In December 1976, the Swedish-American conductor Herbert Blomstedt made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker – together with the then 20-year-old pianist Krystian Zimerman. Press attention focused primarily on the newly crowned winner of the Chopin Competition, however Blomstedt's qualities as a conductor did not go unmentioned: the tenor of the reviews was that he impressed with his enthusiasm and conviction. Blomstedt, who during his career has been chief conductor of the Staatskapelle Dresden, the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra and the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig among others, has been invited to appear with the Berliner Philharmoniker time and time again.

Herbert Blomstedt – the Bruckner specialist

In recent years, the association between conductor and orchestra has intensified, and almost every year he takes to the conductor's stand in the Philharmonie. His motto: “Respect for the musical score is a top priority for any artist.” Herbert Blomstedt is regarded as a specialist in the symphonies of Anton Bruckner which also form the focus of his collaboration with the Berliner Philharmoniker. “These are great works,” says the conductor in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall, “the content, the thoughts are great! Bruckner's symphonies are no village churches, but cathedrals. This has its charm and it is a huge challenge.” For his appearance in January, Herbert Blomstedt and the Berliner Philharmoniker will perform the composer's Eighth Symphony in the version by Robert Haas.

Christian Thielemann – an early love

Christian Thielemann's relationship with the Berliner Philharmoniker began long before he made his conducting debut with the orchestra in June 1996: The dark, velvety sound of the Philharmoniker impressed the native Berliner from an early age – as did the two chief conductors Wilhelm Furtwängler and Herbert von Karajan, whose sense of sound had a lasting influence on Thielemann. He was also much inspired during his time as a student of the Orchestra Academy where he studied viola and was an assistant to Herbert von Karajan. So when the young conductor – then the music director designate of the Deutsche Oper Berlin – made his debut with the Philharmoniker, he was very much rooted in the tradition of the orchestra. Following this debut, the press hailed him as “highly emotional, young and spirited”. In the following years, an intensive partnership developed between the Berliner Philharmoniker and the young conductor. From the beginning of his career, Christian Thielemann, currently chief conductor of the Dresden Staatskapelle and since 2013 artistic director of the Salzburg Easter Festival, has shown a preference for the German Romantic repertoire. This is also demonstrated in his concert programmes with the orchestra: Felix Mendelssohn, Robert Schumann, Johannes Brahms, Anton Bruckner and again and again, Richard Strauss. In January 2015, he conducts two concert series: in the first, we will hear Ludwig van Beethoven's Eroica plus the symphonic poem Orpheus by Franz Liszt, and Hans Werner Henze's orchestral piece Sebastian im Traum. In the second, the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Rundfunkchor Berlin and Christian Thielemann perform Johannes Brahms' Deutsches Requiem. The soloists are Sibylla Rubens and Christian Gerhaher.

Leonidas Kavakos – a passion for Sibelius

Leonidas Kavakos, born in Athens in 1967, has been a regular guest artist with the Berliner Philharmoniker since May 2003. At that time, Kavakos made his debut with Sibelius' Violin Concerto, a work to which the musician has a particularly close relationship: In 1985, at the age of 18, he won the International Sibelius Competition in Helsinki and received the 1991 Gramophone Concert Award for his recording of the concerto. At the end of January and the beginning of February, he performs it again with the orchestra under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle. Together with the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Greek violinist has been heard in the violin concertos by Béla Bartók, Brahms, Ludwig van Beethoven, Erich Wolfgang Korngold and Henri Dutilleux since his debut. The press has repeatedly praised the impeccable technique, refined sensuousness and intelligent delicacy of his playing. The highlight of this years-long collaboration between orchestra and instrumentalist was the Residency of the violinist in the 2012/2013 season.

Im Dezember 1976 gab der schwedisch-amerikanische Dirigent Herbert Blomstedt sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern – zusammen mit dem damals 20-jährigen Pianisten Krystian Zimerman. Die Aufmerksamkeit der Presse richtete sich in erster Linie auf den frischgebackenen Preisträger des Chopin-Wettbewerbs, gleichwohl blieben die dirigentischen Qualitäten Blomstedts nicht unerwähnt: Er beeindrucke – so der Tenor der Kritiker – mit Begeisterungsfähigkeit und Überzeugungskraft. Immer wieder wurde Blomstedt, der im Laufe seine Karriere u. a. Chef der Sächsischen Staatskapelle, des San Francisco Symphony Orchestra und des Leipziger Gewandhausorchesters war, von den Berliner Philharmonikern eingeladen.

