Carnegie Hall in New York is one of the most famous and glamorous concert halls in the world. Funded by the American industrialist Andrew Carnegie and built by architect William Burnet Tuthill, it has served as a stage for outstanding concert events since it opened in 1891. Anyone who performs there is among the elite of the music world. The Berliner Philharmoniker is one of the regular guests of the house – and has been for 60 years. It made its debut there on 1 March 1955 during their first American tour, which Columbia Artists Management had planned together with Wilhelm Furtwängler. A German orchestra under a German conductor with works of German Classicism and Romanticism – that was the idea of the organisers. However, the Philharmoniker’s chief conductor had died in November 1954, and the “orphaned” orchestra had to quickly take on a new conductor: Herbert von Karajan.

Herbert von Karajan’s big chance

The then 46-year-old Karajan, who had long been working on succeeding Furtwängler, saw his hour had come. On this tour, he could prove just how well he and the orchestra harmonized. With Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 104, the Prelude and Liebestod from Richard Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde, and Ludwig van Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony, he would woo the New York audience. The German guests, however, were not welcomed by all Americans. Ten years after the end of the Second World War, the horrors of the Nazi regime were still fresh in people’s minds and the appearance of the former Nazi party member Karajan was felt by many as an affront. Outside Carnegie Hall, the protesters demonstrated, while inside, the Berliner Philharmoniker and their new chief conductor were winning over the audience, earning thunderous applause. “A superior concert!” cheered the critic of the New York Journal-American. Karajan was an “outstanding conductor”. The guest appearance was very positively received by the press, who admired the homogeneous string sound and the wonderful phrasing of the Philharmoniker, yet they often pointed out that the sound was not as full or brilliant as American orchestras. Just one year later, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Karajan returned to Carnegie Hall.

A Beethoven cycle and a death threat

Further guest appearances followed in 1961 and 1976. In between, there was a guest performance in 1965 when Karajan and the Berliner Philharmoniker became the first foreign orchestra to perform a Beethoven cycle. However, the public still had reservations about the conductor: Before the first concert, Karajan received a death threat and the evening took place under police protection. While the audience celebrated the orchestra from the start, the critics reacted with a certain coolness after the first concert. Karajan's Beethoven interpretation was “aseptic”, “expressionless”, “disappointing”. But that opinion changed during the cycle. After the performance of the Ninth Symphony, the Journal American wrote, “Nothing like that has been heard here since Toscanini.” The conductor and orchestra guaranteed a full house. The 1982/1983 season marked the 150th anniversary of the birth of Johannes Brahms and to celebrate this event, the orchestra presented a Brahms cycle in the October of 1982. One reviewer remarked that it would probably be the last occasion to experience the Philharmoniker with the then 74-year-old maestro in New York. Prophetic words indeed.

A spirit of a new beginning

The next Carnegie guest performance by the orchestra in 1991 for the 100th anniversary of the concert hall took place without Karajan who had died in 1989. However, the Philharmoniker did not travel with its new boss, Claudio Abbado, but with Bernard Haitink. The New Yorkers had the opportunity to hear Abbado and the Berliner Philharmoniker two years later – in an all-Mahler programme. Expectations were as high as the black market prices for tickets. The first two concerts did not convince audiences, but the orchestra was greeted with the usual enthusiasm again after a performance of Mahler’s Ninth on the third evening. The critics reacted cautiously, while noticing the artistic spirit of a new beginning and found that the sound of the orchestra possessed more warmth than under Karajan. The new principal wind players received a special mention in the press: principal flautist Emmanuel Pahud, principal horn Stefan Dohr, principal clarinettist Wenzel Fuchs and principal oboist Albrecht Mayer had all recently joined the orchestra and impressed the critics with their youthful music-making. After this debut, further performances with Claudio Abbado at Carnegie Hall followed in 1996, 1998 and 2001, with Mahler, Brahms and Beethoven forming the core of the repertoire.

