“If there is anything that defines Romanticism and represents the mid-19th century, it is this piece– of all the arts. The opera is a kind of nuclear bomb,” said Sir Simon Rattle talking about Richard Wagner's Tristan und Isolde, the music drama that forms the heart of this year's Baden-Baden Easter Festival. For Rattle, who discovered his enthusiasm for Wagner's music when just a teenager, it is the third time that he has taken on Tristan. In 2001, he conducted a new production with the Dutch National Opera in Amsterdam, followed in 2009 by a series of performances at the Vienna State Opera, where he also had the opportunity to study Mahler's score of Tristan with its performance instructions and dynamic entries and the musical material which belonged to Carlos Kleiber. He is now preparing for the new production in Baden-Baden, where Eva-Maria Westbroek and Stuart Skelton will sing the lovers, and the opera will be directed by Mariusz Treliński. After the festival, there will be two concert performances at the Philharmonie.

Flawless sound culture

With this new production, the Berliner Philharmoniker are continuing a tradition. Ever since the era of Wilhelm Furtwängler, the orchestra has performed Wagner's masterpiece with each of its chief conductors. The first occasion was during a guest performance at the Théâtre National de l'Opéra Paris in June 1932. Then in 1943, during the Second World War, there was a performance at the Berlin Staatsoper with Robert Heger as the conductor. After the founding of the Easter Festival 1967, the Berliner Philharmoniker played Tristan and Isolde for the first time in Salzburg in March 1972, under the baton of Herbert von Karajan. The event was eagerly anticipated as Karajan was in charge of both the musical and stage direction, with stage sets by Günther Schneider-Siemssen. The press response to the performances was quite ambivalent: Karajan's production concept, understood by many critics as an alternative to the symbolic interpretations of the Bayreuth Festival, was not well received. Above all, his direction of the singers was regarded as old fashioned. Even the vocal qualities of the two main characters, Helga Dernesch as Isolde and Jon Vickers as Tristan, weren't – according to critics – quite up to the difficulties of the roles. However, the musical performance given by the Berliner Philharmoniker was met with unreserved admiration: “The experience of the differentiated, most finely nuanced orchestral sound is the most beautiful impression of the evening” (Der Tagesspiegel). The recording of Tristan on disc which the orchestra and Karajan made just a few months before the festival is still regarded as a benchmark recording of the work. The following year, the opera was programmed again at the Easter Festival, and also in this revival, it was mainly the playing of the orchestra that delighted audiences and the press.

New perspective

Unlike Herbert von Karajan, who made his debuts at the Vienna and Berlin state opera houses with Tristan und Isolde in 1937 and 1938 and had conducted the work on many occasions after then, including at the Bayreuth Festival, Claudio Abbado only ventured a public performance very late, when he was 65 years of age. In November 1998, he first presented a concert performance in Berlin, almost a preparation for the stage performances at the Easter Festival in 1999 in the production by Klaus Michael Grüber. Deborah Polaski and Ben Heppner were the interpreters of Isolde and Tristan, and the roles of Brangäne and King Marke were sung by Marjana Lipovšek and Matti Salminen. As part of his preparations, Abbado had undertaken intensive study of the recently published critical edition of the opera. In order to realise his musical ideas, he created a very special, unfamiliar orchestral layout, and succeeded in producing an analytically thought-through, clear and at the same time new reading of the work. “No phrase was hackneyed, no sound merely drawn from tradition” (Die Welt). The tenor of the press at the time was that under the direction of Abbado, the Berliner Philharmoniker had developed a Tristan that had both emotional density and transparency. In 2000, the orchestra and its chief took the opera for a guest appearance in Tokyo. On this occasion, it was not Ben Heppner, but Jon Frederic West in the role of Tristan alongside Deborah Polaski. The three performances in the Bunka Kaikan hall were sold out within three hours.

»Wenn es irgendetwas gibt, das die Romantik definiert und die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts ausmacht, dann ist es dieses Werk – für alle Künste. Diese Oper ist wie eine Atombombe«, meint Sir Simon Rattle über Richard Wagners Tristan und Isolde, jenes Musikdrama, das das Herzstück der diesjährigen Osterfestspiele Baden-Baden bildet. Für Rattle, der seine Begeisterung für Wagners Musik bereits als Teenager entdeckte, ist es das dritte Mal, dass er sich dem Tristan widmet. 2001 dirigierte er in Amsterdam eine Neuproduktion der Niederländischen Oper, 2009 folgte eine Aufführungsserie an der Wiener Staatsoper, wo er auch die Gelegenheit hatte, Gustav Mahlers Dirigierpartitur des Tristan mit dessen Aufführungsanweisungen und dynamischen Eintragungen sowie das Notenmaterial von Carlos Kleiber zu studieren. Nun bereitet er die Baden-Badener Opernneuinszenierung vor, in der Eva-Maria Westbroek und Stuart Skelton das Liebespaar singen und Mariusz Treliński Regie führt. Nach dem Festival gibt es noch zwei konzertante Vorstellungen in der Philharmonie.

