Joyce DiDonato: Peace in the midst of chaos

The mezzo-soprano with an evening of operatic arias

(Photo: Brooke Shaden)

For Joyce DiDonato, her latest musical project is more than an evening of captivating Baroque operatic arias – it is something very close to the mezzo-soprano’s heart. “As a citizen of the world in 2016 the temptation to spiral down into the turmoil and pessimism that seemingly permeates all corners of our lives can overwhelm me at times,” admits Joyce DiDonato. With her programme “In War and Peace: Harmony through music”, she aims to present an alternative, to demonstrate ways of overcoming the chaos.

A maelstrom of emotions

Her programme makes it clear that fear, worry, despair, and also love and hope are emotions that people have felt and endured throughout the ages, today as much as in the 18th century. The Baroque opera heroines Joyce DiDonato brings to life with her singing are entangled in political intrigue, fatal conflicts and tragic love stories. For composers such as George Frideric Handel, Henry Purcell and Leonardo Leo, the situations that these women find themselves in are an ideal platform for impressively setting their emotions to music. And at the same time they show how destructive hatred and lust for power can be and how important serenity, generosity and compassion are for peaceful coexistence. “Ultimately and unquestionably the power to bravely tip the scales towards peace lies firmly within every single one of us,” says the singer.

A visual synthesis of the arts

The operas of the Baroque were a synthesis of the arts, in which music and the staging were of equal importance. Joyce DiDonato is aware of this and the visual aspect is not neglected in her programme. Director Ralf Pleger has developed a multimedia show that underlines the dramatic aspects of music – which are also enhanced by the participation of dancer Manuel Palazzo. The mezzo-soprano is accompanied by Il pomo d'oro, an ensemble founded in 2012 which specialises in the performance of Baroque operas. The evening is conducted by Maxim Emelyanychev. Incidentally, Joyce DiDonato is to be seen again this season with the Berliner Philharmoniker: under the direction of Yannick Nézet-Séguin, she sings Hector Berlioz’ Scène lyrique La Mort de Cléopâtre, bringing another fascinating female figure to the Philharmonie.

(Photo: Brooke Shaden)

Concerts

To allow technical crew time to set up the stage, the performance will begin at 20.30 instead of 20.00.

Tuesday,

30. May 2017
20:30

Philharmonie

Chamber Music | Serie: V - Singers – The World of Vocal Music

Tue, 30. May 2017 20:30
Philharmonie

Joyce DiDonato Mezzo-Soprano

Ensemble Il pomo d'oro

Maxim Emelyanychev Conductor and Harpsichord

Manuel Palazzo Choreographer and Dancer

Ralf Pleger Stage Direction

Henning Blum Light Design

Yousef Iskandar Video Design

read more

Thursday,

15. Jun 2017
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: E

Thu, 15. Jun 2017 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor

Joyce DiDonato Mezzo-Soprano

Works by Maurice Ravel, Hector Berlioz and Igor Stravinsky

read more

Friday,

16. Jun 2017
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: H

Fri, 16. Jun 2017 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor

Joyce DiDonato Mezzo-Soprano

Works by Maurice Ravel, Hector Berlioz and Igor Stravinsky

read more

Saturday,

17. Jun 2017
19:00

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert Serie: - Sonderkonzerte

Sat, 17. Jun 2017 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor

Joyce DiDonato Mezzo-Soprano

Works by Maurice Ravel, Hector Berlioz and Igor Stravinsky

read more watch online

Joyce DiDonato: Frieden inmitten des Chaos

Die Mezzosopranistin mit einem szenischen Arienabend

(Foto: Brooke Shaden)

Für Joyce DiDonato ist ihr neustes musikalisches Projekt mehr als ein Abend mit mitreißenden barocken Opernarien. Es ist für die Mezzosopranistin eine Herzensangelegenheit. »In der Welt von 2016 lebend, fühle ich mich zuweilen der Versuchung ausgesetzt, in den Turbulenzen und dem Pessimismus zu versinken, der alle Bereiche unseres Lebens durchdringt«, gesteht Joyce DiDonato. Mit ihrem Programm »In Krieg und Frieden – Harmonie durch Musik« will sie einen Gegenentwurf präsentieren und Möglichkeiten aufzeigen, das Chaos zu überwinden.

