Marek Janowski and Herbert Blomstedt

At the conductor’s desk of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Marek Janowski
(Photo: Felix Broede)

Marek Janowski, who was born in Warsaw and grew up in Germany, is associated in the minds of Berlin audiences with one orchestra in particular: the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, whose chief conductor he was between was between 2002-2016. Less well-known, however, is his work together with the Berliner Philharmoniker, with whom Janowski made his debut in 1976 at the age of 37.

Debut with Mozart, Weber and Mendelssohn

The then chief conductor of the Dortmunder Philharmoniker introduced himself as a compelling interpreter of the First Viennese School and German Romanticism with works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Carl Maria von Weber and Felix Mendelssohn. The Classical-Romantic repertoire also served him for his next concerts. His most recent appearance with the orchestra was in June 1994, when he conducted Haydn’s Symphony no. 87, Carl Maria von Weber’s Bassoon Concerto and the Second Symphony of Robert Schumann. Marek Janowski now returns to the Berliner Philharmoniker after an absence of more than 20 years: Standing in for an indisposed Riccardo Chailly, he will conduct the performances of Giuseppe Verdi’s equally monumental and emotional Messa da Requiem which he has already performed at the Philharmonie with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin in 2015 and impressed both audiences and critics alike with his equally gripping and unsentimental reading of the work. At that time he revealed in an interview that he was conducting this composition for only the second time in his long career.

Herbert Blomstedt - a great love for Brahms

In the same year as Marek Janowski, the Swedish-American conductor Herbert Blomstedt made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker – together with the then 20-year-old pianist Krystian Zimerman. Although press attention focused primarily on the newly crowned winner of the Chopin Competition, Blomstedt’s own qualities as a conductor did not go unmentioned: the tenor of the reviews was that he impressed with his enthusiasm and conviction. Blomstedt, who during his career has been chief conductor of, among others, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra and the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig, has been invited to appear with the Berliner Philharmoniker time and time again. In recent years, the association between conductor and orchestra has intensified, and he takes to the conductor’s stand in the Philharmonie almost every year. His motto: “Respect for the musical score is a top priority for any artist.” Herbert Blomstedt is regarded as a specialist in the symphonies of Anton Bruckner which also form the focus of his collaboration with the Berliner Philharmoniker. As the conductor said in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, “Bruckner's symphonies are no village churches, but cathedrals.” For his most recent appearance in January 2015, Herbert Blomstedt and the Berliner Philharmoniker performed the composer’s Eighth Symphony in the version by Robert Haas. He now conducts two works that he has never performed before with the orchestra: Béla Bartók’s Third Piano Concerto with Sir András Schiff as the soloist, and Johannes Brahms’ First Symphony. The conductor discovered his love for the late Romantic composer when he was still in his youth. He has now been performing Brahms’ works for more than six decades. In recognition of this, he will be awarded the Brahms Prize in June 2017.

Herbert Blomstedt
(Photo: Martin U.K. Lengemann)

The conductors in the Digital Concert Hall

Marek Janowski und Herbert Blomstedt

Am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker

Marek Janowski
(Foto: Felix Broede)

Den Namen Marek Janowski verbindet das Berliner Publikum vor allem mit einem Klangkörper: dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, dessen Chef der in Warschau geborene und in Deutschland aufgewachsene Dirigent von 2002 bis 2016 war. Weniger präsent hingegen ist seine Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Philharmonikern, bei denen Janowski 1976 im Alter von 37 Jahren debütierte.

Einstand mit Mozart, Weber und Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Der damalige Chefdirigent der Dortmunder Philharmoniker stellte sich mit Werken von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Carl Maria von Weber und Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy als überzeugender Interpret der Wiener Klassik und der deutschen Romantik vor. Das klassisch-romantische Repertoire bediente er auch bei seinen nächsten Konzerten. Zuletzt stand er im Juni 1994 am Pult des Orchesters und dirigierte Joseph Haydns Symphonie Nr. 87, das Fagottkonzert von Carl Maria von Weber und die Zweite Symphonie von Robert Schumann. Nun kehrt Marek Janowski nach mehr als 20 Jahren zu den Philharmonikern zurück: Anstelle des erkrankten Riccardo Chailly leitet er die Aufführungen von Giuseppe Verdis Messa da Requiem, einem ebenso monumentalen wie emotionalen Werk, das er bereits 2015 mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin in der Philharmonie aufgeführt und sowohl Publikum wie Presse mit seiner ebenso mitreißenden wie unsentimentalen Lesart beeindruckt hat. Damals verriet er in einem Interview, dass er diese Komposition in seiner langen Karriere erst zum zweiten Mal dirigiert hat.

Eine große Liebe zu Brahms

Im gleichen Jahr wie Marek Janowski gab der schwedisch-amerikanische Dirigent Herbert Blomstedt sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern – zusammen mit dem damals 20-jährigen Pianisten Krystian Zimerman. Die Aufmerksamkeit der Presse richtete sich in erster Linie auf den frischgebackenen Preisträger des Chopin-Wettbewerbs, gleichwohl blieben die dirigentischen Qualitäten Blomstedts nicht unerwähnt: Er beeindrucke – so der Tenor der Kritiker – mit Begeisterungsfähigkeit und Überzeugungskraft. Immer wieder wurde Blomstedt, der im Laufe seine Karriere u. a. Chef der Sächsischen Staatskapelle, des San Francisco Symphony Orchestra und – wie Riccardo Chailly – des Leipziger Gewandhausorchesters war, von den Berliner Philharmonikern eingeladen. In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Dirigent und Orchester intensiviert, nahezu jährlich tritt er ans Pult des Klangkörpers. Sein Credo: »Der Respekt für den Notentext ist oberstes Gebot für jeden Interpreten«. Herbert Blomstedt gilt als Spezialist für die Symphonien Anton Bruckners, die auch im Zentrum seiner Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Philharmonikern stehen. »Bruckners Symphonien sind keine Dorfkirche, sondern Kathedralen,« schwärmt der Dirigent in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall. Bei seinem letzten Auftritt im Januar 2015 zelebrierten Herbert Blomstedt und die Berliner Philharmoniker die Achte Symphonie des Komponisten in der Fassung von Robert Haas. Nun dirigiert er zwei Werke, die er noch nie mit dem Orchester aufgeführt hat: Béla Bartóks Drittes Klavierkonzert mit Sir András Schiff als Solist und die Erste Symphonie von Johannes Brahms. Die Liebe zu dem spätromantischen Komponisten entdeckte der Dirigent bereits in seiner Jugend. Seit mehr als sechs Jahrzehnten widmet er sich der Aufführung von Brahms’ Werken. Als Anerkennung dafür wird er im Juni 2017 mit dem Brahms-Preis ausgezeichnet.

Herbert Blomstedt
(Foto: Martin U.K. Lengemann)

Die Dirigenten in der Digital Concert Hall

Konzerte

Donnerstag,

19. Jan 2017
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: K

Do, 19. Jan 2017 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert Blomstedt Dirigent

Sir András Schiff Klavier

Werke von Béla Bartók und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen

Freitag,

20. Jan 2017
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: M

Fr, 20. Jan 2017 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert Blomstedt Dirigent

Sir András Schiff Klavier

Werke von Béla Bartók und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen

Samstag,

21. Jan 2017
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: N

Sa, 21. Jan 2017 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert Blomstedt Dirigent

Sir András Schiff Klavier

Werke von Béla Bartók und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen online sehen