Anne-Sophie Mutter and the Berliner Philharmoniker

The violinist and the orchestra celebrate their 40-year artistic partnership

(Photo: Bastian Achard)

Her global career began with a world orchestra: In May 1977, Anne-Sophie Mutter made her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker at the Salzburg Whitsun Festival. The unusual aspect of this performance was that despite her young age of 13, the soloist showed great artistic maturity. Under the direction of Herbert von Karajan – who had discovered the violinist – she played Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s G major violin concerto with technical perfection and a pianissimo that was pure and clear, with no hint of mawkishness.

Karajan’s discovery

“She played it ravishingly, and above all, she did not play it at all like a child prodigy. Her technique is fully mature,” wrote the reviewer of Die Welt enthusiastically. It was not her playing, but her writing that betrayed her extreme youth. “In gratitude for my first concert with the Berliner Philharmoniker under Mr. von Karajan,” the 13-year-old wrote at the time in a greetings card to the orchestra. The following year, she presented Mozart’s concerto at the Berlin Philharmonie where she also delighted her listeners. But despite all the praise, some critics wondered whether she would be able to cast off the child prodigy image.

Artistic rapport

But she did. She proved this shortly afterwards when the 16-year-old performed Beethoven’s Violin Concerto with the Berliner Philharmoniker under Karajan’s direction. The press reacted enthusiastically: she played “with sanguine tone and mature sensitivity” (Der Abend). People marvelled at the special connection, the artistic rapport between the soloist, the conductor and the orchestra – no matter which of the great violin concertos was on the programme. In 1983, she presented the violin concertos of Johannes Brahms and Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy in just four months, plus the Brahms double concerto together with the cellist Antonio Meneses. Anne-Sophie Mutter went on to enjoy an unprecedented career which also brought her back to the Berliner Philharmoniker on a regular basis. The artist has a particular interest in new music, and many contemporary composers have written works for her, including Witold Lutosławski, Krzysztof Penderecki, Henri Duttileux, Wolfgang Rihm, and Sofia Gubaidulina whose work Intempo praesens was premiered by Anne-Sophie Mutter together with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle in 2007.

“Prodigious talent for expressiveness”

Highlights of the violinist’s association with the Berliner Philharmoniker include her participation in the concert celebrating the centenary of the orchestra (1982) and the opening of the chamber music hall (1987), plus at the concert marking the 100th anniversary of Herbert von Karajan’s birth, which was conducted by Seiji Ozawa. It is no coincidence that the violinist performed Beethoven's Violin Concerto, the work that she most frequently played with Karajan. “Anne-Sophie Mutter, with a prodigious talent for expressiveness, played Beethoven in such a way that no one was left unmoved,” wrote the Berliner Zeitung. The orchestra has also invited her as a guest soloist to other glamorous concert events: in 2014, she travelled with the Philharmoniker to the Easter Festival in Baden-Baden and to New York as part of their Carnegie Hall residency. The following year, she was the star guest at the Philharmoniker’s New Year's Eve concert. In 2011, under the direction of Sir Simon Rattle, she performed Antonín Dvořák’s Violin Concerto for the first time with the orchestra. She played the same work again in 2013, this time with Manfred Honeck as the conductor. The Philharmoniker and Anne-Sophie Mutter are now celebrating their 40-year partnership with an anniversary concert which includes a musical premiere: for the first time, they perform Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto together. The conductor is Riccardo Muti. Even long-term relationships can surprise with new things.

Exhibition in the south foyer

To mark this anniversary concert, the archive of the Berliner Philharmoniker is holding a small exhibition in the south foyer with photos, reviews and programme booklets documenting the artistic collaboration between Anne-Sophie Mutter and the Berliner Philharmoniker from its beginnings to today.

1977: the first autograph card
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1980: with Herbert von Karajan
(Photo: Gustav Zimmermann)
With First Concertmaster Michel Schwalbé
(Photo: Siegfried Lauterwasser)
1983: During a rehearsal of Brahms' double concerto with the cellist Antonio Meneses
(Photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1987: opening of the Chamber Music Hall
(Photo: Reinhard Friedrich)
With Sir Simon Rattle at the Philharmoniker’s New Year's Eve concert 2015
(Photo: Holger Kettner)

Concert

Saturday,

27. May 2017
19:00

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert Serie: - Sonderkonzerte

Sat, 27. May 2017 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Riccardo Muti Conductor

Anne-Sophie Mutter Violin

Works by Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

read more

Anne-Sophie Mutter und die Berliner Philharmoniker

Die Geigerin und das Orchester feiern ihre 40-jährige künstlerische Partnerschaft

(Foto: Bastian Achard)

Ihre Weltkarriere begann mit einem Weltorchester: Im Mai 1977 gab Anne-Sophie Mutter bei den Salzburger Pfingstfestspielen ihr Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern. Das Spektakuläre an diesem Auftritt war, dass die Solistin trotz ihres jugendlichen Alters von 13 Jahren über eine große künstlerische Reife verfügte: Sie interpretierte unter der Leitung Herbert von Karajans, der die Geigerin entdeckt hatte, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts G-Dur-Violinkonzert und beeindruckte durch technische Perfektion und ein Pianissimo, das klar und makellos erschien, ohne süßlich zu wirken.

