Fools’ Dance of Death

György Ligeti’s “Le Grand Macabre” with Simon Rattle and Peter Sellars

Peter Sellars and Sir Simon Rattle
(Photo: Martin Walz)

The end of the world fails to take place because Death is too drunk. An idea as absurd as it is grotesque that was the inspiration for one of Hungarian composer György Ligeti’s greatest works: the opera Le Grand Macabre, which was written in the mid-1970s, commissioned by the Royal Swedish Opera in Stockholm. The work was based on the play Le Balade du Grand Macabre by the Belgian poet Michel de Ghelderode in 1934, one year after Hitler came to power, as a satirical tragicomedy against the Nazis. “I made something more general out of it,” Ligeti said in an interview. “Fear of death and the delusional belief that it won’t happen to you – that is the great theme of the piece. Actually nothing unusual, because we all try to block out the fact that we have to die.”

Off to “Breughelland”

In his play, Ghelderode conjured up the whimsical atmosphere which the Flemish painter Hieronymus Bosch and Pieter Bruegel created in their paintings: the desperate, intemperate lust for life of people in the face of death. The prince of hell, who Ligeti calls Nekrotzar, is the main character. Emerging from a tomb, he threatens to destroy the world. But very quickly it becomes clear that this Grim Reaper is a figure of ridicule. Together with the drunkard Piet the Pot, he travels throughout the land spreading fear and terror. But the people, obsessed with power and sex games, and stupefied by alcohol and eating binges, won't take him seriously – not the feeble court astrologer Astradamor, his sadistic wife Mescalina, the moronic Prince Go-Go, his corrupt ministers and the head of the secret police Gepopo, or the young couple Amanda and Amando who only have eyes for each other and need a place for their tryst.

Failed Apocalypse

When the comet prophesied by Astradamor strikes the earth, Nekrotzar is drunk. He fails to bring the world to an end and disappears back into his grave where the two lovers recently spent a night of passion. Ligeti was inspired by this strange ensemble of fools, creating a score that employs irony and satire to drive the depravity, obscenity and brutality of the scenes to the extreme. While composing the work, Ligeti wrote to his librettist: “Everything should be characterised by marionettisation, even the live singers have something automaton-like and alienating about them. You’ll hear it in the music. Although everything is highly emotional, the emotions are stylised, puppet-like and deep frozen.” What also distinguishes Ligeti’s music is the joyful and playful approach to musical traditions that are wittily and subtly transformed. Ranging from the overture of car horns, an allusion to the opening fanfare of Monteverdi's L'Orfeo, to the quotations from operas by Mozart, Rossini, Verdi, Wagner, Offenbach and Strauss to jazz and pop standards. Baroque ground bass models such as the Passacaglia and Chaconne are represented as well as modern dance rhythms. Ligeti demands the utmost from singers and musicians alike: ludicrous coloratura, shrill clusters, complex rhythms, oscillating soundscapes ...

A classic opera

“Ligeti is a playful composer,” says Peter Sellars, who directed the new version of the opera at the Salzburg Festival in 1997. He now takes on the stage production of Le Grand Macabre with Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker. The role of Nekrotzar is sung by Pavlo Hunka. The playful approach to a very serious issue – according to Sellars – is what marks out the quality of the piece. The heavily revised new version in particular shows that Ligeti created not just a crazy collage with Le Grand Macabre, but a classic opera.


Rehearsal photos

(Photo: Monika Rittershaus) (Photo: Monika Rittershaus) (Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Totentanz der Knallchargen

György Ligetis »Le Grand Macabre« mit Simon Rattle und Peter Sellars

Peter Sellars und Sir Simon Rattle
(Foto: Martin Walz)

Der Weltuntergang findet nicht statt, weil der Tod zu betrunken ist. Eine ebenso absurde, wie groteske Vorstellung, die den ungarischen Komponisten György Ligeti zu einem seiner großartigsten Werke inspiriert hat: der Oper Le Grand Macabre, die Mitte der 1970er-Jahre im Auftrag der Königlichen Oper Stockholm entstand. Die Vorlage bildete das Theaterstück Le Balade du Grand Macabre, das der belgische Dichter Michel de Ghelderode 1934, ein Jahr nach Hitlers Machtantritt, als satirische Tragikomödie gegen die Nationalsozialisten schrieb. »Ich habe etwas Allgemeineres daraus gemacht«, sagte Ligeti in einem Interview. »Todesangst und Pseudoüberwindung – das ist das große Thema des Stücks. Eigentlich nichts Besonderes, denn wir alle verdrängen, dass wir sterben müssen.«

Auf nach »Breughelland«

Ghelderode beschwor in seinem Stück die skurrile Atmosphäre, die die flämischen Maler Hieronymus Bosch und Pieter Bruegel der Jüngere in ihren Gemälden festgehalten haben: die verzweifelte, unmäßige Lebensgier der Menschen im Angesicht des Todes. Der Höllenfürst, der bei Ligeti Nekrotzar heißt, ist die Hauptfigur. Aus einem Grab steigend, droht er, die Welt zu vernichten. Doch sehr schnell wird deutlich: Dieser Tod ist ein lächerlicher Popanz. Mit dem Trunkenbold Piet vom Faß zieht er durch das Land, um Angst und Schrecken zu verbreiten. Aber die Menschen, verstrickt in Macht- und Sexspiele, betäubt von Sauf- und Fressgelagen, nehmen ihn nicht ernst – weder der schwächliche Hofastrologe Astradamor, seine sadistische Gattin Mescalina, der debile Fürst Go-Go, dessen korrupte Minister und die Chefin der Geheimpolizei Gepopo noch das junge Liebespaar Amanda und Amando, das nur Augen füreinander hat und einen Platz für sein Schäferstündchen braucht.

