Playing drums, piano, and conducting to records – from early childhood, Sir Simon Rattle was obsessed with music. “I was an absolute musical monomaniac,” he admits. Even as a two-year-old he showed a talent for rhythm, beating in time when his father played Gershwin songs on the piano. Simon Rattle was born to a musical family in Liverpool on 19 January 1955. His father, the manager of an import and export company and later a teacher, also an enthusiastic jazz fan, was an excellent pianist, as was his mother who ran a music shop before her marriage. Both supported their musically gifted son who, in addition to learning percussion, piano and violin, enthusiastically read Hector Berlioz’s Treatise on Instrumentation when he was seven, and had an early interested in the music of the 20th century. At the age of 15, he stood at the conductor's desk of a symphony orchestra for the first time at a charity event he organised, and at the age of 16, he became a student at the Royal Academy of Music.

Shooting star of the music scene

When Simon Rattle made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker on 14 November 1987, he was considered one of the most promising conductors of his generation. He had made a name for himself in particular with his engagements in the UK and the USA and through his work as principal conductor and artistic adviser of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, whose music director he was to become in 1990. He conducted Mahler's Sixth Symphony, a work that the Philharmoniker had played several times under Herbert von Karajan. “Rattle understands Mahler's end time idioms,” it said in the Berlin Tagesspiegel. “His – one might say – 'callous' style [...] evokes a picture of Mahler of radical modernity.” After this successful start, Simon Rattle returned almost every year – often with works by composers the orchestra had rarely played before: Béla Bartók, Karol Szymanowski, Leoš Janáček, Jean Sibelius and contemporary composers. Under his leadership, the Philharmoniker also performed Mahler's Tenth Symphony for the first time in 1996 in the performing version by Deryck Cooke.

Visionary leader

However, Simon Rattle did not impress by his energetic, thrilling and exciting conducting style alone; he also had artistic vision. Both of these aspects together made him a strong candidate for the Berliner Philharmoniker when it came to electing a successor to Claudio Abbado in 1999. For his inaugural concert on 7 September 2002 with Mahler's Fifth Symphony and Thomas Adès' Asyla, the future direction was determined: The founding of the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation and the education programme would not have been realized without the perseverance of the conductor. Added to this was an initiative by the orchestra in 2009, the Digital Concert Hall, which shows live broadcasts of the Philharmoniker's concerts on the internet and which, like the education programme, is supported by Deutsche Bank. Rattle also played a decisive role in the decision to move the Easter Festival from Salzburg to Baden-Baden, and the establishment of the orchestra's own label, Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings. Artistic highlights of the past years not only include the symphonic cycles of Sibelius, Mahler, Brahms and Schumann, but also the performances of Bach's St Matthew and St John Passions staged by Peter Sellars, and the introduction of the Late Night concerts.

Celebrating with Sibelius and Mahler

The Berliner Philharmoniker are celebrating the 60th birthday of Sir Simon Rattle with a complete cycle of the symphonies of Jean Sibelius, first in Berlin, and then in a week-long residence of the orchestra in London. During this tour which will take the Berliner Philharmoniker and its chief conductor to Amsterdam and the new Philharmonie de Paris, they will also perform Mahler's Symphony No. 2 – another favourite work of Rattle who, at the age of twelve, was inspired by a performance of this symphony to become a conductor. Future collaborations between the orchestra and its chief conductor also provide something to look forward to. Exciting projects are planned for the next few years, including a cycle of the complete symphonies of Beethoven next season. Although the conductor announced two years ago that, after 16 years, he would be giving up his Berlin office in 2018, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle are in agreement that their close and friendly association will continue beyond that date. The artistic partnership between the Berliner Philharmoniker and Sir Simon Rattle is far from exhausted.

Trommeln, Klavierspielen, zu Schallplattenaufnahmen dirigieren – von frühester Kindheit an war Sir Simon Rattle von Musik besessen. »Ich war ein absoluter musikalischer Monomane«, gesteht er. Schon als Zweijähriger bewies er rhythmisches Talent, als der Vater auf dem Klavier Gershwin-Songs spielte und er den Takt dazu klopfte. Simon Rattle wurde am 19. Januar 1955 in Liverpool in eine musikalische Familie hineingeboren. Der Vater, Geschäftsführer einer Im- und Exportfirma und später Lehrer, außerdem enthusiastischer Jazzfan, spielte exzellent Klavier, ebenso wie die Mutter, die vor ihrer Heirat ein Musikgeschäft betrieb. Beide unterstützten ihren musikbegabten Sohn, der neben Schlagzeug auch Klavier und Geige lernte, als Siebenjähriger mit großer Begeisterung Hector Berlioz’ Instrumentationslehre las und früh anfing, sich für die Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts zu interessieren. Im Alter von 15 Jahren stand er zum ersten Mal bei einem von ihm organisierten Wohltätigkeitskonzert am Pult eines Symphonieorchesters, 16-jährig wurde er Student der Royal Academy of Music.

