mit dem Komponisten Luciano Berio initiierten sie mehrere Konzertserien für Neue Musik.

Prägnant, klar, intensiv

Maurizio Pollini besticht durch sein klares, strukturiertes und gleichzeitig brillantes Spiel. Intensiv und ausdrucksstark zu sein, ohne sich ins Sentimentale zu flüchten – kaum einer beherrscht das so gut wie er. »Während sich andere Pianisten bei Mozart abmühen müssen, um gestalterisch etwas auszusagen, genügt bei Pollini nach wie vor der Notentext selbst. Das ist alles ganz selbstverständlich da, trocken und lakonisch und doch unglaublich präsent. Und das kann eben nur Pollini und kein anderer Pianist«, schwärmte der Kulturradio-Kritiker nach Pollinis Auftritt mit dem Berliner Philharmonikern und Christian Thielemann im Dezember 2012, bei dem er Mozarts C-Dur-Klavierkonzert KV 467 zum Besten gab. Zuletzt war er bei dem Orchester im Januar 2016 als Interpret von Chopins Erstem Klavierkonzert zu erleben. So oft Pollini bereits als Solist in den philharmonischen Orchesterkonzerten gastierte, Klavierabende gibt er im Rahmen der Konzerte der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker erst seit 2011. Ein Konstante seiner Programmgestaltung sind Werke von Chopin, die er denen eines anderen Komponisten gegenüberstellt. Bei seinem nächsten Recital am 3. April erklingt »Chopin pur«: Nocturnes, Balladen, Berceuse, Scherzo und die Sonate h-Moll.

Bei der Probe 1974: Maurizio Pollini mit Christoph von Dohnanyi
(Foto: Reinhard Friedrich)
Salzburger Pfingstfestspiele 1975: Pollini mit dem Cellisten Ottomar Borwitzky
(Foto: privat)
2008: Maurizio Pollini und Claudio Abbado treten nach dem Brand in der Philharmonie in der Waldbühne auf.
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)