Im Strudel der Gefühle

Ihre Programmzusammenstellung macht deutlich: Ängste, Sorgen, Verzweiflung, aber auch Liebe und Hoffnung sind Gefühle, die die Menschen zu allen Zeiten gespürt und durchlitten haben. Heute genauso wie im 18. Jahrhundert. Die barocken Opernheldinnen, die Joyce DiDonato mit ihrem Gesang zum Leben erweckt, sind verstrickt in politische Intrigen, tödliche Konflikte und tragische Liebesgeschichten. Für Komponisten wie Georg Friedrich Händel, Henry Purcell und Leonardo Leo bildeten die Situationen, die diese Frauen meistern müssen, eine ideale Plattform, ihre Affekte und Emotionen eindrucksvoll in Musik zu setzen. Und sie zeigen gleichzeitig, wie destruktiv Hass und Machtgier sein können und wie wichtig Gelassenheit, Großherzigkeit und Mitgefühl für ein friedvolles Zusammenleben sind. »Letztlich habe ich in dieser Musikauswahl zu vermitteln versucht, dass die Macht, das Zünglein an der Waage zum Frieden hin ausschlagen zu lassen, auf jeden Fall bei jedem von uns liegt«, meint die Sängerin.

Ein optisches Gesamtkunstwerk

Die Opern des Barock waren ein Gesamtkunstwerk, in dem Musik und Szenerie als gleichberechtigte Faktoren nebeneinander standen. Joyce DiDonato ist sich dessen bewusst und deswegen kommt bei diesem Programm auch das Visuelle nicht zur kurz. Der Regisseur Ralf Pleger hat eine Multimedia-Show entwickelt, die die dramatischen Aspekte der Musik unterstreicht. Gleiches gilt für die Einlagen des Tänzers Manuel Palazzo. Musikalisch begleitet wird die Mezzosopranistin von Il pomo d’oro, einem 2012 gegründeten Ensemble, das sich auf die Aufführung barocker Opern spezialisiert hat. Die Leitung des Abends hat Maxim Emelyanychev. Übrigens: Joyce DiDonato ist in dieser Saison noch einmal mit den Berliner Philharmonikern zu erleben. Unter der Leitung von Yannick Nézet-Séguin singt sie die Scène lyrique La Mort de Cléopâtre von Hector Berlioz und bringt damit eine weitere faszinierende Frauengestalt auf das Podium der Philharmonie.

(Foto: Brooke Shaden)

Konzerte

Aufgrund des umfangreichen technischen Aufbaus kann das Konzert leider erst um 20.30 Uhr beginnen.

Dienstag,

30. Mai 2017
20:30 Uhr

Philharmonie

Kammermusik | Aboserie: V - Umsungen – Die Welt der Vokalmusik

Di, 30. Mai 2017 20:30 Uhr
Philharmonie

Joyce DiDonato Mezzosopran

Ensemble Il pomo d'oro

Maxim Emelyanychev Dirigent und Cembalo

Manuel Palazzo Choreografie und Tanz

Ralf Pleger Regie

Henning Blum Lichtdesign

Yousef Iskandar Videodesign

mehr lesen

Donnerstag,

15. Jun 2017
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: E

Do, 15. Jun 2017 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Dirigent

Joyce DiDonato Mezzosopran

Werke von Maurice Ravel, Hector Berlioz und Igor Strawinsky

mehr lesen

Freitag,

16. Jun 2017
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: H

Fr, 16. Jun 2017 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Dirigent

Joyce DiDonato Mezzosopran

Werke von Maurice Ravel, Hector Berlioz und Igor Strawinsky

mehr lesen

Samstag,

17. Jun 2017
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert Aboserie: - Sonderkonzerte

Sa, 17. Jun 2017 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Dirigent

Joyce DiDonato Mezzosopran

Werke von Maurice Ravel, Hector Berlioz und Igor Strawinsky

mehr lesen online sehen