There are very few people who can boast of having conducted the Vienna Philharmonic and the Berliner Philharmoniker when they were only 25. Among them is Zubin Mehta, who made his debut with the Philharmoniker at that age in Berlin on 18 September 1961, and who celebrates his 80th birthday on 29 April this year. Following the concert, he was hailed by the press as a “discovery from India”, and as the “up-and-coming man of his age group”. Prophetic words indeed. Not only because the Mumbai-born Zubin Mehta went on to develop a phenomenal career in a very short time, but, with regard to the Berliner Philharmoniker, no other guest conductor has worked so long, regularly or consistently with the orchestra as he. Almost every year he has stood on the podium of the Philharmonie or conducted at the Easter Festival in Salzburg and Baden-Baden. Looking back, the stylistic range of his repertoire is impressive. He has covered all styles and genres: Classical, Romantic, Modern, new music, symphonic, opera, and oratorio. In his almost 55-year-long collaboration with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Zubin Mehta has repeatedly succeeded in surprising with the unconventional and the new: Just think of his most recent appearance in September 2015 when, in addition to Camille Saint-Saëns’ Organ Symphony and Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s Violin Concerto, he also programmed the interlude from the opera Notre Dame by Franz Schmidt, a now almost unknown composer who was a cellist in the Vienna Court Opera orchestra during the Mahler era.

Early love of Western music

Although Zubin Mehta grew up in a culture in which access to and the study of Western music was not a matter of course, the cornerstone of his musical career was laid in the parental home: Mehta’s father Mehli, a violinist and conductor and founder of the Bombay Symphony Orchestra, made every effort to inspire a love for classical music in his son and to give him a solid musical education. Zubin Mehta, who regards Wilhelm Furtwängler and Arturo Toscanini as his most important role models, acquired the technical know-how for the profession of a conductor during his studies at the Wiener Musikakademie. At the beginning of the 1960s, Zubin Mehta, who won the International Conducting Competition in Liverpool in 1958, launched himself artistically – on several levels. Not only did the aforementioned debuts with the Vienna Philharmonic and the Berliner Philharmoniker take place in this period: he also became chief of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra and the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, and he conducted the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra for the first time, standing in for the indisposed Eugene Ormandy. A fateful event. Mehta and the musicians got on like a house on fire, and at the same time the conductor experienced at first hand the political conflicts in Israel. Ever since he has also regarded his artistic work as a means of international understanding. In 1969 he became a consultant, in 1977 chief conductor of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, and finally in 1981 music director for life.

Artistic anchor points

When Zubin Mehta takes up a post, he usually stays there for a long time: From 1978 to 1991, he was chief conductor of the New York Philharmonic; from 1998 to 2006, music director of the Bavarian State Opera, and since 1985, he has been head of the Maggio Musicale in Florence. Mehta, who has been inundated with honours and awards during his life, including the “Nikisch-Ring” and the Furtwängler Prize, knows the international concert and opera scene – so to speak – like the back of his hand. Nevertheless, he has made sure over all these years that there have been a few, but important, artistic anchor points in his eventful life. The Berliner Philharmoniker, as he has repeatedly stressed in interviews, is one of them.

Nur sehr wenige Dirigenten können für sich reklamieren, bereits mit 25 Jahren am Pult der Wiener und der Berliner Philharmoniker gestanden zu haben. Zu ihnen gehört Zubin Mehta, der am 18. September 1961 im besagten Alter in Berlin sein philharmonisches Debüt gab und der am 29. April dieses Jahres seinen 80. Geburtstag feiert. Nach dem Konzert wurde er von der Presse als »Entdeckung aus Indien« gefeiert, als der »kommende Mann seiner Altersklasse«. Welch prophetische Worte! Nicht nur, dass der in Bombay geborene Zubin Mehta in kürzester Zeit eine phänomenale Karriere hinlegte, in Hinblick auf die Berliner Philharmoniker hat kaum ein anderer Gastdirigent so lange, regelmäßig und beständig mit dem Orchester zusammengearbeitet wie er. Nahezu jährlich stand er auf dem Podium der Philharmonie oder dirigierte bei den Osterfestspielen in Salzburg und Baden-Baden. In der Rückschau beeindruckt die stilistische Bandbreite seines Repertoires. Er bediente sämtliche Stilrichtungen und Genres: Klassik, Romantik, Moderne, Neue Musik, Symphonisches, Oper, Oratorium. In der bald 55-jährigen Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Philharmonikern gelingt es Zubin Mehta immer wieder, mit Neuem, Unkonventionellem zu überraschen: Man denke nur an seinen letzten Auftritt im September 2015, bei dem er neben Camille Saint-Saëns’ Orgelsymphonie und Erich Wolfgang Korngolds Violinkonzert das Zwischenspiel aus der Oper Notre Dame von Franz Schmidt aufs Programm setzte, einem heute nahezu unbekannten Komponisten, der während der Ära Mahler Cellist im Wiener Hofopernorchester war.

Frühe Begeisterung für westliche Musik

Obwohl Zubin Mehta in einer Kultur aufgewachsen ist, für die der Zugang zur und die Beschäftigung mit westlicher Musik keine Selbstverständlichkeit ist, wurde der Grundstein für seine musikalische Laufbahn bereits im Elternhaus gelegt: Mehtas Vater Mehli, ein Geiger und Dirigent sowie Gründer des Bombay Symphony Orchestra, setzte alles daran, seinen Sohn für die klassische Musik zu begeistern und ihm eine solide musikalische Ausbildung zu geben. Das handwerkliche Know-how für den Dirigentenberuf erwarb sich Zubin Mehta, der als wichtigste Vorbilder Wilhelm Furtwängler und Arturo Toscanini nennt, während seines Studiums an der Wiener Musikakademie. Zu Beginn der 1960er-Jahre startete Zubin Mehta, der 1958 den internationalen Dirigierwettbewerb in Liverpool gewonnen hatte, künstlerisch durch – auf mehreren Ebenen. Nicht nur, dass in diese Zeit die eingangs erwähnten Debüts bei den Wiener und Berliner Philharmonikern fielen, er wurde Chef des Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal und des Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, außerdem dirigierte er als Einspringer für den erkrankten Eugene Ormandy erstmals das Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. Ein schicksalhaftes Ereignis. Mehta und die Musiker entbrannten sofort füreinander, gleichzeitig erlebte der Dirigent hautnah die politischen Konflikte in Israel und versteht seither seine künstlerische Arbeit auch als Mittel der Völkerverständigung. 1969 wurde er Berater, 1977 Chefdirigent des Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, schließlich 1981 Musikdirektor auf Lebenszeit.

Künstlerische Ankerpunkte

Wenn Zubin Mehta ein Amt annimmt, bleibt er meist lange: Von 1978 bis 1991 war er Chefdirigent der New Yorker Philharmoniker, von 1998 bis 2006 Generalmusikdirektor der Bayerischen Staatsoper, seit 1985 ist er Chef des Maggio Musicale in Florenz. Mehta, der im Laufe seines Lebens mit Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen überhäuft wurde, darunter der »Nikisch-Ring« und der Furtwängler-Preis, kennt – salopp gesagt – die internationale Konzert- und Opernszene wie seine Westentasche. Gleichwohl sorgte er all die Jahre dafür, dass es in diesem bewegten Leben einige wenige, aber wichtige künstlerische Ankerpunkte gibt. Die Berliner Philharmoniker sind, wie er immer wieder in Interviews betont, einer von ihnen.