What teachers and mentors this man had! Zoltán Kodály, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Karlheinz Stockhausen and Pierre Boulez all decisively shaped his musical thinking and his artistic direction. Today, Peter Eötvös, who hails from Transylvania and celebrated his 70th birthday in January, is one of the leading composers of our time. He is also a busy conductor and a long-time associate of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Beginnings with Stockhausen

Their collaboration began relatively unspectacularly. In 1972, as part of the 20th century music concert series, the orchestra performed Karl Heinz Stockhausen's Hymnen, a work for electronic and concrete sounds, under the baton of the composer. Together with the pianist Aloys Kontarsky and percussionist Christoph Caskel, the Berliner Philharmoniker was responsible for the concrete sound, and the electronic sound was provided by Harald Bojé – and Peter Eötvös, then a sound engineer at the electronic studio of WDR in Cologne and a member of the Stockhausen Ensemble. The two operated “two mysterious pieces of apparatus which reproduced sounds, noises and speaking voices,” as one critic wrote.

Conducting debut at the Musik-Biennale

It took another 22 years before Peter Eötvös appeared again with members of the Berliner Philharmoniker: In 1994, the Scharoun Ensemble engaged him as the conductor for a concert with works by György Ligeti, Juan Manuel Chavez, Anton Webern, Ferruccio Busoni and Arnold Schoenberg. Eötvös had by then distinguished himself as the musical director of the Ensemble InterContemporain founded by Pierre Boulez, as a gifted conductor, a successful composer of theatre and film music, and as a university teacher. In 1999, he conducted the Berliner Philharmoniker for the first time, opening the Berliner Musik-Biennale. In addition to Harrison Birtwistle's Earth Dances, the programme included two world premières: Hanspeter Kyburz's Clarinet Concerto à travers and Wolfgang Rihm's Drei späte Gedichte von Heiner Müller. Both public and press alike were impressed by the ease with which he successfully coordinated the mammoth masses of sound. The orchestral musicians, on the other hand, admire his ability to perceive the smallest error in such a formidable musical fray. When asked about this ability in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall he said: “I can hear very precisely!”

An inspired communicator

In the following years, Eötvös returned regularly as a guest of the Berliner Philharmoniker – and guaranteed unusual concert programmes. For example, the concerts in April 2009, where he performed Bach chorales in the orchestration of Arnold Schoenberg, Richard Wagner's Siegfried Idyll and Bernd Alois Zimmermann's Requiem für einen jungen Dichter. The first of his own works to be performed at a Philharmoniker concert was his orchestral work Atlantis in 2003, and three years ago, Peter Eötvös conducted the première of his Cello Concerto Grosso with Miklós Perényi as the soloist. In an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, he confessed that it was particularly difficult to conduct one of his own pieces. “The greatest difficulty is that it does not sound like I thought, and to have to decide very quickly whether it is my compositional error, or whether it is due to the way of playing.” In celebration of his 70th birthday, Peter Eötvös has again been invited by the Berliner Philharmoniker to perform one of his works: his Violin Concerto No.2 DoReMi, with Patricia Kopatchinskaja as the soloist, who also makes her debut with the orchestra with these concerts. Other works to be performed are Wolfgang Rihm's IN-SCHRIFT 2 and Johannes Brahms Piano Quartet no. 1 in the orchestral version by Arnold Schoenberg. Happy Birthday, Peter Eötvös!

Welche Lehrer und Mentoren hat dieser Mann gehabt! Zoltán Kodály, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Karlheinz Stockhausen und Pierre Boulez. Sie alle haben sein musikalisches Denken und seinen künstlerischen Weg entscheidend geprägt. Heute ist Peter Eötvös, der aus Siebenbürgen stammt und im Januar seinen 70. Geburtstag feierte, einer der wichtigsten Komponisten unserer Zeit, dazu ein vielbeschäftigter Dirigent und ein langjähriger Weggefährte der Berliner Philharmoniker.