Herbert Blomstedt – der Bruckner-Spezialist

In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Dirigent und Orchester intensiviert, nahezu jährlich tritt er ans Pult des Klangkörpers. Sein Credo: »Der Respekt für den Notentext ist oberstes Gebot für jeden Interpreten«. Herbert Blomstedt gilt als Spezialist für die Symphonien Anton Bruckners, die auch im Zentrum seiner Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Philharmonikern stehen. »Das sind große Werke«, schwärmt der Dirigent in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall, »der Inhalt, die Gedanken sind groß! Bruckners Symphonien sind keine Dorfkirche, sondern Kathedralen. Das hat seinen Charme und ist eine enorme Herausforderung«. Bei seinem Auftritt im Januar zelebrieren Herbert Blomstedt und die Berliner Philharmoniker die Achte Symphonie des Komponisten in der Fassung von Robert Haas.

Christian Thielemann – eine Jugendliebe

Christian Thielemanns Beziehung zu den Berliner Philharmonikern begann lange bevor der Dirigent im Juni 1996 erstmals am Pult des Orchesters stand: Der dunkel-samtige Klang der Philharmoniker hat den gebürtigen Berliner von frühester Jugend an beeindruckt – ebenso wie die beiden Chefdirigenten, Wilhelm Furtwängler und Herbert von Karajan, deren Klangverständnis Thielemann nachhaltig prägte. Später empfing er wichtige Inspirationen als Stipendiat der Orchester-Akademie, an der er Bratsche studierte, und als Assistent von Herbert von Karajan. Bei seinem philharmonischen Debüt fühlte sich der junge Dirigent, damals designierter Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin, daher ganz in der Tradition des Orchesters stehend. Die Presse feierte den philharmonischen Debütanten als »hochemotional, jung, temperamentvoll«. In den folgenden Jahren entwickelte sich zwischen den Berliner Philharmonikern und den jungen Dirigenten eine intensive Zusammenarbeit. Von Beginn seiner Karriere an widmet sich Christian Thielemann, derzeit Chefdirigent der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden und seit 2013 auch Künstlerischer Leiter der Salzburger Osterfestspiele, mit Vorliebe dem deutschen romantischen Repertoire. Davon zeugen auch seine philharmonischen Programme: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Robert Schumann, Johannes Brahms, Anton Bruckner und immer wieder Richard Strauss. Im Januar 2015 dirigiert er zwei Konzertserien: In der ersten erklingt neben der Symphonischen Dichtung Orpheus von Franz Liszt und Hans Werner Henzes Orchesterwerk Sebastian im Traum die Eroica von Ludwig van Beethoven. In der zweiten führen die Berliner Philharmoniker, der Rundfunkchor Berlin und Christian Thielemann das Deutsche Requiem von Johannes Brahms auf. Solisten sind Sibylla Rubens und Christian Gerhaher.

Leonidas Kavakas – für Sibelius entbrannt

Leonidas Kavakos, 1967 in Athen geboren, gehört seit Mai 2003 zu den regelmäßigen Gastkünstlern der Berliner Philharmoniker. Damals debütierte Kavakos mit dem Violinkonzert von Jean Sibelius, ein Werk, zu dem der Musiker ein besonders enges Verhältnis hat: Gewann er doch 1985 mit ihm im Alter von 18 Jahren den Internationalen Sibelius-Wettbewerb in Helsinki und erhielt für seine Einspielung 1991 den Gramophone Concert Award. Ende Januar, Anfang Februar führt er es unter Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle wieder mit dem Orchester auf. Seit seinem Debüt konnte man den griechischen Geiger bei den Berliner Philharmonikern als Interpret der Violinkonzerte von Béla Bartók, Johannes Brahms, Ludwig van Beethoven, Erich Wolfgang Korngold und Henri Dutilleux hören. Die Presse lobt immer wieder die technische Makellosigkeit, die sinnliche Noblesse und die intelligente Zartheit seines Spiels. Den Höhepunkt in der langjährigen Zusammenarbeit von Orchester und Instrumentalist bildete die Residency des Geigers in der Saison 2012/2013.