She sings at the Metropolitan Opera in New York, at London’s Royal Opera House Covent Garden, at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan, as well as at the state opera houses in Munich and Vienna: The Kansas-born mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato, a graduate of the Academy of Vocal Arts in Philadelphia and Grammy Award winner, has made an international career in recent years starting in San Francisco, Houston and Santa Fe. She is considered an ideal interpreter of operatic roles by Handel, Mozart, Rossini and Strauss. Her great asset: a warm, nuanced and flexible voice which can impressively master virtuoso coloratura equally as well as intimate, lyrical phrases.

A pure soul

As a result, she is an ideal interpreter of Marguerite and her pure, ultimately tragic love for Faust in Hector Berlioz’ La Damnation de Faust, the role with which the singer made her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker at this year’s Easter Festival in Baden-Baden. “With her radiant messa di voce, Joyce DiDonato is an extremely intensive Marguerite,” wrote the Badisches Tagblatt about her performance. Together with their male colleagues tenor Charles Castronovo as Faust and bass Ludovic Tézier as Méphistophélès, the mezzo-soprano can now be heard in the Berlin Philharmonie on 10 and 11 April in Berlioz’ work, a unique and very French adaptation of Goethe’s play, half opera, half choral symphony, which brings out the passionate and emotional aspects of the characters. In the Baden-Baden Live Lounge, the singer spoke enthusiastically about working with the orchestra: “What took my breath away in rehearsals was this incredible pianissimo. When the orchestra suddenly becomes very quiet, it is as if heaven opens.”

Berlin success

Joyce DiDonato, who not only has a beguiling voice but also convincing acting skills and an irresistible charm, is a familiar face to Berlin audiences. In October 2012, she made her debut at the Deutsche Oper Berlin as Rosina in Katharina Thalbach’s production of Rossini’s Il Barbiere di Siviglia. She also shone there in a concert performance of Donizetti’s Maria Stuarda and at the Aids Gala. In Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation concerts, the singer made a guest appearance in June 2013 with a recital in the Chamber Music Hall of the Philharmonie with the theme A Venetian journey. That evening, she proved not only to be a gifted recital singer, but also revealed herself to be a soccer fan: the German national team was fighting to get into the next round of the European Championships at that time, and every time she came on stage, she informed the audience about the current state of play before continuing her performance.

Sie singt an der Metropolitan Opera in New York, am Londoner Royal Opera House Covent Garden, am Teatro alla Scala in Mailand sowie an den Staatsopern in München und Wien: Die aus Kansas stammende Mezzosopranistin Joyce DiDonato, Absolventin der Academy of Vocal Arts in Philadelphia und Grammy-Preisträgerin, hat nach Anfängen in San Francisco, Houston und Santa Fe in den vergangenen Jahren international Karriere gemacht. Sie gilt als ideale Interpretin der Opernpartien von Händel, Mozart, Rossini und Strauss. Ihr großes Kapital: eine warme, nuancenreiche und biegsame Stimme, die virtuose Koloraturen genauso berückend meistert wie innige, lyrische Phrasen.

Eine reine Seele

Ideal also, um die an ihrer reinen Liebe zu Faust scheiternden Marguerite in Hector Berlioz’ La Damnation de Faust zu interpretieren. Bei den diesjährigen Osterfestspielen in Baden-Baden debütierte die Sängerin mit dieser Partie bei den Berliner Philharmoniker. »Joyce DiDonato ist mit strahlenden Schwelltönen eine äußerst intensive Margeruite«, hieß es anschließend im Badischen Tagblatt. Gemeinsam mit ihren männlichen Sängerkollegen, dem Tenor Charles Castronovo als Faust und dem Bass Ludovic Tézier als Méphistophélès, ist die Mezzosopranistin am 10. und 11. April nun in der Berliner Philharmonie mit Berlioz’ Werk zu erleben, das eine ganz eigene und sehr französische Adaption von Goethes Schauspiel ist, halb Oper, halb Chorsymphonie, stets die leidenschaftlichen, emotionalen Aspekte der Figuren betonend. Über die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Orchester schwärmte die Künstlerin in der Baden-Badener Live-Lounge: »Das was mir bei den Proben den Atem raubte, war dieses unglaubliche Pianissimo. Wenn das Orchester plötzlich ganz leise wird, ist es so, als ob sich der Himmel öffnet.«

Erfolge in Berlin

Den Berlinern ist Joyce DiDonato, die nicht nur über eine betörende Stimme, sondern auch über ein mitreißendes komödiantisches Talent und unwiderstehlichen Charme verfügt, längst keine Unbekannte mehr. Im Oktober 2012 debütierte sie an der Deutschen Oper Berlin als Rosina in Katharina Thalbachs Inszenierung von Rossinis Il barbiere di Seviglia. Außerdem glänzte sie dort in einer konzertanten Aufführung von Donizettis Maria Stuarda und bei der Aids-Gala. Im Rahmen der Konzerte der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker gastierte die Sängerin im Juni 2013 mit einem Liederabend im Kammermusiksaal in der Philharmonie. Venezianische Reise lautete das Motto dieses Konzerts. An diesem Abend erwies sie sich nicht nur als begnadete Liedinterpretin, sondern outete sich auch als Fußballfan. Denn zeitgleich kämpfte die deutsche Nationalmannschaft bei der Europameisterschaft um das Weiterkommen. Jedes Mal wenn sie auf die Bühne kam, informierte sie das Publikum über den aktuellen Spielstand, ehe sie mit ihrem Vortrag begann.