Jean Sibelius, who was born 150 years ago on 8 December, is regarded as Finland’s great composer. His tone poems inspired by the national epic Kalevala lead us to see the Finn’s music as the sonic equivalent of the vast landscapes and poetic sagas of the North. But Sibelius saw his role as composer as a more universal one. In an age in which the musical world was divided between followers of absolute music who competed for the further development of the symphony and advocates of programmatic music, Sibelius was one of the few composers of rank who was involved in both genres. “Since Beethoven’s time all so-called symphonies, with the exception of those by Brahms, have been symphonic poems,” Sibelius wrote. “That’s not my ideal for a symphony. My symphonies are music – conceived and worked as an expression of music without any literary basis. I am not a literary musician: For me, music begins where words end... When I write symphonic poems, the relationship is different of course.”

In Berlin as a student...

The cycle of complete symphonies which the Berliner Philharmoniker will perform under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle to celebrate this special anniversary of the composer, brings the symphonic works of the Finn into focus and shows how much Sibelius incorporated the musical trends of his time into his own style. His time as a student in Berlin from September 1889 to June 1890, for example, had a great influence on him. The then 24-year-old was going through a period of doubt and depression and was relatively unmotivated to create something of his own. However, he was interested in the cultural life of Berlin, of which the concerts of the Philharmonisches Orchester were an important part. In particular, the performance of Don Juan by Richard Strauss under Hans von Bülow made a big impression on him. “The greatest significance of my stay in Berlin was that I could hear so much, both orchestral and chamber music.”

... and as a conductor

Twelve years later, in November 1902, the Berliner Philharmoniker performed one of his works for the first time, the tone poem En Saga, which Sibelius himself conducted. This was followed in 1904 by Finlandia, and a performance of the Second Symphony in 1905. “The symphony is a work whose acquaintance was worth making,” as it was said in a discussion of the concert. According to the critic, the treatment of the orchestra in particular showed that "it is still possible to achieve a multitude of completely fresh, new sound effects with the classical symphony orchestra.” However, Sibelius’ works were not included in the programmes of the renowned philharmonic subscription concerts, but in the much less frequented “Novelties concerts”, under the artistic direction of Ferruccio Busoni, a friend of the composer. Not until 1911 did Arthur Nikisch, the then chief conductor of the orchestra, conduct the tone poem Finlandia as part of the main philharmonic concerts. From the 1920s and 30s, Sibelius’ compositions were often included in the Philharmoniker’s concerts, conducted by, among others, Wilhelm Furtwängler, Thomas Beecham and Eugen Jochum. In March 1941, Clemens Krauss conducted a concert celebrating the composer’s 75th birthday.

Esteemed symphonies and a popular Violin Concerto

After the Second World War, it was mainly Sergiu Celibidache and later Herbert von Karajan who repeatedly performed the works of Finnish composer with the Berliner Philharmoniker. Today, the Berliner Philharmoniker have Sir Simon Rattle, a chief conductor who is particularly fond of Sibelius’s oeuvre, and he has already included a complete cycle of the symphonies in the 2010/2011 season. The Sibelius work which the Berliner Philharmoniker has performed the most often is the Violin Concerto. In October 1905, Richard Strauss conducted the première of the new version. The soloist was Carl Halir, the then concertmaster of the Königliche Hofkapelle. “A captivating work, written with imagination and colourfully drawn,” was the verdict of the critic of the Musikalisches Wochenblatt. Many violinists have shone since then with sparkling performances of the concerto with the Philharmoniker, ranging from Franz von Vecsey, the student of Joseph Joachim and dedicatee of the work, to Pinchas Zukerman, Itzhak Perlman, Gidon Kremer and, more recently, Leonidas Kavakos and Nikolaj Znaider.

Jean Sibelius, dessen Geburtstag sich am 8. Dezember 2015 zum 150. Mal jährt, gilt als der große Komponist Finnlands. Seine durch den National-Epos Kalevala inspirierten Tondichtungen verführen dazu, Musik des Finnen als klangliches Äquivalent zu den weiten Landschaften und poetischen Sagenwelten des Nordens zu sehen. Doch Sibelius verstand seine Aufgabe als Komponist universeller. In einer Zeit, in der sich die musikalische Welt in Anhänger der absoluten Musik, die um die Weiterentwicklung der Symphonie rangen, und Verfechter der programmatischen Musik spaltete, gehörte Sibelius zu den wenigen Komponisten von Rang, die sich auf beide Genres einließen. »Seit Beethovens Zeit sind alle die sogenannten Symphonien, mit Ausnahme von Brahms, symphonische Gedichte gewesen«, schrieb Sibelius. »Das ist nicht mein Ideal einer Symphonie. Meine Symphonien sind Musik – erdacht und ausgearbeitet als Ausdruck der Musik, ohne irgendwelche literarische Grundlage. Ich bin kein literarischer Musiker, für mich beginnt Musik da, wo das Wort aufhört... Wenn ich Symphonische Dichtungen schreibe, ist das Verhältnis natürlich ein anderes.«

In Berlin als Student...

