Bernard Haitink, Tugan Sokhiev and Iván Fischer

At the Berliner Philharmoniker

Bernard Haitink
(Photo: Chris Christodoulou)

Almost no other guest conductor has had ties with the Berliner Philharmoniker for longer or has appeared with them more regularly than Bernard Haitink. In March 1964, just months after Hans Scharounʼs Philharmonie opened, the Dutch conductor led the orchestra for the first time. He was then 35 years old and had been head of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam for three years.

An inconspicuous beginning

His debut was overshadowed by another Philharmoniker event: Claudio Arrau was performing a cycle of all five Beethoven piano concertos. On the nights that Haitink conducted, the concertos Nos. 1 and 5 were on the programme. Naturally, the reviews focused on the pianist, and the young conductor was only mentioned with a few, if favourable, words: they all agreed his conducting was open-minded, attentive and sensitive. Only the Berlin Tagesspiegel prophesied: “He could have it in him to become a real Beethoven conductor, something the modern concert hall so desperately needs.” The critic was right: Within a few years, Bernard Haitink had developed into a specialist in the works of the First Viennese School. But not only that: Brahms, Bruckner and Mahler came to be regular features of his repertoire. And a work by Gustav Mahler has also been programmed for Haitink’s guest appearances in October: Das Lied von der Erde, a work that the conductor performs with the Philharmoniker for the first time. The soloists are the tenor Christian Elsner and the baritone Christian Gerhaher.

Conductor of the Russian school

Tugan Sokhiev’s most recent concert with the Berliner Philharmoniker was only six months ago: In April 2016, in addition to Gabriel Fauré’s Pelléas et Mélisande orchestral suite, he also conducted Maurice Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G Major with Jean-Yves Thibaudet as the soloist, and César Franck's Symphony in D minor. The 37-year-old conductor is one of the shooting stars of his generation. Until recently, he was the head of three renowned orchestras: the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, the orchestra of the Bolshoi Theatre and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, whose leadership he gave up in the summer of 2016. In the concerts he has given since his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in January 2010, his programmes have mostly included a delightful mix of French and Russian music, a theme which continues for his next appearance: Tugan Sokhiev conducts César Franck’s Le Chasseur maudit, Sergei Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini for piano and orchestra (soloist: Nikolai Lugansky). Born in north Ossetian, both his repertoire and his conducting style are rooted in the Russian tradition. Tugan Sokhiev was a student of the legendary Ilya Musin: “That was the greatest good fortune that ever happened to me. Musin was already in his early 90s, but he was tremendous. Everything has changed since I was with him, and I would not be here at all today if I had not studied with him.”

Inspired by Hans Swarowsky and Nikolaus Harnoncourt

Iván Fischer, chief conductor of the Konzerthausorchester Berlin and founder of the Budapest Festival Orchestra, has been a guest conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker since 1989 and has made his mark with the orchestra mainly as an interpreter of Haydn and Mozart as well as Hungarian composers, especially Béla Bartók. For his most recent appearance in January 2016, Fischer conducted Gustav Mahler's Third Symphony with the Philharmoniker for the first time, the same work with which he introduced himself to Berlin audiences as chief conductor designate of the Konzerthausorchester in 2012, a performance which drew wild applause from the audience. Fischer feels a deep connection to the works of Mahler. Not only because he regularly programmes his symphonies for his concerts and makes recordings of them, too; he also founded the Budapest Mahler Festival and the Hungarian Mahler Society in his native Hungary in order to make the music of the composer better known there. At the beginning of his career, his musical aesthetics were shaped by two completely contrasting conducting personalities: the teacher Hans Swarowsky and Nikolaus Harnoncourt, whose assistant Fischer was, and who showed him that music is a form of interpersonal communication. His international career started in 1976 following his triumphant victory at the Rupert Foundation conducting competition in London. This season, Iván Fischer appears with the Philharmoniker conducting works by George Enescu, Béla Bartók and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.


Tugan Sokhiev
(Photo: Mat Hennek)

Iván Fischer
(Photo: Marco Borggreve)

Bernard Haitink, Tugan Sokhiev und Iván Fischer

Am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker

Bernard Haitink
(Foto: Chris Christodoulou)

Kaum ein Gastdirigent ist den Berliner Philharmonikern länger und beständiger verbunden als Bernard Haitink. Im März 1964, nur wenige Monate nach der Eröffnung der von Hans Scharoun erbauten Philharmonie, stand der Niederländer zum ersten Mal am Pult des Orchesters. Damals war er 35 Jahre jung und seit drei Jahren Chef des Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam.