Karajans Entdeckung

»Sie spielte das Konzert hinreißend, und vor allem: sie spielte es ganz und gar nicht wunderkindlich. Ihre Technik ist voll ausgereift«, schwärmte der Rezensent der Welt. Nicht ihr Spiel, wohl aber ihre Schrift verrät ihre große Jugend. »In Dankbarkeit für mein erstes Konzert mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Herrn von Karajan«, schrieb sie in kindlichen Lettern auf eine Grußkarte an das Orchester. Im folgenden Jahr präsentierte sie Mozarts Konzert in der Berliner Philharmonie und auch dort begeisterte sie. Trotz allem Lob überlegte so mancher Kritiker, ob sie das Wunderkind-Image wohl ablegen könne.

Künstlerische Übereinstimmung

Sie konnte. Das bewies sie bereits kurz darauf, als die 16-Jährige 1980 unter Karajans Leitung mit den Berliner Philharmonikern Beethovens Violinkonzert aufführte. Die Presse reagierte begeistert: Sie spiele »mit sanglichem Ton und reifer Empfindlichkeit« (Der Abend). Man staunte über besondere Verbindung, die künstlerische Übereinstimmung, die sich zwischen Solistin, Dirigent und Orchester einstellte – egal, welches der großen Violinkonzerte auf dem Programm stand. 1983 stellte sie innerhalb von nur vier Monaten die Violinkonzerte von Johannes Brahms und Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy sowie − zusammen mit dem Cellisten Antonio Meneses − das Brahms-Doppelkonzert vor. Anne-Sophie Mutter gelang eine beispiellose Karriere, die sie immer wieder auch zu den Berliner Philharmonikern führte. Ein besonderes Anliegen der Künstlerin ist die Neue Musik, viele zeitgenössische Komponisten schrieben Werke für sie: Witold Lutosławski, Krzysztof Penderecki, Henri Duttileux, Wolfgang Rihm und Sofia Gubaidulina, deren Werk In tempus praesens Anne-Sophie Mutter 2007 zusammen mit den Berliner Philharmonikern und Sir Simon Rattle uraufführte.

»Verschwenderisches Talent der Ausdruckskunst«

Zu den Höhepunkten in der Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Philharmonikern gehörte die Mitwirkung der Geigerin beim Festkonzert zum 100-jährigen Bestehen des Orchesters (1982) und bei der Eröffnung des Kammermusiksaals (1987) sowie beim Konzert zum 100. Geburtstag Herbert von Karajans, das Seiji Ozawa dirigierte. Nicht von ungefähr interpretierte die Geigerin das Violinkonzert von Beethoven, das Werk, das sie am häufigsten mit Karajan aufgeführt hat. »Anne-Sophie Mutter, ein wirklich verschwenderisches Talent der Ausdruckskunst, spielte Beethoven so, dass niemand unberührt bleiben konnte«, hieß es anschließend in der Berliner Zeitung. Auch zu anderen glanzvollen Konzertereignissen lud sie das Orchester als Gastsolistin ein: 2014 reiste sie mit den Philharmonikern zu den Osterfestspielen nach Baden-Baden und im Rahmen einer Carnegie-Hall-Residency nach New York. Im folgenden Jahr war sie der Stargast des philharmonischen Silvesterkonzerts. 2011 spielte sie unter Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle erstmals mit dem Orchester Antonín Dvořáks Violinkonzert, 2013 war sie mit diesem Werk nochmals zu erleben. Dieses Mal mit Manfred Honeck als Dirigent. Ihre mittlerweile 40-jährige Partnerschaft feiern die Philharmoniker und Anne-Sophie Mutter nun mit einem Festkonzert, bei dem es eine musikalische Premiere gibt: Zum ersten Mal führen sie gemeinsam das Violinkonzert von Peter Tschaikowsky auf. Die Leitung hat Riccardo Muti. Selbst in langjährigen Beziehungen kann man sich noch mit Neuem überraschen.

Ausstellung im Südfoyer

Anlässlich des Jubliläumskonzerts zeigt das Archiv der Berliner Philharmoniker im Südfoyer eine kleine Ausstellung mit Fotos, Rezensionen und Programmheften, die die künstlerische Zusammenarbeit von Anne-Sophie Mutter und den Berliner Philharmonikern von den Anfängen bis heute dokumentiert.

1977: die erste Autogrammkarte
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1980: mit Karajan bei der Probe
(Foto: Gustav Zimmermann)
Mit dem Ersten Konzertmeister Michel Schwalbé
(Foto: Siegfried Lauterwasser)
1983: Während einer Probe zur Aufführung von Brahms' Doppelkonzerts mit dem Cellisten Antonio Meneses
(Foto: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)
1987: Eröffnung des Kammermusiksaals
(Foto: Reinhard Friedrich)
Mit Sir Simon Rattle beim Silvesterkonzert 2015
(Foto: Holger Kettner)

Konzert

Samstag,

27. Mai 2017
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert Aboserie: - Sonderkonzerte

Sa, 27. Mai 2017 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Riccardo Muti Dirigent

Anne-Sophie Mutter Violine

Werke von Peter Tschaikowsky

mehr lesen