New programming

With Sir Simon Rattle, the programming of the guest performances changed. In addition to Joseph Haydn’s Symphonies Nos. 86 and 88, Claude Debussy’s La Mer and Franz Schubert’s “Great” C major Symphony, the new artistic director conducted György Ligeti’s Violin Concerto, Henri Dutilleux’ Correspondences and Heiner Goebbels’ Aus einem Tagebuch for his first New York appearance with the Philharmoniker in November 2003. Since then, works by contemporary composers have been included in the orchestra’s touring repertoire. The Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation and the Carnegie Hall Corporation began to commission works together, such as Thomas Adès’ work Tevót which the orchestra presented to New York audiences at the Festival Berlin in Lights in 2007. During this festival, which also involved the education programme’s Rites of Spring project, the Philharmoniker was appointed a UNICEF ambassador. In October 2014, Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker's Carnegie Hall residency included their Schumann cycle; furthermore, there was again a composition the Philharmoniker had commissioned together with Carnegie Hall: darkdreams by Georg Friedrich Haas. This season, the orchestra and its chief conductor return to New York to play a cycle once more: 50 years after Karajan's spectacular Beethoven cycle, Simon Rattle now presents his reading of the nine symphonies by the master of the First Viennese School.

Die New Yorker Carnegie Hall ist eines der berühmtesten und glamourösesten Konzerthäuser der Welt. Finanziert von dem amerikanischen Industriellen Andrew Carnegie und erbaut von dem Architekten William Burnet Tuthill dient sie seit ihrer Eröffnung 1891 als Podium für herausragende Konzertereignisse. Wer dort auftritt, gehört zur musikalischen Weltelite. Auch die Berliner Philharmoniker zählen zu den regelmäßigen Gästen des Hauses – seit 60 Jahren. Ihr Debüt gaben sie dort am 1. März 1955 im Rahmen ihrer ersten Amerika-Tournee, die das Columbia Artists Management noch gemeinsam mit Wilhelm Furtwängler geplant hatte. Ein deutsches Orchester unter einem deutschen Dirigenten mit Werken der deutschen Klassik und Romantik – das war die Idee der Veranstalter. Der Chefdirigent der Philharmoniker war jedoch im November 1954 gestorben und das verwaiste Orchester hatte schnell einen neuen Dirigenten verpflichten müssen: Herbert von Karajan.

Herbert von Karajans große Chance

Der damals 46-jährige Karajan, der lange darauf hingearbeitet hatte, Furtwänglers Nachfolge anzutreten, sah seine Stunde gekommen. Auf dieser Tournee konnte er beweisen, wie gut er und das Orchester harmonierten. Joseph Haydns  Symphonie Nr. 104, Vorspiel und Liebestod aus Richard Wagners Tristan und Isolde sowie Ludwig van Beethovens Fünfte Symphonie – mit diesen Werken sollte das New Yorker Publikum erobert werden. Die deutschen Gäste waren allerdings nicht bei allen Amerikanern willkommen. Zehn Jahre nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs waren die Schrecken des Nazi-Regimes noch zu präsent, und den Auftritt des ehemaligen NSDAP-Mitglieds Karajan empfanden viele als Affront. Während vor der Carnegie Hall Demonstranten ihren Protest zum Ausdruck brachten, überzeugten die Berliner Philharmoniker unter ihrem neuen Chef im Saal das Publikum. Es gab tosenden Beifall. »A Superior Concert!«, jubelte der Kritiker des New York Journal-American. Karajan sei ein »outstanding conductor«. Die Presse urteilte durchwegs positiv über das Gastspiel, bewunderte den homogenen Streicherklang und die wunderbare Phrasierung der Philharmoniker, gleichwohl wurde immer wieder gerne hervorgehoben, dass der Klang nicht so voll und brillant sei wie bei den amerikanischen Orchestern. Bereits ein Jahr später konzertierten die Berliner Philharmoniker und Karajan wieder in der Carnegie Hall.

