Videos

In the coming weeks, there are three conductors at the podium of the Berliner Philharmoniker who are among the orchestra’s long-standing guests: Iván Fischer, Herbert Blomstedt and Mariss Jansons. “When I come here,” Jansons said in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, “I try to conduct a different programme every time.” However, not only the Latvian but also the other two conductors will surprise audiences during their current appearances with compositions that they have never performed in Philharmoniker concerts before.

The Mahler specialist

Iván Fischer, chief conductor of the Konzerthausorchester Berlin and founder of the Budapest Festival Orchestra, has been a guest conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker since 1989 and has made his mark with the orchestra mainly as an interpreter of Haydn and Mozart as well as Hungarian composers, especially Béla Bartók. Now, for the first time, he conducts Gustav Mahler’s Third Symphony, the work with which Fischer introduced himself to Berlin audiences as chief conductor designate of the Konzerthausorchester in 2012, and which drew wild applause from the audience. Fischer feels a deep connection to the works of Mahler, and not only because he regularly programmes his symphonies for his concerts and makes recordings of them. He founded the Budapest Mahler Festival and the Hungarian Mahler Society in his native Hungary in order to make the music of the composer better known there. At the beginning of his career, his musical aesthetics were influenced by two completely contrasting conducting personalities: the teacher Hans Swarowsky and Nikolaus Harnoncourt, whose assistant Fischer was and who showed him that music is a form of interpersonal communication. His international career started in 1976 following his triumphant victory at the Rupert Foundation conducting competition in London.

Dvořák and Berwald for the first time

1976 was also a memorable year for Herbert Blomstedt, because in that year the Swedish-American made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker – together with the then 20-year-old pianist Krystian Zimerman. Press attention was focused mainly on the newly crowned winner of the Chopin Competition, but the qualities of Blomstedt’s conducting were also mentioned, impressing the critics with his enthusiasm and conviction. Blomstedt, who in the course of his career has held such positions as chief conductor of the Staatskapelle Dresden, the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra and the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, was invited back by the Berliner Philharmoniker on many occasions. In recent years, the collaboration between conductor and orchestra has intensified, and he is now to be found at the conductor’s desk of the orchestra almost every year. Until now, he has been heard primarily as an interpreter of the works of Anton Bruckner, the composer who inspired Blomstedt when he was only 13 years old. However, in this concert, and for the first time with the Philharmoniker, he performs Antonín Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony and the Third Symphony of Franz Berwald, whose musical language is reminiscent of Mendelssohn.

Shostakovich: close to his heart

Just like Herbert Blomstedt, Mariss Jansons also made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 1976. However, he had already conducted the orchestra five years earlier – as one of the winners in the final concert of the Herbert von Karajan conducting competition. Although he “only” won a second prize, he made the “most mature impression” on the critics at the time. The orchestra also felt that they had an exceptional talent in front of them. The competition is – as Jansons once said in an interview – deeply etched in his memory and he has felt a close connection to the orchestra ever since. The Latvian conductor, current artistic director of the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, has been a frequent and regular guest of the Philharmoniker since 1988. His concerts are characterised by unusual programming which mostly includes at least one piece by a composer from Northern or Eastern Europe. The works of Dmitri Shostakovich in particular were, and are, very close to his heart. And with good reason. After all, he got to know and learned to appreciate his compositions at first hand from his father, the conductor Arvīds Jansons, a friend of Shostakovich, when he was just a child. This time, too, the programme includes one of the Russian composer’s symphonies, but one that he has never conducted before with the Philharmoniker: the Tenth Symphony, in which Dmitri Shostakovich deals with the horrors of the Stalin era. Other items on the programme are Hector Berlioz’s Roman Carnival Overture and the Cello Concerto by Henri Dutilleux with Truls Mørk as the soloist. What is it that Mariss Jansons values most about the Berliner Philharmoniker? “The quality of this orchestra is so fantastic. It makes me happy as a conductor, because I can achieve everything I want.”

In den kommenden Wochen stehen drei Dirigenten am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker, die zu den langjährigen Gästen des Orchesters gehören: Iván Fischer, Herbert Blomstedt und Mariss Jansons. »Wenn ich hierherkomme«, verriet Jansons einmal in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall, »versuche ich jedes Mal ein anderes Programm zu dirigieren«. Doch nicht nur der Lette, sondern auch die anderen beiden Dirigenten überraschen das Publikum bei ihren aktuellen Auftritten mit Kompositionen, die sie bislang noch nie im Rahmen der philharmonischen Konzerte aufgeführt haben.

