In 1957, the Berliner Philharmoniker appeared for the first time in Japan – the first major European symphony orchestra to do so. Led by their new chief conductor Herbert von Karajan, and in the wake of two successful tours of the USA, they now wanted to conquer the land of the rising sun. If contemporary press reports are to be believed, this tour had a political as well as a cultural dimension. At a time when the world was divided into an eastern and a western hemisphere by the Cold War, such musical events were intended to underline the ties between Japan and Germany, and Japanese music fans looked forward to seeing the visitors from Germany with excitement and anticipation. Karajan and his musicians had a tight schedule before them: In less than three weeks, they were to give 16 concerts in eight cities. No less than seven concerts were scheduled in Tokyo, where tickets for the events were sold out only three hours after booking opened. The concert programmes included highlights of classical music such as preludes and overtures from operas by Richard Wagner and Carl Maria von Weber, the most famous symphonies by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Ludwig van Beethoven, Johannes Brahms and Antonín Dvořák, and tone poems by Richard Strauss and Bedřich Smetana. This first tour of Japan, during which Karajan and the Berliner Philharmoniker were celebrated like pop stars, laid the foundation for the mutual affection that has developed between the country and the orchestra ever since.

Enthusiasm for Beethoven and Brahms

Almost ten years passed before Karajan and the Berliner Philharmoniker returned. When they did, they took with them their acclaimed Beethoven cycle which they had performed with triumphal success in Paris, London and New York. And the Japanese audience was unanimous: they had never before heard such lively, transparent and at the same time animated performances of Beethoven’s symphonies. “It is not that Beethoven dominates Karajan, rather it is Karajan who evokes Beethoven,” as it said in a newspaper review. When touring in 1977, there were even two complete cycles: To mark the 20th anniversary of the first Japanese tour and the 80th and 150th anniversaries of the deaths of Brahms and Beethoven, the Berliner Philharmoniker performed symphonic works by both composers – Brahms in Osaka, and Beethoven in Tokyo. Karajan now had the status of a demigod in Japan, such was the almost limitless devotion shown to him. The conductor was again impressed by the high concentration levels of his audience which at that time – as was also mentioned again and again in press reports – consisted particularly of young men aged between the ages of 17 and 30. During the tours, numerous private contacts and friendships developed between the musicians and the Japanese, one of which is the connection to the Waseda University and its highly dedicated student orchestra. The Berliner Philharmoniker travelled to Japan a total of ten times during the Karajan era, and on only one occasion was another conductor on the podium: Seiji Ozawa conducted the orchestra in 1986 as part of the opening ceremonies of the Suntory Hall in Tokyo, which was modelled on the Berlin Philharmonie.

New sound, new repertoire

But that, together with two concerts Mariss Jansons conducted in Tokyo and Yokohama during the orchestra’s tour in the year 2000, remained an exception. For Karajan’s successor, the Philharmoniker’s Japanese tours were also an occasion for the chief conductor alone. In 1992, both Japanese fans and the Philharmoniker approached the first guest performance under the direction of Claudio Abbado with curiosity and trepidation. They wondered whether he could meet expectations, especially since he included a Brahms cycle in the programme – works in which his predecessor had set the standard. Abbado managed to exceed all expectations. The Japanese press heard a new sound in the orchestra and they noted the increasing youthfulness of the members. A leading music critic of the newspaper Asahi Shimbun noted that towards the end of the Karajan era, the performances had lacked tension, but under Abbado, “the former vitality, strength, perfection and purity” had returned. As the orchestra chairman at the time Hellmut Stern said, it was important for the Philharmoniker to demonstrate that “the world had not ended after the death of Karajan”. Although Abbado’s sound brought a breath of fresh air, the guest appearances in Japan changed little in terms of programming. The main pillars remained Beethoven, Brahms and the late Romantic repertoire. Change only arrived with the tenure of Simon Rattle who, during its first tour in 2004, programmed two composers which had never been played in Japan by the orchestra before: Joseph Haydn and Magnus Lindberg. New music in particular was to find a special place in tour programmes under Rattle: Thomas Adès, Toshio Hosokawa, and Pierre Boulez. “On every tour, we try to play at least one great contemporary piece,” said Simon Rattle in an interview during the most recent tour of Japan in 2013. For this year’s guest appearance, the focus is once again on one composer alone: Ludwig van Beethoven, whose nine symphonies the Philharmoniker and their chief will perform in Tokyo. Another tradition will be preserved...

1957 gastierten die Berliner Philharmoniker zum ersten Mal in Japan – als erstes großes europäisches Symphonieorchester. Nach zwei erfolgreichen Tourneen durch die USA wollten sie, angeführt durch ihren neuen Chefdirigenten Herbert von Karajan, nun auch das Land der aufgehenden Sonne erobern. Diese Reise hatte – schenkt man den damaligen Presseberichten Glauben – nicht allein eine kulturelle, sondern auch eine politische Dimension. In einer Zeit, in der die Welt durch den Kalten Krieg in eine östliche und eine westliche Hemisphäre gespalten war, sollten über solche musikalischen Ereignisse die Verbundenheit zwischen Japan und Deutschland unterstrichen werden. Die japanischen Musikfans erwarteten die Gäste aus Deutschland mit Spannung und Freude. Karajan und seinen Musikern stand ein straffer Zeitplan bevor: In knapp drei Wochen galt es, 16 Konzerte in acht Städten zu geben. Allein sieben Konzerte waren in Tokio angesetzt, wo es bereits drei Stunden nach Vorverkaufsbeginn keine Karten für die Veranstaltungen mehr gab. Die Highlights der klassischen Musik standen auf den Programmen dieser Konzerte, u. a. Vorspiele aus Opern von Richard Wagner und Carl Maria von Weber, die bekanntesten Symphonien von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Ludwig van Beethoven, Johannes Brahms und Antonín Dvořák sowie Tondichtungen von Richard Strauss und Bedřich Smetana. Diese erste Japan-Tournee, bei der Karajan und die Philharmoniker wie Popstars gefeiert wurden, legte den Grundstein für die gegenseitige Zuneigung, die Land und Orchester seither verbindet.