Der Zyklus mit seinen sämtlichen Symphonien, den die Berliner Philharmoniker unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle anlässlich des runden Geburtstags des Komponisten aufführten und der nun auf CD und Blu-ray veröffentlicht ist, rückt das symphonische Schaffen des Meisters in den Fokus und zeigt, wie sehr sich Sibelius mit den musikalischen Entwicklungen seiner Zeit auseinandersetzte und diese in seinen persönlichen Stil integrierte. Wichtige Eindrücke empfing er beispielsweise während seines Berliner Studienaufenthalts von September 1889 bis Juni 1890. Der damals 24-Jährige durchlebte eine Zeit des Zweifelns und der Depression, relativ unmotiviert, etwas Eigenes zu schaffen, trotzdem interessierte ihn das Berliner Kulturleben, von dem die Konzerte des Philharmonischen Orchesters ein wichtiger Teil waren. Besonders die Aufführung des Don Juan von Richard Strauss unter Hans von Bülow beeindruckte ihn sehr. »Die größte Bedeutung meines Berliner Aufenthalts lag darin, dass ich so viel hören konnte, sowohl Orchester- als auch Kammermusik.«

... und als Dirigent

Zwölf Jahre später, im November 1902, spielten die Berliner Philharmoniker zum ersten Mal ein Werk des Finnen: die Tondichtung En saga, die Sibelius selbst dirigierte. Es folgten 1904 Finlandia und 1905 die Aufführung der Zweiten Symphonie. »Die Symphonie ist ein Werk, dessen Bekanntschaft zu machen sich lohnte«, heißt es in einer Konzertbesprechung. Vor allem die Orchesterbehandlung zeige, so der Kritiker, »dass es mit dem klassischen Symphonieorchester noch immer möglich ist, eine Menge durchaus unverbrauchter, neuartiger Klangwirkungen zu erzielen.« Allerdings finden sich Sibelius Werke nicht in den Programmen der renommierten philharmonischen Abonnementkonzerte, sondern in den weit weniger frequentierten »Novitäten-Konzerten«, die der Komponist Ferruccio Busoni, ein Freund Sibelius’, künstlerisch betreute. Erst 1911 dirigierte Arthur Nikisch, der damalige Chefdirigent des Orchesters, im Rahmen der großen philharmonischen Konzerte die Tondichtung Finlandia. Ab den 1920er- und 30er-Jahren stehen Sibelius’ Kompositionen öfter auf den Programmen der Philharmoniker, u.a. unter der Leitung von Wilhelm Furtwängler, Thomas Beecham und Eugen Jochum. Im März 1941 dirigiert Clemens Krauss ein Festkonzert zum 75. Geburtstag des Komponisten.

Geschätzte Symphonien, beliebtes Violinkonzert

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg waren es vor allem Sergiu Celibidache und später dann Herbert von Karajan, die bei den Berliner Philharmonikern immer wieder Werke des Komponisten interpretierten. Heute haben die Berliner Philharmoniker mit Sir Simon Rattle einen Chefdirigenten, dem Sibelius’ Œuvre besonders am Herzen liegt. Bereits in der Saison 2010/2011 gab es einen Zyklus seiner Symphonien. Das Werk von Sibelius, das die Berliner Philharmoniker jedoch am häufigsten aufgeführt haben, ist das Violinkonzert: Im Oktober 1905 leitete Richard Strauss die Uraufführung der Neufassung. Der Solist war Carl Halir, damaliger Konzertmeister der Königlichen Hofkapelle. »Ein mit Fantasie geschriebenes, in Farbe und Zeichnung gleich fesselndes Werk«, urteilte der Kritiker des Musikalischen Wochenblatts. Viele Geiger haben seither mit dem Konzert bei den Philharmonikern brilliert, angefangen von Franz von Vecsey, dem Schüler Joseph Joachims und Widmungsträger des Werks, bis hin zu Pinchas Zukerman, Itzhak Perlman, Gidon Kremer und – in jüngerer Zeit – Leonidas Kavakos und Nikolaj Znaider.

Videos