Auftakt mit Stockhausen

Die Zusammenarbeit begann relativ unspektakulär. 1972 führte das Orchester in der Konzertreihe Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts unter der Leitung von Karlheinz Stockhausen dessen Komposition Hymnen auf, ein Werk für elektronische und konkrete Klänge. Für die konkreten Klänge waren neben dem Pianisten Aloys Kontarsky und dem Schlagzeuger Christoph Caskel die Berliner Philharmoniker zuständig, für den elektronischen Sound sorgten Harald Bojé – und Peter Eötvös, damals Tontechniker am Elektronischen Studio des WDR in Köln und Mitglied des Stockhausen Ensembles. Die beiden bedienten – so die Beschreibung eines Konzertkritikers – »zwei geheimnisvolle Apparaturen, die Klänge, Geräusche und Sprechstimmen reproduzierten«.

Dirigenten-Debüt im Rahmen der Musik-Biennale

Danach sollte es 22 Jahre dauern, bis Peter Eötvös wieder mit Mitgliedern der Berliner Philharmoniker auf der Bühne stand: 1994 holte ihn das Scharoun Ensemble als Dirigenten für ein Konzert mit Werken von György Ligeti, Juan Manuel Chávez, Anton Webern, Ferruccio Busoni und Arnold Schönberg. Mittlerweile hatte sich Eötvös als musikalischer Leiter des von Pierre Boulez gegründeten Ensemble intercontemporain, als begnadeter Dirigent, als erfolgreicher Komponist von Theater- und Filmmusik sowie als Hochschullehrer profiliert. 1999 stand er dann zum ersten Mal am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker und eröffnete mit ihnen die Berliner Musik-Biennale. Zum Programm gehörten neben Harrison Birtwistles Earth Dances zwei Uraufführungen: Hanspeter Kyburzs Klarinettenkonzert à travers und Wolfgang Rihms Drei späte Gedichte von Heiner Müller. Publikum und Presse beeindruckte die Souveränität, mit der Eötvös selbst die gewaltigsten Klangmassen zu organisieren wusste. Die Orchestermusiker hingegen bewundern seine Gabe, im größten musikalischen Getümmel noch die kleinsten Fehler wahrzunehmen. Auf diese Fähigkeit in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall angesprochen meinte er: »Ich höre sehr präzis!«

Genialer Kommunikator

In den folgenden Jahren wurde Eötvös ein regelmäßig wiederkehrender Gast der Berliner Philharmoniker – und ein Garant für ungewöhnliche Konzertprogramme. Man denke nur an die Konzerte im April 2009, in denen er Bach-Choräle in der Orchestrierung Arnold Schönbergs, Richard Wagners Siegfried-Idyll und Bernd Alois Zimmermanns Requiem für einen jungen Dichter aufführte. Eine eigene Komposition, sein Orchesterwerk Atlantis, dirigierte er im Rahmen der philharmonischen Konzerte erstmals 2003. Vor drei Jahren leitete Peter Eötvös die Uraufführung seines Cello Concerto Grosso mit Miklós Perényi als Solisten. Im Interview für die Digital Concert Hall gestand er, dass es besonders schwierig sei, ein eigenes Stück zu dirigieren. »Die Schwierigkeit besteht darin, bei allem das nicht so klingt, wie ich gedacht habe, ganz schnell zu entscheiden, ob es mein kompositorischer Fehler ist, oder ob es an der Art des Spielens liegt.« Anlässlich seine 70. Geburtstags ist Peter Eötvös wieder von den Berliner Philharmoniker eingeladen, ein eigenes Werk aufzuführen: sein Violinkonzert Nr. 2 DoReMi, bei dem Patricia Kopatchinskaja den Solopart interpretiert. Die Geigerin gibt bei dieser Gelegenheit ihr philharmonisches Debüt. Weitere Programmpunkte sind Wolfgang Rihms IN-SCHRIFT 2 und Johannes Brahms Klavierquartett Nr. 1 in der Orchesterfassung von Arnold Schönberg. Happy Birthday, Peter Eötvös!