Begeisterung mit Beethoven und Brahms

Fast zehn Jahre dauerte es, ehe Karajan und die Berliner Philharmoniker wiederkamen. Dieses Mal brachten sie ihren gefeierten Beethoven-Zyklus mit, mit dem sie schon in Paris, London und New York Triumphe gefeiert hatten. Und auch das japanische Publikum war sich einig: So lebendig, transparent und gleichzeitig so beseelt habe man Beethovens Symphonien noch nie gehört. »Es ist nicht so, dass Beethoven Karajan beherrscht, sondern Karajan beschwört Beethoven«, hieß es in einer Zeitungskritik. Bei der Tournee von 1977 gab es dann sogar zwei komplette Zyklen: Anlässlich des 20. Jahrestages des ersten Japan-Gastspiels sowie des 80. und 150. Todestages von Brahms und Beethoven widmeten sich die Berliner Philharmoniker den symphonischen Werken beider Komponisten – Brahms in Osaka und Beethoven in Tokio. Karajan besaß mittlerweile in Japan den Status eines Halbgotts, schier grenzenlos war die Verehrung, die ihm entgegengebracht wurde. Der Dirigent wiederum war beeindruckt von der hohen Konzentrationsfähigkeit seines Publikums, das damals – auch das wird in den Presseberichten immer wieder erwähnt ¬– vor allem aus jungen Männern zwischen 17 und 30 Jahren bestand. Während der Gastspielreisen entwickelten sich zwischen den Musikern und den Japanern zahlreiche private Kontakte und Freundschaften, eine davon ist die Verbindung zur Waseda-Universität und ihrem engagierten Studentenorchester. Insgesamt zehn Mal reisten die Berliner Philharmoniker während der Ära Karajan nach Japan, nur ein einziges Mal stand ein anderer Dirigent am Pult: Seiji Ozawa leitete das Orchester 1986 im Rahmen der Einweihungsfeierlichkeiten der Suntory Hall in Tokio, die nach dem Vorbild der Berliner Philharmonie entstand.

Neuer Klang, neues Repertoire

Doch das blieb, ebenso wie zwei Konzerte, die Mariss Jansons während der philharmonischen Gastspielreise 2000 in Tokio und Yokohama dirigierte, eine Ausnahme. Auch für Karajans Nachfolger waren die Japan-Tourneen der Philharmoniker »Chefsache«. 1992 blickten japanische Fans wie Philharmoniker mit Neugier und Bangen dem ersten Gastspiel unter der Leitung Claudio Abbados entgegen. Konnte er die Erwartungen erfüllen, zumal er sich mit dem Programm, einem Brahms-Zyklus, auf ein Terrain begab, auf dem sein Vorgänger Maßstäbe gesetzt hatte? Abbado gelang es, sämtliche Erwartungen zu übertreffen. Die japanische Presse konstatierte einen neuen Klang des Orchesters und man nahm auch die Verjüngung der Mitglieder wahr. Ein führender Musikkritiker der Zeitung Asahi Shinbun bemerkte, dass zum Ende der Karajan-Zeit die Aufführungen nicht mehr so gespannt gewesen seien, doch unter Abbado seien »die frühere Lebendigkeit, Stärke, Vollkommenheit und Reinheit zurückgekehrt«. Für die Philharmoniker war es wichtig – so der damalige Orchestervorstand Hellmut Stern – zu demonstrieren, dass »die Welt nach dem Tod Karajans nicht untergegangen ist«. Auch wenn Abbado klanglich einen frischen Wind mitbrachte, so änderte sich programmatisch bei den Japan-Gastspielen eher wenig. Die Säulen blieben Beethoven, Brahms und das spätromantische Repertoire. Eine Wandlung trat erst in der Amtszeit Simon Rattles ein, der bei seiner ersten Tournee 2004 zwei Komponisten auf das Programm setzte, die das Orchester bislang noch nie in Japan gespielt hat: Joseph Haydn und Magnus Lindberg. Gerade die Neue Musik bekam unter Rattle einen besonderen Stellenwert in den Tour-Programmen: Thomas Adés, Toshio Hosokawa, Pierre Boulez. »Auf jeder Tour versuchen wir, auch mindestens ein großes zeitgenössisches Stück zu spielen«, erzählte Simon Rattle bei der letzten Japan-Tournee 2013 in einem Interview. Beim diesjährigen Gastspiel steht wieder nur ein einziger Komponist im Zentrum: Ludwig van Beethoven, dessen neun Symphonien die Philharmoniker und ihr Chef in Tokio interpretieren. Auch diese Tradition will gewahrt bleiben ...