Ein unauffälliger Anfang

Sein Debüt stand im Schatten eines anderen philharmonischen Ereignisses: Claudio Arrau spielte einen Zyklus mit allen fünf Klavierkonzerten Ludwig van Beethovens. An den Abenden, die Haitink dirigierte, standen die Konzerte Nr. 1 und 5 auf dem Programm. Der Fokus der Konzertkritik lag natürlich auf dem Pianisten, der junge Dirigent wurde nur mit wenigen, wenngleich wohlwollenden Worten bedacht: Aufgeschlossen, aufmerksam und feinfühlig sei sein Dirigat gewesen, hieß es allgemein. Nur der Tagesspiegel prophezeite: »Es könnte sein, dass in ihm ein wirklicher Beethoven-Dirigent heranwächst, dessen der moderne Konzertsaal so dringend bedarf.« Der Kritiker sollte Recht behalten: Im Laufe weniger Jahre entwickelte sich Bernard Haitink zu einem Spezialisten für die Werke des Wiener Klassikers. Aber nicht nur das. Brahms, Bruckner, Mahler wurden zu weiteren Fixpunkten seines Repertoires. Und ein Werk Gustav Mahlers steht auch bei Haitinks Gastauftritten im Oktober auf dem Programm: Das Lied von der Erde, ein Werk, das der Dirigent zum ersten Mal mit den Philharmonikern aufführt. Solist ist der Bariton Christian Gerhaher.

Dirigent russischer Schule

Nur sechs Monate liegt Tugan Sokhievs letztes Konzert mit den Berliner Philharmonikern zurück: In April 2016 dirigierte er neben Gabriel Faurés Orchestersuite Pelléas et Mélisande, Maurice Ravels Klavierkonzert G-Dur mit Jean-Yves Thibaudet als Solist und César Francks Symphonie d-Moll. Der 37-jährige Dirigent zählt zu den Shooting-Stars seiner Generation. Bis vor kurzem war er Chef dreier renommierter Klangkörper: des Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, des Orchesters des Moskauer Bolschoi-Theaters und des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin, dessen Leitung er im Sommer 2016 aufgab. In den Konzerten, die er seit seinem Debüt im Januar 2010 bei den Berliner Philharmonikern gegeben hat, stand meist eine reizvolle Mischung von französischer und russischer Musik auf dem Programm. So auch bei seinem nächsten Auftritt: Tugan Sokhiev leitet César Francks Le Chasseur maudit, Sergej Rachmaninows Rhapsodie über ein Thema von Paganini für Klavier und Orchester (Solist: Nikolai Lugansky) und Nikolaj Rimsky-Korsakows Symphonische Suite Scheherazade. Nicht nur im Repertoire, sondern auch in seinem Dirigierstil wurzelt der gebürtige Nordossete in der russischen Tradition. Tugan Sokhiev ist ein Schüler des legendären Ilya Musin: »Das war das größte Glück, das mir bisher widerfahren ist. Musin war schon Anfang 90, aber er war großartig. Alles hat sich verändert, seit ich bei ihm war und wir würden heute garantiert nicht hierstehen, wenn ich nicht bei ihm studiert hätte.«

Geprägt von Hans Swarowsky und Nikolaus Harnoncourt

Iván Fischer, Chefdirigent des Konzerthausorchesters Berlin und Gründer des Budapester Festivalorchesters, zählt seit 1989 zu den Gastdirigenten der Berliner Philharmoniker und hat sich bei ihnen hauptsächlich als Interpret Haydns und Mozarts sowie ungarischer Komponisten, allen voran Béla Bartók, profiliert. Bei seinem letzten Auftritt im Januar 2016 führte er erstmals mit den Philharmonikern die Dritte Symphonie von Gustav Mahler auf, jenes Werk, mit dem sich Fischer 2012 dem Berliner Publikum als designierter Chef des Konzerthausorchesters vorstellte und mit dem er seine Zuhörer zu stürmischen Beifallskundgebungen hinriss. Dem Œuvre Gustav Mahlers fühlt sich Fischer zutiefst verbunden. Nicht allein, dass er dessen Symphonien immer wieder auf die Programme seiner Konzerte setzt und auf Tonträger einspielt, er gründete in seinem Heimatland Ungarn das Budapester Mahler-Fest und die Ungarische Mahler-Gesellschaft, um die Musik des Komponisten dort bekannter zu machen. Seine musikalische Ästhetik wurde am Anfang seiner Laufbahn von zwei vollkommen gegensätzlichen Dirigentenpersönlichkeiten geprägt: von dem Lehrer Hans Swarowsky und von Nikolaus Harnoncourt, dessen Assistent Fischer war und der ihm vermittelte, dass Musik eine Art von zwischenmenschliche Kommunikation sei. Seine internationale Karriere startete der Ungar 1976 nach dem triumphalen Sieg beim Dirigentenwettbewerb der Rupert Foundation in London. In dieser Saison ist Iván Fischer bei den Philharmonikern mit Werken von George Enescu, Béla Bartók und Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart zu erleben.


Tugan Sokhiev
(Foto: Mat Hennek)

Iván Fischer
(Foto: Marco Borggreve)