Shootingstar der Musikszene

Als Simon Rattle am 14. November 1987 sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern gab, galt er als einer der vielversprechendsten Dirigenten seiner Generation, der sich vor allem durch seine Engagements in England und den USA sowie durch seine Tätigkeit als Erster Dirigent und Künstlerischer Berater des City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, dessen Chef er 1990 werden sollte, einen Namen gemacht hatte. Er dirigierte Mahlers Sechste Symphonie, ein Werk, das die Philharmoniker mehrfach unter Herbert von Karajan gespielt hatten. »Rattle versteht sich auf Mahlers Endzeit-Idiome«, hieß es im Tagesspiegel. »Seine – man möchte sagen – ›kaltschnäuzige‹ Art, [...] evoziert ein Mahler-Bild von radikaler Modernität.« Nach diesem erfolgreichen Einstieg kam Simon Rattle fast jährlich wieder – häufig mit Werken von Komponisten, die vom Orchester bislang selten gespielt wurden: Béla Bartók, Karol Szymanowski, Leoš Janáček oder Jean Sibelius sowie zeitgenössische Komponisten. Unter seiner Leitung führten die Philharmoniker 1996 auch erstmals Mahlers Zehnte Symphonie in der Aufführungsfassung von Deryck Cooke auf.

Visionärer Chef

Simon Rattle überzeugte jedoch nicht nur durch einen energiegeladenen, mitreißenden und begeisternden Dirigierstil, er besaß auch künstlerische Visionen. Beides machte ihn für die Berliner Philharmoniker zu einem überzeugenden Kandidaten, als es 1999 darum ging, einen Nachfolger für Claudio Abbado zu wählen. Bei seinem Antrittskonzert am 7. September 2002 mit Mahlers Fünfter Symphonie und Thomas Adès’ Asyla waren die Weichen für die Zukunft bereits gestellt: Die Gründung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker und das Education-Programm wären ohne die Beharrlichkeit des Dirigenten nicht realisiert worden. Hinzu kam als Initiative aus dem Orchester 2009 die Digital Concert Hall, das Videoportal der Berliner Philharmoniker im Internet, die wie das Education-Programm von der Deutschen Bank unterstützt wird. Auch die Entscheidung, mit den Osterfestspielen von Salzburg nach Baden-Baden umzuziehen, und die Gründung des hauseigenen Labels Berliner Philharmoniker Recordings wurden maßgeblich von ihm mitgetragen. Zu den künstlerischen Höhepunkten der vergangenen Jahre zählen neben den symphonischen Zyklen von Sibelius, Mahler, Brahms und Schumann die von Peter Sellars inszenierten Aufführungen von Bachs Matthäus- und Johannes-Passion sowie die Einführung der Late-Night-Konzerte.

Zum Geburtstag Sibelius und Mahler

Die Berliner Philharmoniker feiern den 60. Geburtstag von Sir Simon Rattle mit einem kompletten Zyklus der Symphonien von Jean Sibelius erst in Berlin und dann im Rahmen einer einwöchigen Residenz des Orchesters in London. Während dieser Reise, die die Berliner Philharmoniker und ihren Chefdirigenten auch nach Amsterdam und nach Paris in die neue Philharmonie führt, wird außerdem Mahlers Symphonie Nr. 2 gespielt – ein weiteres Lieblingswerk Rattles, der als 12-Jähriger durch eine Aufführung der Symphonie inspiriert wurde, den Dirigentenberuf zu ergreifen. Auch die weitere Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Orchester und seinem Chef gibt Anlass zur Vorfreude. Aufregende Projekte stehen in den nächsten Jahren bevor, darunter ein Zyklus sämtlicher Symphonien Beethovens in der kommenden Saison. Auch wenn der Dirigent vor zwei Jahren ankündigte, 2018 nach 16 Jahren sein Berliner Amt aufzugeben, sind sich die Berliner Philharmoniker und Simon Rattle einig, dass die enge und freundschaftliche Zusammenarbeit darüber hinaus fortgesetzt wird. Das künstlerische Miteinander von Berliner Philharmonikern und Sir Simon Rattle ist noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft.

Videos