In his musical comedy Der Rosenkavalier, Richard Strauss focuses on great female voices in the three major parts of the Marschallin, Octavian and Sophie. For the new production of the opera at the Easter Festival in Baden-Baden with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle, an outstanding trio of women has been engaged for these roles: the sopranos Anja Harteros and Anna Prohaska, and the mezzo-soprano Magdalena Kožená.

A legendary Octavian and acclaimed director

The director is also another “Grande Dame” of this opera: the mezzo-soprano Brigitte Fassbaender who for many years was the Octavian par excellence. She sang the same role for the first time in 1967 in Munich as a stand-in for Herta Töpper and gave such a convincing performance that soon afterwards she was also engaged by the Met, La Scala and the opera houses in Vienna and London. She was one of the vocal ensemble in Munich’s legendary Rosenkavalier production by Otto Schenk and Carlos Kleiber. Even after she finished her singing career and moved into directing, Brigitte Fassbaender remained faithful to the Rosenkavalier. She has now directed it several times. According to the director, there is always something new with this composer to discover and explore.

Expressive, profound and light-hearted

The three singers in the Baden-Baden production are already experienced Rosenkavalier performers, too: Anja Harteros is celebrated by the press as the Marschallin with the “luxurious tone”. According to the Münchner Merkur, she puts all other current singers of the role in the shade. Harteros, who has sung in Der Rosenkavalier at Bavarian State Opera and the Semperoper Dresden among others, succeeds brilliantly in combining both the humorous and melancholy sides of the character: “She is a light-hearted woman whose aim is to treat even serious things in a light-hearted manner. When she talks about things that make us sad, she is not necessarily feeling that same sense of melancholy,” said the singer in an interview. The character of the Marschallin moves the soprano by her emotionalism. Harteros added that while preparing for the role, it took a long time until she was able to sing the role through in its entirety without bursting into tears.

An experienced couple

Anna Prohaska and Magdalena Kožená have already appeared in Der Rosenkavalier together – in a revival of the work at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in the Schiller Theater, under the direction of Sir Simon Rattle. Anna Prohaska impressed in that production not only with her clear, effortlessly soaring soprano, but also with her acting skills. The equally dramatic Magdalena Kožená gave a fiery, but at the same time sensitive Octavian. The mezzo-soprano made her role début as Octavian at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in the production by Nicolas Brieger conducted by Asher Fish in February 2009.

In seiner musikalischen Komödie Der Rosenkavalier setzt Richard Strauss mit den drei wichtigen Partien der Marschallin, des Octavian und der Sophie auf großartige Frauenstimmen. Für die Neuproduktion der Oper bei den Osterfestspielen in Baden-Baden mit den Berliner Philharmonikern und Sir Simon Rattle konnte für diese Rollen ein herausragendes Damentrio gewonnen werden: die Sopranistinnen Anja Harteros und Anna Prohaska sowie die Mezzosopranistin Magdalena Kožená.

Legendärer Octavian, gefeierte Regisseurin

Hinzu kommt als Regisseurin eine weitere »Grande Dame« dieser Oper: Die Mezzosopranistin Brigitte Fassbaender galt Jahrzehntelang als der Octavian schlechthin. Sie sang diese Partie erstmals 1967 in München als Einspringerin für Herta Töpper und überzeugte darin so stark, dass sie bald auch an die Met, die Scala sowie die Opernhäuser in Wien und London engagiert wurde. Sie gehörte zu dem Sängerensemble der legendären Münchner Rosenkavalier-Produktion von Otto Schenk und Carlos Kleiber. Auch nachdem Brigitte Fassbaender ihre Sängerkarriere beendet hatte und ins Regiefach wechselte, ist sie dem Rosenkavalier treu geblieben. Sie hat ihn mittlerweile mehrfach inszeniert. Ständig gäbe es – so die Regisseurin – bei diesem Komponisten etwas Neues zu entdecken und zu vertiefen.

Ausdrucksstark, tiefgründig, heiter

Auch die drei Sängerinnen der Baden-Badener Produktion sind bereits erfahrene Rosenkavalier-Interpretinnen. Anja Harteros wird von der Presse als die Marschallin mit »Luxus-Timbre« gefeiert. Sie würde – so der Münchner Merkur – in dieser Partie alle anderen derzeitigen Kolleginnen in den Schatten stellen. Der Sängerin, die u. a. im Rosenkavalier der Bayerischen Staatsoper und der Dresdner Semperoper zu erleben war, gelingt es kongenial, die humorvollen wie melancholischen Seiten der Figur zu vereinen: »Sie ist eine heitere Frau, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, auch die ernsten Dinge heiter zu nehmen. Deswegen ist sie nicht unbedingt die Melancholische, auch wenn sie Dinge anspricht, die uns traurig machen«, meinte Anja Harteros in einem Interview. Die Marschallin ist eine Figur, die die Sopranistin in ihrer Emotionalität sehr berührt. Bei der Einstudierung habe sie – so Harteros – lange gebraucht, bis sie die Partie durchsingen konnte, ohne in Tränen auszubrechen.

Ein eingespieltes Paar

Anna Prohaska und Magdalena Kožená standen bereits im Rosenkavalier gemeinsam auf der Bühne – bei der Wiederaufnahme des Werks in der Staatsoper Unter den Linden im Schiller Theater unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle. Anna Prohaska bestach in dieser Inszenierung nicht nur mit ihrer klaren, mühelos in die Höhe schwingenden Sopranstimme, sondern auch mit ihrem schauspielerischen Talent. Ebenso wie die spielfreudige Magdalena Kožená, die einen feurigen, doch gleichzeitig sensiblen Octavian gab. Ihr Rollendebüt als Octavian hat die Mezzosopranistin im Februar 2009 an der Staatsoper unter den Linden in der Inszenierung von Nicolas Brieger unter Leitung von Asher Fish gegeben.