Following concerts in Berlin, Halle, Warsaw, Budapest and Prague where the Berliner Philharmoniker performed Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, November and December again see a number of esteemed guest conductors at the rostrum of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

The man from New York

Since Alan Gilbert stepped in at short notice for an indisposed Bernard Haitink in February 2006, the native New Yorker has been one of the orchestra’s regular guests. As he revealed in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, the biggest challenge for him as a conductor is to create a balance between the overall architecture and the details of a composition. Only then is it possible to really make the music flow. In the concert programmes which he has already conducted with the Philharmoniker, works by Czech composers have played an important role: Antonín Dvořák’s Cello Concerto and his symphonic poem The Noon Witch, Bohuslav Martinů’s Fourth Symphony and Leoš Janáček’s Violin Concerto Putování dušičky (The Wandering of a Little Soul). Also in his most recent concerts in late January and early February 2014, Dvořák’s Cello Concerto with Daniel Müller-Schott as the soloist was again performed, together with Magnus Lindberg’s monumental orchestral work Kraft. This time, he turns to other symphonic regions, conducting Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy’s Scottish and Carl Nielsen’s Third Symphony.

Karajan’s discovery

A work by Mendelssohn, the Ruy Blas Overture is included in the concert programme of Riccardo Chailly in addition to Sergei Rachmaninov’s Third Symphony and Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto with Martha Argerich as the soloist. Although Italian by birth, Chailly is considered a specialist in the German Romantic repertoire. At his last appearance in January 2013, he performed Bruckner’s Sixth and Mendelssohn’s Italian. In an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, he says: “It is an experience playing music with the Philharmoniker! The lightness and transparency of Mendelssohn’s music which we worked on is very difficult to achieve.” Riccardo Chailly’s debut with the orchestra in January 1980 was thanks to Herbert von Karajan. He wanted to give the young, talented conductor a chance. This debut also brought the Italian his first post as chief conductor – of the Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (now the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin). He held this position from 1981 to 1989, and during this period he frequently appeared as a guest at Philharmoniker concerts, usually as an interpreter of the German and Russian repertoire. Then his guest appearances became more sparse, his duties as chief conductor of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and later as Gewandhaus Kapellmeister taking up too much of his time. In 2011, Riccardo Chailly returned to conduct the Philharmoniker at the Waldbühne concert after a ten-year break. His impression on his comeback? “The orchestra has become more flexible over the years, but the sound of Karajan is still there.”

Mount Everest conqueror

Like Alan Gilbert, Kirill Petrenko made his Philharmoniker debut in February 2006. However, the young Russian was well known to Berlin audiences at this time – as general music director of the Komische Oper. In the 2002/2003 season, he took up the position and since then it has been said about him: There at the desk stands a conductor who is more interested in the music than in showmanship. Modestly, but tenaciously and tirelessly, Petrenko has led his orchestra to the highest musical heights. The Komische Oper became his springboard to the world: Petrenko now conducts at the Vienna State Opera, the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, the Metropolitan Opera and the Bavarian State Opera, whose general music director he has been since the 2013/2014 season. A native of Omsk, the artist, who studied in both his home town and in Vienna, initially learned his craft in smaller houses: at the Vorarlberger Landestheater, the Vienna Volksoper and the Meininger Theater, where he produced a much-admired Ring des Nibelungen together with Christine Mielitz. In orchestral concerts, Petrenko, who still feels very much at home in Berlin, like to present himself as an interpreter of Russian masters. Not so in this season, when Philharmoniker audiences will hear him for the first time in a work by Gustav Mahler, the Sixth Symphony. Standing in front of the Berlin Philharmoniker is both a pleasure and a challenge for him: “It’s a big thing for me to work with this orchestra – almost like climbing Mount Everest without equipment.”

