The Berliner Philharmoniker in the Elbphilharmonie

Our musicians’ view of a spectacular concert hall

(Photo: Thies Rätzke)

Without doubt, the opening of the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie was one of the outstanding events in the world of music this season. On 7 May, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle made their first guest appearance in the spectacular building. The programme included Anton Bruckner’s Eighth Symphony and a new, short work called Surcos by Simon Holt. The press and public were delighted – but how did the orchestra feel about the new concert hall? We asked some of the musicians for their reaction.

Daniel Stabrawa, 1st concertmaster

There is always a lot to discover in a new concert hall. How it looks, how you feel there, and above all: how it sounds. You come to the rehearsal, play a few notes and find the sound quite okay. But the exciting question is, of course, how the full orchestra sounds, how the sound is distributed, and how well you can hear it yourself. And in this respect, the Elbphilharmonie is really fantastic. It feels comfortable playing there, and the sound is wonderful. However, we don’t know how it sounds to the audience or whether the acoustics are equally good everywhere in the auditorium. But from the stage, the hall sounds great. Although Simon warned that we would play too aggressively, I felt that differently. It may be that the sound occasionally comes across like that to the audience, but that is almost normal in a new hall – it just needs a little patina, some dirt on the walls and on the floor, then the sound will also become softer.
More about Daniel Stabrawa

Raphael Haeger, percussion

I think the hall has turned out beautifully. It guarantees every visitor a great concert experience from every seat. It also feels comfortable playing on the stage. You can hear and see very well, and as a musician, you just feel at ease. The hall sounds quite hard and very honest – which in this case means that every small mistake in a performance carries just as well as every beautiful detail. Many other concert halls refine the sound of the musicians. This is not the case here. But no matter how you feel about this honest, direct sound, the hall is a great asset for Hamburg and for the German classical music scene as a whole.
More about Raphael Haeger

Walter Seyfarth, clarinet

Even the incredible location of the Elbphilharmonie is fascinating. As we normally play at Tiergarten in Berlin, it was particularly impressive for us to look down from above at the ships and the water: a wonderful start to our first rehearsal in the new hall. Simon Rattle then conducted the rehearsals quite magnificently. He tried to adapt our Berlin Bruckner sound to the new space by playing notes longer and give them more room to breathe. The sound of the Elbphilharmonie is very direct, and it does not have the warmth we are used to in our Philharmonie. Overall, I find the stage rather big, so it is harder for us to hear ourselves. But the overall impression is of course great. The Elbphilharmonie is an incredible flagship for Hamburg and for Germany, and a spectacular addition to our cultural landscape.
More about Walter Seyfarth

Matthew Hunter, viola

When we as an orchestra come to a new space, we naturally try to find the sound we have developed over a long period of time. However, we don’t want to be inflexible about a sound ideal from some previous performance. At the same time, each stage presents different challenges for the chamber music aspect of our orchestra which is central to our sound. I like the feeling of spaciousness in the Elbphilharmonie. Although it is a little strange being on the eleventh story of a building, I forget all about it as soon as I go on stage. What really appeals to me is the use of wood in the hall. I think the acoustic panels, which are each individually made and cut to different depths to create different reflecting qualities, is a very interesting concept. The most important thing for me is that here we have a very, very fine concert hall close to us, about an hour and a half train ride away. And I am sure that it will find its place among the great concert halls of the world.
More about Matthew Hunter

Knut Weber, cello

For me, it was incredibly exciting to play in this famous new hall that so much has been spoken and written about lately. In the rehearsal, we needed a little more time than usual to adjust ourselves completely to the acoustics as we are accustomed to more warmth in our concert hall in Berlin. But with an audience present, the orchestral sound felt much more familiar. Personally, I thought it was a pity that the audience was so brightly lit during the concert. It takes away a certain intimacy which I appreciate enormously when playing.
More about Knut Weber

Fergus McWilliam, horn

The first impression was overwhelming. The way the building towers above the whole harbour – imposing, monumental, monolithic: a stunning architectural statement. We felt at home as soon as we entered the hall because of the vineyard arrangement of the seating. It is a very bright and incredibly high space. Then we started playing, and we horns at least had no problems hearing ourselves. The orchestral sound was very exciting and very balanced – we felt completely comfortable from the start. However, Sir Simon said that a forte becomes very loud very quickly here – something I experienced myself when I sat in the auditorium during the short piece by Simon Holt. The sound hits you very quickly and very directly, which is, however, not unpleasant. In terms of aesthetics and ambience, this is a very pleasant, attractive concert hall. And I am sure that this fantastic new landmark will not only shape Hamburg’s musical life but the face of the city as a whole.
More about Fergus McWilliam