Makellose Klangkultur

Damit setzen die Berliner Philharmoniker eine Tradition fort. Denn seit der Ära Wilhelm Furtwänglers hat das Orchester Wagners Meisterwerk mit jedem seiner Chefdirigenten aufgeführt. Das erste Mal während eines Gastspiels im Juni 1932 am Théâtre National de l’Opera Paris. Außerdem gab es 1943, während des Zweiten Weltkriegs, eine Aufführung an der Berliner Staatsoper mit Robert Heger als Dirigent. Nach der Gründung der Osterfestspiele 1967 spielten die Berliner Philharmoniker Tristan und Isolde erstmals im März 1972 in Salzburg unter der Leitung Herbert von Karajans. Das Ereignis wurde mit Spannung erwartet, denn Karajan hatte nicht nur die musikalische, sondern auch die szenische Leitung. Das Bühnenbild stammte von Günther Schneider-Siemssen. Das Presseecho auf die Aufführungen war durchaus zwiespältig: Karajans Regie, die viele Kritiker als Gegenentwurf zu der symbolistischen Deutung der Bayreuther Festspiele verstanden, stieß auf Ablehnung. Vor allem seine Personenführung fand man antiquiert. Auch die sängerischen Qualitäten der beiden Hauptdarsteller, Helga Dernesch als Isolde und Jon Vickers als Tristan, würden – so die Kritiker – den Schwierigkeiten der Partien nicht vollkommen gerecht. Uneingeschränkte Bewunderung erregte jedoch die musikalische Darbietung der Berliner Philharmoniker. »Das Erlebnis des differenzierten, in feinste Nuancen schattierten Orchesterklangs ist der schönste Eindruck des Abends« (Der Tagesspiegel). Nur wenige Monate vor den Festspielen hatten das Orchester und Karajan den gesamten Tristan auf Schallplatte eingespielt. Die Aufzeichnung gilt noch heute als Referenzaufnahme. Im folgenden Jahr stand das Werk wieder auf dem Programm der Osterfestspiele und auch bei dieser Reprise war es vor allem das Spiel des Orchesters, das Publikum und Presse begeisterte.

Neue Sichtweise

Anders als Herbert von Karajan, der 1937 und 1938 mit Tristan und Isolde seine Debüts an der Wiener und Berliner Staatsoper bestritt und der das Werk seither immer wieder u. a. bei den Bayreuther Festspielen dirigierte, wagte sich Claudio Abbado erst sehr spät, im Alter von 65 Jahren, an eine öffentliche Darbietung. Im November 1998 präsentierte er zunächst mit den Berliner Philharmonikern eine konzertante Aufführung in Berlin, sozusagen als Vorbereitung für die szenische Darstellung bei den Osterfestspielen 1999 in der Regie von Klaus Michael Grüber. Deborah Polaski und Ben Heppner waren die Interpreten von Isolde und Tristan, Brangäne und König Marke sangen Marjana Lipovšek und Matti Salminen. Abbado hatte sich im Vorfeld intensiv mit der kurz zuvor publizierten kritischen Neuausgabe der Oper auseinandergesetzt. Um seine Klangvorstellungen zu realisieren, nahm er eine ganz eigene, bislang ungewohnte Orchesteraufstellung vor und ihm gelang eine analytisch durchdachte, klare und gleichzeitig neue Lesart des Werks. »Keine Phrase wirkt abgegriffen, kein Klang aus der Tradition geschöpft« (Die Welt). Emotional dicht und doch transparent – so der Tenor der Presse – sei der Tristan, den die Berliner Philharmoniker unter Abbados Leitung erarbeitet hatten. Im Jahr 2000 nahmen das Orchester und sein Chef die Oper mit auf ein Gastspiel nach Tokio. Dieses Mal stand nicht Ben Heppner, sondern Jon Frederic West als Tristan an der Seite von Deborah Polaski. Die drei Aufführungen in der Bunka Kaikan Halle waren innerhalb von drei Stunden ausverkauft.