Nikolaus Harnoncourt, who celebrated his 86th birthday on 6 December 2015, has had several musical careers: For the general public, the most spectacular is that of the Early Music specialist who, with his boundless curiosity, his unconventional ideas and his Ensemble Concentus Musicus, revolutionized the performance practice of Renaissance and Baroque music. Then there was his career as an orchestral musician, when for 17 years, from 1952 to 1969, he was a cellist with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, in addition to his careers as a teacher, author, and finally as a celebrated conductor.

Fruitful collaboration

In this role, he had a 20 year long fruitful collaboration with the Berliner Philharmoniker. In 1991, Nikolaus Harnoncourt made his conducting début with the Berliner Philharmoniker with works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Just two years later, he returned with a programme of Classical and Romantic works consisting of Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 102, Felix Mendelssohn’s Scottish Symphony, plus Franz Schubert’s Overture to the Zauberharfe and four of his songs in an arrangement for orchestra by Johannes Brahms. “Probably the most musically productive, the best, and most inspiring guest conductor to have worked with the orchestra in recent times,” as a review reported at the time.

Lots of Schubert

Over the years, Nikolaus Harnoncourt and the Berliner Philharmoniker have given 90 concerts and 29 programmes in Berlin and at the Easter festival in Salzburg. The repertoire performed ranged from Handel and Bach to Haydn and Beethoven to Bruckner. However, the musical focus was on works by the Romantic composers Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Robert Schumann and especially Franz Schubert, whose works Harnoncourt always enjoyed including in the programme. Who can forget his Beethoven and Brahms cycle, or the concert performance of Joseph Haydn’s Dramma eroicomico Orlando Paladino in 2009? In his most recent concerts with the orchestra in 2011, Nikolaus Harnoncourt conducted Ludwig van Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony and his C major Mass. “Truly a monument of unconventional, ground breaking interpretation,” wrote the critic of the Berliner Morgenpost.

A native of Berlin

Nikolaus Harnoncourt, who was born in Berlin in 1929 and grew up in Graz, turned to conducting because it irritated him as a cellist to perform works in a way he could not relate to. As Harnoncourt reveals in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, his experience as an orchestral musician had a decisive influence on his work as a conductor. For him, it is important to make the musicians understand why he wants to have a work played in one particular way rather than another. “I owe it to them as a conductor.” Music making on an equal footing – this is his ideal. The Berliner Philharmoniker took his style on board, and they were just as impressed by his profound knowledge of the works they worked on together. “Nikolaus Harnoncourt has given us a new perspective on the works of the great masters of the 18th and 19th centuries. He has always made us want to explore the stylistic truths beyond the score itself. We owe him our greatest thanks,” says Peter Riegelbauer, Orchestra Board member of the Berliner Philharmoniker. The orchestra has already shown its particular appreciation for Nikolaus Harnoncourt on two occasions – with the Hans von Bülow Medal, which the Philharmonic Community presented to him in the year 2000, and with the honorary membership awarded to him by the Berliner Philharmoniker during a guest appearance in Vienna at the Musikverein in March 2014.

Nikolaus Harnoncourt, der am 6. Dezember 2016 seinen 86. Geburtstag feierte, vereint mehrere musikalische Karrieren: Für die breite Öffentlichkeit am spektakulärsten erscheint die des Alte-Musik-Spezialisten, der mit seiner unbändigen Neugier, seinen unkonventionellen Ideen und dem von ihm gegründeten Ensemble Concentus Musicus die Aufführungspraxis von Renaissance- und Barockmusik revolutionierte. Dann gab es die Laufbahn des Orchestermusikers, die sein Leben 17 Jahre lang, von 1952 bis 1969 als Cellist der Wiener Symphoniker, bestimmte, außerdem die des Pädagogen, Buchautors und schließlich die des gefeierten Dirigenten.

Fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit

In dieser Funktion verband ihn eine 20-jährige fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Philharmonikern. 1991 debütierte Nikolaus Harnoncourt am Pult des Orchesters mit Werken von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Bereits zwei Jahre später kehrte er mit einem klassisch-romantischen Programm zurück, bei dem neben Joseph Haydns Symphonie Nr. 102 Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdys Schottische sowie Franz Schuberts Ouvertüre zur Zauberharfe und vier seiner Lieder in einer von Johannes Brahms orchestrierten Fassung erklangen. »Musikalisch produktiver, besser, begeisternder dürfte in letzter Zeit kaum ein Gastdirigent mit dem Orchester gearbeitet haben«, hieß es anschließend in einer Kritik.

Und immer wieder Schubert

Im Laufe der Jahre realisierten Nikolaus Harnoncourt und die Berliner Philharmoniker 90 Konzerte bzw. 29 Programme in Berlin und bei den Osterfestspielen in Salzburg. Von Händel und Bach über Haydn und Beethoven bis Bruckner reichte das aufgeführte Repertoire. Den musikalischen Schwerpunkt bildeten allerdings die Werke romantischer Komponisten: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Robert Schumann und vor allem Franz Schubert, dessen Werke er immer wieder gerne auf das Programm setzte. Unvergessen sind sein Beethoven- und Brahms-Zyklus sowie 2009 die konzertante Aufführung von Joseph Haydns Dramma eroicomico Orlando Paladino. Bei seinen letzten Konzerten mit dem Orchester 2011 dirigierte Nikolaus Harnoncourt Ludwig van Beethovens Fünfte Symphonie und dessen C-Dur Messe. »Wahrlich ein Monument der eigenwilligen, wegweisenden Interpretation« schrieb der Kritiker der Berliner Morgenpost.

Ein gebürtiger Berliner

Zum Dirigieren kam Nikolaus Harnoncourt, 1929 in Berlin geboren und in Graz aufgewachsen, weil es ihn als Cellist ärgerte, Interpretationen zu verwirklichen, die er nicht nachvollziehen konnte. Seine Erfahrungen als Orchestermusiker – so Harnoncourt in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall – habe seine Arbeit als Dirigent entscheidend beeinflusst. Ihm sei es wichtig, den Musikern zu vermitteln, warum er eine Komposition so und nicht anders gespielt haben möchte: »Das bin ich ihnen als Dirigent schuldig.« Musizieren auf Augenhöhe – das gilt ihm als Ideal. Seine Art nahm die Berliner Philharmoniker für ihn ein, ebenso beeindruckte seine profunde Kenntnis der gemeinsam erarbeiteten Werke. »Nikolaus Harnoncourt hat uns eine neue Sicht auf die Werke der großen Meister des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts ermöglicht. Er hat uns immer wieder neugierig gemacht auf die stilistischen Wahrheiten jenseits der Partituren. Wir sind ihm zu größtem Dank verpflichtet«, meint Peter Riegelbauer, Orchestervorstand der Berliner Philharmoniker. Seine besondere Wertschätzung für Nikolaus Harnoncourt brachte das Orchester bereits zwei Mal zum Ausdruck – mit der Hans-von-Bülow-Medaille, mit der ihn die Philharmonische Gemeinschaft im Jahr 2000 auszeichnete, und mit der Ehrenmitgliedschaft, die ihm die Berliner Philharmoniker im Rahmen ihres Wien-Gastspiels im März 2014 im Wiener Musikverein verliehen.