Conductor of the Russian school

Tugan Sokhiev’s most recent concert with the Berliner Philharmoniker was only a few months ago: In June 2014, he conducted Henri Vieuxtemps’ Violin Concerto with Hilary Hahn as the soloist and Peter Tchaikovsky’s Manfred Symphony. “Sokhiev once again showed himself to be a powerful organiser who flourishes the more complex the score is,” it said in the review of the Berliner Zeitung. The 37-year-old conductor is one of the shooting stars of his generation. At the moment he is chief conductor of three renowned orchestras: the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse and the Orchestra of the Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow. In the three concerts which he has given since his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in January 2010, a delightful mix of French and Russian music has always been on the programme. This time he has chosen an all-Russian evening with Anatoly Lyadov’s The Enchanted Lake, Sergei Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto (soloist: Vadim Gluzman) and Dmitri Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony. Born in north Ossetian, not only his repertoire but also his conducting style is rooted in the Russian tradition. Tugan Sokhiev was a student of the legendary Ilya Musin: “That was the greatest good fortune that has ever happened to me. Musin was already in his early 90s, but he was tremendous. Everything has changed since I was with him and I would not be here at all today if I had not studied with him.”

Nach den Konzerten in Berlin, Halle, Warschau, Budapest und Prag, bei denen die Berliner Philharmoniker anlässlich des 25. Jahrestags des Mauerfalls Beethovens Neunte Symphonie unter Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle aufgeführt haben, stehen im November und Dezember wieder eine Reihe geschätzter Gastdirigenten am Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker.

Der Mann aus New York

Seit Alan Gilbert im Februar 2006 kurzfristig für den erkrankten Bernard Haitink eingesprungen ist, zählt der gebürtige New Yorker zu den regelmäßigen Gästen des Orchesters. Wie er in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall verriet, liegt für ihn als Dirigent die größte Herausforderung darin, eine ausgewogene Balance zwischen der Gesamtarchitektur und den Details einer Komposition zu schaffen. Nur dann gelänge es, die Musik wirklich zum Fließen zu bringen. In den Konzertprogrammen, die er bislang bei den Philharmonikern dirigierte, nahmen die Werke tschechischer Komponisten einen großen Raum ein: Antonín Dvořáks Symphonische Dichtung Die Mittagshexe und sein Cellokonzert, Bohuslav Martinůs Vierte Symphonie oder Leoš Janáčeks Violinkonzert Putování dušičky (Wanderung einer kleinen Seele). Auch bei seinen letzten Konzerten Ende Januar Anfang Februar 2014 erklangt neben Magnus Lindbergs monumentalen Orchesterstück Kraft wieder Dvořáks Cellokonzert mit Daniel Müller-Schott als Solisten. Dieses Mal wendet er sich anderen symphonischen Regionen zu und dirigiert Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdys »Schottische« und Carl Nielsens Dritte Symphonie.

Karajans Entdeckung

Ein Werk Mendelssohns, die Ruy-Blas-Ouvertüre, steht auch auf dem Programm der Konzerte von Riccardo Chailly. Außerdem Sergej Rachmaninows Dritte Symphonie und Robert Schumanns Klavierkonzert mit Martha Argerich als Solistin. Obwohl von Geburt Italiener gilt Chailly als Spezialist für das deutsche romantische Repertoire. Bei seinem letzten Auftritt im Januar 2013 interpretierte er Bruckners Sechste und Mendelssohns Italienische. In einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall schwärmt er: »Es ist ein Erlebnis mit den Philharmonikern zu musizieren! Die Leichtigkeit und Durchsichtigkeit der Menselssohnschen Musik, die wir uns erarbeitet haben, ist sehr schwer zu erreichen.« Sein philharmonisches Debüt im Januar 1980 verdankt Riccardo Chailly Herbert von Karajan. Der wollte dem jungen, begabten Dirigenten eine Chance geben. Dieses Debüt bescherte dem Italiener auch gleich seinen ersten Posten als Chefdirigent – beim Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (heute: Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin). Von 1981 bis 1989 übte er dieses Amt aus, gleichzeitig trat er häufig als Gast in den philharmonischen Konzerten auf, meist als Interpret des deutschen und russischen Repertoires. Dann wurden seine Gastdirigate spärlicher, seine Aufgaben als Chef des Amsterdamer Concertgebouworkest und später als Gewandhauskapellmeister nahmen ihn zu sehr in Anspruch. 2011 kehrte Riccardo Chailly nach zehnjähriger Pause zum Waldbühnenkonzert ans Pult der Philharmoniker zurück. Sein Eindruck bei seinem Comeback? »In all den Jahren ist das Orchester flexibler geworden, der Klang Karajans ist aber immer noch präsent.«