The first rehearsal: how does the new hall sound?
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
The Elbphilharmonie: a whole new sound
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
“There is a lot to discover”: Daniel Stabrawa in conversation with Sir Simon Rattle
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
Lively discussion: the chairpersons of the orchestra Knut Weber (right) and Ulrich Knörzer (centre) in conversation with the future general manager, Andrea Zietzschmann (left).
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
Tuning into a new sound: horn player Fergus McWilliam
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
First encounter...
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
Backstage: The musicians enjoy the view
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)
Backstage II: beautiful view – also for instrument cases
(Photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Die Berliner Philharmoniker in der Elbphilharmonie

Unsere Musiker über einen spektakulären Konzertsaal

(Foto: Thies Rätzke)

Soviel steht jetzt schon fest: Die Eröffnung der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie ist eines der herausragenden Ereignisse des internationalen Musiklebens in dieser Saison. Am 7. Mai haben die Berliner Phlilharmoniker und Sir Simon Rattle zum ersten Mal in dem spektakulären Gebäude ein Gastspiel gegeben. Auf dem Programm standen Anton Bruckners Achte Symphonie und ein kurzes neues Werk namens Surcos von Simon Holt. Presse und Publikum reagierten begeistert. Aber wie haben die Orchestermusiker den neuen Saal empfunden? Wir haben einige von ihnen gefragt.

Daniel Stabrawa, 1. Konzertmeister

An einem neuen Konzertsaal gibt es immer viel zu entdecken. Wie er aussieht, wie man sich hier fühlt und vor allem: wie er klingt. Man kommt zur Probe, spielt ein paar Töne und findet den Klang ganz annehmbar. Aber die spannende Frage ist natürlich, wie das volle Orchester klingt, wie sich der Klang verteilt, ob man sich selbst gut hört. Und in dieser Hinsicht ist die Elbphilharmonie wirklich fantastisch. Es spielt sich sehr angenehm, der Klang ist schön. Wobei wir nicht einschätzen können, wie er auf das Publikum wirkt und ob die Akustik im ganzen Auditorium gleich gut ist. Aber auf der Bühne klingt der Saal großartig. Simon hat sich zwar beschwert, wir würden zu aggressiv spielen, aber das habe ich anders empfunden. Mag sein, dass der Klang dem Publikum gelegentlich etwas offensiv erscheint, aber das ist bei einem neuen Saal fast normal. Es braucht eben noch ein wenig Patina, etwas Schmutz auf den Wänden und auf dem Boden, dann wird der Klang auch weicher werden.
Mehr über Daniel Stabrawa

Raphael Haeger, Schlagzeug

Ich finde, der Saal ist wunderschön geworden. Er garantiert jedem Besucher auf jedem Platz ein tolles Konzerterlebnis. Auch auf der Bühne spielt es sich sehr angenehm. Man hört und sieht sehr gut und fühlt sich als Musiker einfach wohl. Der Saal klingt ziemlich hart und sehr ehrlich – was in diesem Fall bedeutet, dass jeder kleine Fehler einer Aufführung genauso transportiert wird wie jedes schöne Detail. Viele andere Konzertsäle verschönern den Klang der Musiker. Das ist hier nicht der Fall. Aber egal, wie man zu diesem ehrlichen, direkten Klang steht, ist der Saal eine große Bereicherung für Hamburg und überhaupt für die deutsche Klassikszene.
Mehr über Raphael Haeger

Walter Seyfarth, Klarinette

Schon die unglaubliche Lage der Elbphilharmonie ist faszinierend. Wie musizieren ja sonst am Tiergarten, insofern war es für uns ein besonderer Eindruck, von oben auf die Schiffe und das Wasser herunterzusehen: ein wunderbarer Auftakt zu unserer ersten Probe im neuen Saal. Die Probe hat Simon Rattle dann ganz großartig geleitet. Denn er hat versucht, unseren Berliner Bruckner-Klang an den neuen Raum anzupassen, indem wir Töne länger und mit größerem Atem spielen. Der Klang der Elbphilharmonie ist sehr direkt, und er hat auch nicht die Wärme, die wir aus unserer Philharmonie gewohnt sind. Insgesamt finde ich die Bühne etwas groß, sodass es uns schwerer fällt, uns selbst zu hören. Aber der Gesamteindruck ist natürlich großartig. Die Elbphilharmonie ist für Hamburg und für Deutschland ein unglaubliches Aushängeschild und ein riesiger Gewinn für unsere Kulturlandschaft.
Mehr über Walter Seyfarth