Verpasste Apokalypse

Als der von Astradamor prophezeite Komet auf die Erde schlägt, ist Nekrotzar vom Wein betäubt. Er versäumt den Untergang der Welt und verschwindet wieder in sein Grab, in dem kurz zuvor die beiden Liebenden eine heiße Nacht verbracht haben. Dieses überdrehte Ensemble aus Knallchargen beflügelte Ligetis Kreativität. Er schuf eine Musik, die die Verderbtheit, Obszönität und Brutalität der einzelnen Szenen mit Ironie und Satire auf die Spitze treibt. Während der Entstehung schrieb Ligeti an seinen Librettisten: »Alles soll von Marionettisierung durchzogen sein, auch die lebendigen Sänger haben etwas Automatisch-Verfremdetes in sich. Du wirst das hören, sobald alles als Musik erklingt: Alles ist zwar hochemotionell, doch sind die Emotionen puppenhaft stilisiert und deep frozen.« Was Ligetis Musik außerdem auszeichnet: der lustvolle und spielerische Umgang mit musikalischen Traditionen, die geistreich und subtil transformiert werden – angefangen von der von Autohupen intonierten Ouvertüre, eine Anspielung an die Eröffnungsfanfare von Monteverdis Orfeo, über die Zitate aus Opern von Mozart, Rossini, Verdi, Wagner, Offenbach und Strauss bis hin zu Jazz- und Pop-Standards. Barocke Bassmodelle wie die Passacaglia und Chaconne sind ebenso vertreten wie moderne Tanzrhythmen. Sängern und Instrumentalisten verlangt Ligeti das Äußerste ab: aberwitzige Koloraturen, schrille Cluster, komplexe Rhythmik, oszillierende Klangflächen...

Eine klassische Oper

»Ligeti ist ein spielerischer Komponist«, meint der Regisseur Peter Sellars, der die Neufassung der Oper 1997 bei den Salzburger Festspielen inszenierte. Nun betreut er die szenische Realisation von Le Grand Macabre mit Sir Simon Rattle und den Berliner Philharmonikern für die Aufführungen in Berlin, Dortmund und Essen. Die Partie des Nekrotzar singt Pavlo Hunka. Die spielerische Annäherung an ein sehr ernstes Thema – so Sellars – mache die Qualität des Stücks aus. Gerade die stark überarbeitete Neufassung beweise, dass Ligeti mit Le Grand Macabre nicht nur eine verrückte Collage, sondern eine klassische Oper geschaffen habe.


Probenfotos

(Foto: Monika Rittershaus) (Foto: Monika Rittershaus) (Foto: Monika Rittershaus)

Aufführungen

Donnerstag,

23. Feb 2017
20:00 Uhr

Dortmund, Konzerthaus

Konzertreise

Do, 23. Feb 2017 20:00 Uhr
Dortmund, Konzerthaus

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Pavlo Hunka Bariton (Nekrotzar)

Peter Hoare Tenor (Piet vom Fass)

Anthony Roth Costanzo Countertenor (Fürst Go-Go)

Anna Prohaska Sopran (Amanda)

Ronnita Miller Mezzosopran (Amando)

Heidi Melton Sopran (Mescalina)

Frode Olsen Bass (Astradamors)

Audrey Luna Sopran (Venus und Gepopo)

Joshua Bloom Bass (Schwarzer Minister)

Peter Tantsits Tenor (Weißer Minister)

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Peter Sellars Regie

Gijs Leenaars Einstudierung

György Ligeti Le Grand Macabre (revidierte Fassung von 1996)

mehr lesen

Samstag,

25. Feb 2017
20:00 Uhr

Essen, Philharmonie

Konzertreise

Sa, 25. Feb 2017 20:00 Uhr
Essen, Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Pavlo Hunka Bariton (Nekrotzar)

Peter Hoare Tenor (Piet vom Fass)

Anthony Roth Costanzo Countertenor (Fürst Go-Go)

Anna Prohaska Sopran (Amanda)

Ronnita Miller Mezzosopran (Amando)

Heidi Melton Sopran (Mescalina)

Frode Olsen Bass (Astradamors)

Audrey Luna Sopran (Venus und Gepopo)

Joshua Bloom Bass (Schwarzer Minister)

Peter Tantsits Tenor (Weißer Minister)

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Peter Sellars Regie

Gijs Leenaars Einstudierung

György Ligeti Le Grand Macabre (Revidierte Fassung von 1996)

mehr lesen