Mount-Everest-Bezwinger

Kirill Petrenko gab wie Alan Gilbert im Februar 2006 sein philharmonisches Debüt. Dem Berliner Publikum war der junge Russe allerdings zu diesem Zeitpunkt bestens bekannt – als Generalmusikdirektor der Komischen Oper. In der Spielzeit 2002/2003 hatte er dieses Amt angetreten und seither hieß es: Da steht ein Dirigent am Pult, dem es nicht um eitle Selbstdarstellung geht, sondern um die Musik. Bescheiden, aber zäh und unermüdlich hat Petrenko sein Orchester auf musikalisch höchste Höhen geführt. Die Komische Oper wurde sein Sprungbrett in die Welt, denn mittlerweile dirigiert Petrenko an der Wiener Staatsoper, dem Royal Opera House Covent Garden, der Metropolitan Opera und der Bayerischen Staatsoper, deren Generalmusikdirektor er seit der Spielzeit 2013/2014 ist. Der aus Omsk stammende Künstler, der in seiner Heimatstadt und in Wien studierte, hat sein Handwerk zunächst an kleineren Häusern gelernt: am Landestheater Vorarlberg, an der Wiener Volksoper und am Meininger Theater, wo er zusammen mit Christine Mielitz einen vielbeachteten Ring des Nibelungen herausbrachte. In den philharmonischen Konzerten präsentiert sich Petrenko, der sich Berlin noch immer heimatlich verbunden fühlt, gerne als Interpret russischer Meister. Nicht so in dieser Saison, in der ihn das philharmonische Publikum erstmals mit einem Werk Gustav Mahlers, der Sechsten Symphonie, erleben kann. Vor den Berliner Philharmonikern zu stehen, bedeutet ihm Herausforderung und Glück zugleich: »Es ist eine große Sache für mich, mit diesem Orchester zu arbeiten – etwa so, als ob ich den Mount Everest ohne Ausrüstung besteigen würde.«

Dirigent russischer Schule

Nur wenige Monate liegt Tugan Sokhievs letztes Konzert mit den Berliner Philharmonikern zurück: In Juni 2014 dirigierte er neben Henri Vieuxtemps’ Violinkonzert mit Hilary Hahn als Solistin auch Peter Tschaikowskys Manfred-Symphonie. »Sokhiev erwies sich einmal mehr als kraftvoller Organisator, der zu Hochform aufläuft, je komplexer die Partitur ist«, hieß es in der Kritik der Berliner Zeitung. Der 37-jährige Dirigent zählt zu den Shooting-Stars seiner Generation. Im Moment ist er Chef dreier renommierter Klangkörper: des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin, des Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse und des Orchesters des Moskauer Bolschoi-Theaters. In den drei Konzerten, die er seit seinem Debüt im Janaur 2010 bei den Berliner Philharmonikern gegeben hat, stand stets eine reizvolle Mischung von französischer und russischer Musik auf dem Programm. Dieses Mal leitet er mit Anatoli Ljadows Der verzauberte See, Sergej Prokofjews Violinkonzert (Solist: Vadim Gluzman) und Dmitri Schostakowitschs Fünfter Symphonie einen rein russischen Abend. Nicht nur im Repertoire, sondern auch in seinem Dirigierstil wurzelt der gebürtige Nordossete in der russischen Tradition. Tugan Sokhiev ist ein Schüler des legendären Ilya Musin: »Das war das größte Glück, das mir bisher widerfahren ist. Musin war schon Anfang 90, aber er war großartig. Alles hat sich verändert, seit ich bei ihm war und wir würden heute garantiert nicht hierstehen, wenn ich nicht bei ihm studiert hätte.«