When Kirill Gerstein takes to the keyboard, even the most powerful passages seem transparent and almost weightless. His playing has a naturalness and ease, but at the same time, each note appears well placed, and every bar perfectly thought through. There are – as the artist said in an interview – no “trivialities” in the works of great composers. The listener is aware of this approach immediately; it characterises his music making. After his concert debut with the Zurich Tonhalle-Orchestra in 2000, the international concert career of the young Russian progressed at a dizzying pace: In 2001, Kirill Gerstein won the International Arthur Rubinstein Competition in Tel-Aviv, and the year after, he received the Gilmore Young Artist Award. This was followed by acclaimed debuts, including with the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Munich and Vienna Philharmonics, the Cleveland Orchestra, the Los Angeles and New York Philharmonics, also at the Salzburg Festival and the Lucerne Festival. In 2010, he received the Gilmore Artist Award and used the prize money of 300 000 dollars to commission compositions from Timothey Andres, Chick Corea, Alexander Goehr, Oliver Knussen and Brad Mehldau. Today, the musician is one of the most exciting pianists of his generation.

Jazz or classical?

Born in Voronezh in 1979, the son of a mathematics teacher and a music teacher, Gerstein, who began playing the piano at the age of two, grew up in the two musical worlds of classical and jazz. Initially, it seemed jazz would be the direction he would follow. At 14, he became the youngest scholarship student to go to the Berklee College of Music in Boston to train as a jazz pianist. Two years later, he decided to follow the classical route after all. First, he studied under Solomon Mikowsky at the Manhattan School of Music, and later under Dmitri Bashkirov at the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía. Since 2007, Kirill Gerstein has himself been teaching – as a professor at the State University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart, an activity which he admits is is not entirely selfless. Nowhere else can he learn so much as as when teaching, as it provides him with the opportunity to look at compositions in a completely different way. The pianist has already appeared as a chamber musician in a Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation concert: Together with his partners, violinist Kolja Blacher and cellist Clemens Hagen, he presented piano trios by Haydn, Beethoven and Schubert in May 2013. The critic of rbb’s Kulturradio described this appearance as a defining moment in chamber music.

Questioning of performance traditions

In April 2016, he now makes his debut in orchestral concerts of the Berliner Philharmoniker under the direction of Semyon Bychkov – with Sergei Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto. “It’s one of those much-played pieces, where the requirement and the salvation is in the return to the score and a re-examination of the performance habits,” says the pianist. “Influenced by Tchaikovsky, the concerto is filled with youthful, and in comparison to his later concertos, innocent lyricism. The sense of rubato and dynamic balance allows for a chamber music-like collaboration between conductor, orchestra and soloist. I can’t imagine better partners than Semyon Bychkov and the Berliner Philharmoniker to jointly explore and interpret this wonderful concerto.” The questioning of performance traditions is another hallmark of Kirill Gerstein. Based on a new scholarly edition, he recently presented the original version of Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto which appears much more transparent and lyrical than the standard version used until now.

Wenn Kirill Gerstein in die Tasten greift, wirken selbst die wuchtigsten Passagen transparent und fast schwerelos. Sein Spiel besitzt Selbstverständlichkeit und Leichtigkeit, gleichzeitig erscheint jede Note wohl platziert, jeder Takt vollkommen durchdacht. Es gebe – so der Künstler einmal in einem Interview – in den Werken großer Komponisten keine »Nebensächlichkeiten«. Diese Einstellung, das merkt der Hörer sofort, prägt sein Musizieren. Nach seinem Konzertdebüt beim Züricher Tonhalle-Orchester im Jahr 2000 nahm die internationale Konzertkarriere des jungen Russen rasant Fahrt auf: 2001 gewann Kirill Gerstein den Internationalen Arthur-Rubinstein-Wettbewerb in Tel Aviv, im Jahr darauf wurde er mit dem Gilmore Young Artist Award ausgezeichnet, es folgten umjubelte Debüts u. a. bei der Staatskapelle Dresden, den Münchner und den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem Cleveland Orchestra, dem Los Angeles und dem New York Philharmonic, außerdem bei den Salzburger Festspielen und dem Lucerne Festival. 2010 erhielt er den Gilmore Artist Award und nutzte das Preisgeld von 300.000 Dollar, um Kompositionsaufträge an Timothy Andres, Chick Corea, Alexander Goehr, Oliver Knussen und Brad Mehldau zu vergeben. Heute zählt der Musiker zu den spannendsten Pianisten seiner Generation.

Jazz oder Klassik?

1979 in Woronesch als Sohn eines Mathematiklehrers und einer Musiklehrerin geboren, wuchs Gerstein, der bereits im Alter von zwei Jahren mit dem Klavierspiel begann, in zwei musikalischen Welten auf: der Klassik und dem Jazz. Anfänglich schien es, als ob der Jazz ihn mehr faszinierte. 14-jährig kam er als jüngster Stipendiat nach Boston ans Berklee College of Music, um sich als Jazzpianist ausbilden zu lassen. Zwei Jahre später entschied er sich jedoch für die klassische Musik, studierte zunächst bei Solomon Mikowsky an der Manhattan School of Music, später bei Dmitri Bashkirov an der Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía. Seit 2007 unterrichtet Kirill Gerstein selbst – als Professor an der Musikhochschule in Stuttgart, eine Tätigkeit, die, wie er zugibt, nicht ganz uneigennützig ist. Nirgendwo würde er selbst so viel lernen wie beim Unterrichten, er bekäme dadurch die Gelegenheit, sich nochmal ganz anders mit den Kompositionen auseinanderzusetzen. Als Kammermusiker konnte man den Pianisten bereits in einem Konzert der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker erleben: Gemeinsam mit seinen Partnern, dem Geiger Kolja Blacher und dem Cellisten Clemens Hagen, präsentierte er im Mai 2013 Klaviertrios von Haydn, Beethoven und Schubert. Dieser Auftritt sei, so der Kritiker im Kulturradio des Rundfunks Berlin-Brandenburg, eine Sternstunde der Kammermusik gewesen.

Hinterfragen von Aufführungstraditionen

Im April 2016 gibt er nun unter Leitung von Semyon Bychkov sein Debüt in den Orchesterkonzerten der Berliner Philharmoniker – mit dem Zweiten Klavierkonzert von Sergej Rachmaninow. »Es ist eines jener vielgespielten Werke, bei denen es unbedingt notwendig ist, genau in die Partitur zu schauen und bekannte Aufführungstraditionen zu hinterfragen«, meint der Pianist. »Beeinflusst von Tschaikowsky, enthält dieses Konzert, im Vergleich zu den späteren, eine Fülle von jugendlichem, unschuldigem Lyrismus. Die Art der Rubati und dynamischen Balance erlaubt eine kammermusikalische Zusammenarbeit zwischen Dirigent, Orchester und Solist. Ich kann mir keine besseren Partner als Semyon Bychkov und die Berliner Philharmoniker vorstellen, um dieses wundervolle Stück gemeinsam zu erforschen und zu interpretieren.« Aufführungstraditionen zu hinterfragen – auch das ist ein Markenzeichen von Kirill Gerstein. Erst jüngst hat er auf Grundlage einer neuen Urtextedition die Originalfassung von Tschaikowskys Erstem Klavierkonzert vorgestellt, die transparenter und lyrischer erscheint als die bislang gebräuchliche Version.