Spezialist für Gustav Mahler

Iván Fischer, Chefdirigent des Konzerthausorchesters Berlin und Gründer des Budapester Festivalorchesters, zählt seit 1989 zu den Gastdirigenten der Berliner Philharmoniker und hat sich bei ihnen hauptsächlich als Interpret Haydns und Mozarts sowie ungarischer Komponisten, allen voran Béla Bartók, profiliert. Nun leitet er erstmals die Dritte Symphonie von Gustav Mahler, jenes Werk, mit dem sich Fischer 2012 dem Berliner Publikum als designierter Chef des Konzerthausorchesters vorstellte und mit dem er seine Zuhörer zu stürmischen Beifallskundgebungen hinriss. Dem Œuvre Gustav Mahlers fühlt sich Fischer zutiefst verbunden. Nicht allein, dass er dessen Symphonien immer wieder auf die Programme seiner Konzerte setzt und auf Tonträger einspielt, er gründete in seinem Heimatland Ungarn das Budapester Mahler-Fest und die Ungarische Mahler-Gesellschaft, um die Musik des Komponisten dort bekannter zu machen. Seine musikalische Ästhetik wurde am Anfang seiner Laufbahn von zwei vollkommen gegensätzlichen Dirigentenpersönlichkeiten geprägt: von dem Lehrer Hans Swarowsky und von Nikolaus Harnoncourt, dessen Assistent Fischer war und der ihm vermittelte, dass Musik eine Art von zwischenmenschliche Kommunikation sei. Seine internationale Karriere startete der Ungar 1976 nach dem triumphalen Sieg beim Dirigentenwettbewerb der Rupert Foundation in London.

Erstmals Dvořák und Berwald

1976 war auch für Herbert Blomstedt ein denkwürdiges Jahr, denn damals gab der schwedisch-amerikanische Dirigent sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern – zusammen mit dem damals 20-jährigen Pianisten Krystian Zimerman. Die Aufmerksamkeit der Presse richtete sich in erster Linie auf den frischgebackenen Preisträger des Chopin-Wettbewerbs, gleichwohl blieben die dirigentischen Qualitäten Blomstedts nicht unerwähnt: Er beeindrucke – so der Tenor der Kritiker – mit Begeisterungsfähigkeit und Überzeugungskraft. Immer wieder wurde Blomstedt, der im Laufe seine Karriere u. a. Chef der Sächsischen Staatskapelle, des San Francisco Symphony Orchestra und des Leipziger Gewandhausorchesters war, von den Berliner Philharmonikern eingeladen. In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Dirigent und Orchester intensiviert, nahezu jährlich tritt er ans Pult des Klangkörpers. Bislang konnte man ihn vor allem als Interpret der Werke Anton Bruckners erleben, die Blomstedt schon im Alter von 13 Jahren begeistert haben. Diesmal jedoch führt er erstmals mit den Philharmonikern Antonín Dvořáks Siebte Symphonie, sowie Franz Berwalds Symphonie Nr. 3 auf, die in ihrer Klangsprache an Mendelssohn erinnert.

Immer wieder Schostakowitsch

Wie Herbert Blomstedt, so debütierte auch Mariss Jansons 1976 bei den Berliner Philharmonikern. Allerdings hatte er das Orchester fünf Jahre zuvor schon einmal dirigiert: als einer der Preisträger im Abschlusskonzert des Herbert-von-Karajan-Dirigentenwettbewerbs. Obwohl er »nur« einen zweiten Preis gewonnen hatte, machte er damals auf die Kritiker den »reifsten Eindruck«. Und auch die Orchestermusiker fühlten, dass hier ein Ausnahmetalent vor ihnen stand. Die Erinnerungen an diesen Wettbewerb haben sich – so Jansons einmal in einem Interview – tief eingegraben und er fühle sich dem Orchester seither auf besondere Weise verbunden. Seit 1988 ist der Lette, derzeitiger künstlerischer Leiter des Symphonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunks, ein häufiger und regelmäßiger Gast der Philharmoniker. Seine Konzerte zeichnen sich durch ungewöhnliche Programmzusammenstellungen aus, meist enthalten sie mindestens ein Stück von Komponisten aus dem nord- und osteuropäischen Raum. Vor allem die Werke Dmitri Schostakowitschs lagen und liegen ihm sehr am Herzen. Mit gutem Grund. Hat er doch dessen Kompositionen durch seinen Vater, dem Dirigenten Arvīds Jansons, einem Freund Schostakowitschs, bereits als Kind aus erster Hand kennen- und schätzen gelernt. Auch dieses Mal steht eine Symphonie des russischen Komponisten auf dem Programm, aber eine, die er noch nie bei seinen philharmonischen Auftritten geleitet hat: die Zehnte Symphonie, in der sich Dmitri Schostakowitsch mit den Schrecken der Stalin-Zeit auseinandersetzt. Weitere Programmpunkte sind Hector Berlioz’ Carnaval-Overtüre und das Violoncellokonzert von Henri Dutilleux mit Truls Mørk als Solisten. Was Mariss Jansons an den Berliner Philharmonikern am meisten schätzt? »Die Qualität dieses Orchesters ist so fantastisch. Das beglückt mich als Dirigent, weil ich alles verwirklichen kann, was ich möchte.«

Videos