Matthew Hunter, Bratsche

Wenn wir als Orchester in einen neuen Raum kommen, versuchen wir natürlich, unseren über lange Zeit entwickelten Klang wiederzufinden. Auf der anderen Seite sollte man aufgeschlossen sein und nicht engstirnig am bestehenden Ideal festhalten. Mindestens so wichtig ist, dass wir einander auf der Bühne hören können, um unser kammermusikalisches Miteinander – das für unseren Orchesterklang zentral ist – zu realisieren. An der Elbphilharmonie gefällt mir der Eindruck von Weite. Etwas eigenartig ist, dass man sich hier im elften Stock eines Gebäudes befindet, aber das Gefühl hat sich schnell verflüchtigt. Was mich hier wirklich anspricht sind der Gebrauch von Holz im Raum und die Akustik-Panele der Wandverkleidung, die alle individuell gestaltet sind und unterschiedliche Klangreflexionen hervorrufen. Ich finde es wunderbar, dass es eineinhalb Stunden Zugfahrt von Berlin entfernt einen solchen hervorragenden Saal gibt, und ich bin sicher, er wird unter den großen Konzertsälen der Welt seinen Platz finden.
Mehr über Matthew Hunter

Knut Weber, Cello

Für mich war es unglaublich spannend, in diesem prominenten neuen Saal zu spielen, über den in letzter Zeit so viel gesprochen und geschrieben wurde. In der Anspielprobe benötigten wir dann etwas mehr Zeit als sonst, um uns ganz auf die Akustik einzustellen, da wir von unserem Berliner Saal mehr Wärme gewöhnt sind. Mit Publikum fühlte sich der Orchesterklang dann aber deutlich vertrauter an. Ich persönlich fand im Konzert etwas schade, dass die Zuhörer so hell beleuchtet waren. Dadurch geht eine gewisse Intimität verloren, die ich beim Musizieren sehr schätze.
Mehr über Knut Weber

Fergus McWilliam, Horn

Der erste Eindruck war überwältigend. Wie das Gebäude imposant, massiv, und monolithisch den ganzen Hafen überragt: Das ist ein unglaubliches architektonisches Statement. Als wir zum ersten Mal den Saal betreten haben, haben wir uns durch die Weinberg-Anordnung der Sitzplätze gleich zu Hause gefühlt. Es ist ein sehr heller und wahnsinnig hoher Raum. Dann haben wir angefangen zu spielen, und zumindest wir Hornisten hatten keine Probleme, uns selbst zu hören. Der Orchesterklang war sehr aufregend und sehr ausgewogen – wir haben uns gleich pudelwohl gefühlt. Sir Simon meinte allerdings, ein Forte werde hier sehr schnell sehr laut. Das konnte ich bestätigen, als ich mich während des kurzen Stücks von Simon Holt auf einen der Publikumsplätze setzte. Der Klang rollt sehr schnell und sehr unmittelbar auf einen zu, was aber nicht unangenehm ist. Ästhetisch und von der Raumwirkung her ist dies ein sehr angenehmer, attraktiver Saal. Und ich bin sicher, dass dieses fantastische neue Wahrzeichen nicht nur das Hamburger Musikleben prägen wird, sondern das Gesicht der Stadt insgesamt.
Mehr über Fergus McWilliam

Die erste Probe: Wie klingt der neue Saal?
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
Die Elbphilharmonie: ein ganz neuer Klangeindruck
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
»Es gibt viel zu entdecken«: Daniel Stabrawa im Gespräch mit Sir Simon Rattle
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
Reger Austausch: Die Orchestervorstände Knut Weber (r.) und Ulrich Knörzer (m.) im Gespräch mit der zukünftigen Intendantin Andrea Zietzschmann (l.).
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
Einstimmen auf ein neues Klangerlebnis: Hornist Fergus McWilliam
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
Erstes Kennenlernen...
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
Backstage I: Die Musiker genießen die Aussicht
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)
Backstage II: schöne Aussicht − auch für Instrumentenkisten
(Foto: Monika Rittershaus)