Beethoven-Zyklus mit Morddrohung

1961 und 1976 folgten weitere Gastauftritte. Dazwischen lag 1965 ein Gastspiel, bei dem Karajan und die Philharmoniker als erstes ausländisches Orchester einen Beethoven-Zyklus aufführten. Noch waren die Vorbehalte gegen den Dirigenten in der Bevölkerung nicht ganz verschwunden. Vor dem ersten Konzert bekam Karajan eine Morddrohung und der Abend fand unter Polizeischutz statt. Während das Publikum das Orchester von Anfang an feierte, regierten die Kritiker nach dem ersten Konzert eher kühl. Karajans Beethoven-Interpretation sei »aseptisch«, «ausdruckslos«, «enttäuschend«. Doch diese Meinung änderte sich im Verlauf des Zyklus. Nach der Aufführung der Neunten Symphonie hieß es im Journal American: »Seit Toscanini ist nichts ähnliches wie das hier zu hören gewesen.« Dirigent und Orchester waren ein Garant für ein ausverkauftes Haus. Die Konzertsaison1982/1983 stand ganz im Zeichen des 150. Geburtstags von Johannes Brahms, und das Orchester präsentierte sich aus diesem Anlass im Oktober 1982 mit einem Brahms-Zyklus. Ein Rezensent bemerkte, es wäre wohl das letzte Mal, dass man die Philharmoniker mit dem damals 74-jährigen Maestro in New York erleben könnte. Welch prophetische Worte!

In Aufbruchstimmung

Das nächste Carnegie-Gastspiel des Orchesters 1991 zum 100. Geburtstag des Konzerthauses fand ohne Karajan statt, der 1989 gestorben war. Die Philharmoniker reisten jedoch nicht mit ihrem neuen Chef Claudio Abbado an, sondern mit Bernard Haitink. Die New Yorker konnten Abbado und die Philharmoniker erst zwei Jahre später erleben – mit einem reinen Mahler-Programm. Die Erwartungen waren hoch, so hoch wie die Schwarzmarktpreise für die Karten. Doch die ersten beiden Konzerte überzeugten noch nicht, erst nach der Aufführung von Mahlers Neunter am dritten Abend stellte sich die gewohnte Begeisterung wieder ein. Die Kritik reagierte zurückhaltend, bemerkte aber die künstlerische Aufbruchstimmung und konstatierte, der Klang des Orchesters besitze mehr Wärme als unter Karajan. Besondere Erwähnung in der Presse fanden die neuen Solo-Bläser: Flötist Emmanuel Pahud, Hornist Stefan Dohr und Klarinettist Wenzel Fuchs waren ebenso wie Oboist Albrecht Mayer neu ins Orchester gekommen und bestachen durch ihre jugendliche Musizierweise. Nach diesem Einstand folgten 1996, 1998 und 2001 weitere Auftritte mit Claudio Abbado in der Carnegie Hall. Mahler, Brahms und Beethoven bildeten die Säulen der Programme.

Neue Programmatik

Mit Sir Simon Rattle änderte sich die Programmatik der Gastspiele. Bei seinem ersten New Yorker Auftritt mit den Philharmonikern im November 2003 dirigierte der neue künstlerische Leiter neben Joseph Haydns Symphonien Nr. 86 und 88, Claude Debussys La Mer und Franz Schuberts »Großer« C-Dur-Symphonie György Ligetis Violinkonzert, Henri Dutilleux’ Correspondances und Heiner Goebbels Aus einem Tagebuch. Werke zeitgenössischer Komponisten gehören seither in das musikalische Reisegepäck. Die Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker und die Carnegie Hall Corporation begannen, gemeinsam Kompositionsaufträge zu vergeben: beispielsweise Thomas Adès’ Werk Tevót, das das Orchester 2007 beim Festival Berlin in Lights dem New Yorker Publikum vorstellte. Im Rahmen dieses Festivals, an dem sich auch das Education-Programm mit dem The Rites of Spring-Projekt beteiligte, wurde die Philharmonikern zum UNICEF-Botschafter ernannt. Im Oktober 2014 präsentierten Sir Simon Rattle und die Berliner Philharmoniker im Rahmen einer Carnegie-Hall-Residency u. a. ihren Schumann-Zyklus; darüber hinaus gab es wieder eine Komposition, die die Philharmoniker zusammen mit der Carnegie Hall in Auftrag gegeben haben: dark dreams von Georg Friedrich Haas. In dieser Saison kehren das Orchester und sein Chef nach New York zurück, um abermals einen Zyklus zu spielen: 50 Jahre nach Karajans spektakulären Beethoven-Zyklus gibt Simon Rattle seine Lesart der neun Symphonien des Wiener Klassikers.