Her Royal Highness

The organ in the Philharmonie Berlin / by Oliver Hilmes

(Photo: Heribert Schindler)

You can’t miss it: the organ of the Philharmonie Berlin cannot fail to catch the eye and is one of the finest concert hall organs in the world. A fascinating instrument that combines high-tech and craftsmanship.

For Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, it was the queen of instruments. It can be found in almost every larger church, and also in town halls and concert halls. Composers such as Johann Sebastian Bach, Felix Mendelssohn and Max Reger wrote countless works for them, while others such as Richard Wagner did not write a single one. It is recognised as the largest of all musical instruments, producing the deepest and highest, and the loudest and softest sounds. In 2017, it was recognised by UNESCO as an intangible cultural heritage. And last but not least, in 2021, it was the first keyboard instrument to be named “Instrument of the Year”. The organ is the talk of the town.

Subject to fashion

But the organ is not like any other instrument. It is not something you can carry around like a violin or a clarinet; you have to go to it wherever it is. As a rule, organs do not belong to private individuals, but are owned by churches or towns, which usually had an influence on the design when they were built. As a result, organ building is always subject to fashions and majority decisions. An organ from 1900 sounds very different from one built after the Second World War, a French organ is very different to a German one, and the sound of a Spanish and a Dutch organ can be worlds apart.

 

Keyboards, pipes and lots of wind

However, the basic principle of the organ is simple and has hardly changed since its invention over 2000 years ago in ancient Alexandria: air flows through metal or wooden pipes of different sizes to produce different sounds. Over the centuries, this process has been more and more refined, new pipe shapes have been developed, experimenting with varying wind pressures and thus creating new sounds. Pipes of any one construction are called stops – they provide the timbre of an organ. Small instruments have only a handful of stops, large organs often have a hundred or more. There are about 50,000 organs in Germany, 1400 of them in Berlin alone.

The organ console
(Photo: Peter Adamik)

An orchestra in itself

The Philharmonie’s organ, built in 1965, has 90 stops with a total of more than 6,500 pipes and is one of the finest concert hall organs in the world. It is the second largest instrument in the German capital, only the organ in Berlin Cathedral is a little larger. Many of the 90 different timbres of the Philharmonie organ are borrowed from the orchestra. There are flutes, oboes and clarinets, trumpets, trombones and tubas, strings and so-called mixed voices, which resemble the high-pitched sound of a piccolo. Other stops have such poetic names as Doppelflöte, Voix céléste and Zartbass. The longest pipe is about 10 metres long and produces a sound with 16 oscillations per second. The shortest pipe measures just under 11 millimetres and produces a sound with 15,600 oscillations per second. Most of the stops are to be found at the manuals, and the low notes are played with the feet on the pedal keyboard. Since the organist can individually set the sounds on each of the four manuals and the pedal and call them up in a matter of seconds using the latest computer technology – this process is called registration – the Philharmonie organ is able to produce a truly magical sound. One minute it sounds like chamber music from a string quartet, or ethereal like a harp, while the next minute it can conjure up the sound of a brass ensemble. If you pull out all the stops of the organ, it gets very loud and the sound roars through the auditorium.

On five Sundays per season, the world's leading organists perform organ matinees at the Philharmonie Berlin, often joined by musicians from the Berliner Philharmoniker. These matinees have become an important gathering for fans of organ music.

 


Discover more

Königliche Hoheit

Die Orgel in der Philharmonie Berlin / Von Oliver Hilmes

(Foto: Heribert Schindler)

Man kann sie nicht übersehen: die Orgel der Philharmonie Berlin ist ein Blickfang und gehört zu den bedeutendsten Konzertsaalorgeln der Welt. Über ein faszinierendes Instrument, das Hightech und Handwerk vereint.

Für Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart war sie die Königin der Instrumente. Sie ist in nahezu jeder größeren Kirche zu finden, sie steht aber auch in Stadthallen, Konzerthäusern und Philharmonien. Komponisten wie Johann Sebastian Bach, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy oder Max Reger haben zahllose Werke für sie geschrieben, andere wie Richard Wagner kein einziges. Sie gilt als das größte aller Musikinstrumente, produziert die tiefsten und höchsten, die lautesten und leisesten Klänge. 2017 wurde sie durch die UNESCO als immaterielles Kulturerbe anerkannt. Last, but not least ist sie das erste Tasteninstrument, das zum »Instrument des Jahres« 2021 gekürt wurde. Die Rede ist von der Orgel.

Der Mode unterworfen

Dabei ist die Orgel kein Instrument wie jedes andere. Man kann sie nicht wie eine Geige oder eine Klarinette mit sich herumtragen, man muss zu ihr hingehen, wo immer sie steht. Orgeln gehören in der Regel keinen Privatpersonen, sondern sind im Besitz von Kirchen oder Städten, die bei der Erbauung zumeist Einfluss auf die Gestaltung nahmen. So ist der Orgelbau immer auch Moden und Mehrheitsbeschlüssen unterworfen. Eine Orgel von 1900 klingt ganz anders als eine aus der Zeit nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, eine französische unterscheidet sich deutlich von einer deutschen, und zwischen dem Klang einer spanischen und einer holländischen Orgel können Welten liegen.

Tasten, Pfeifen und viel Wind

Das Grundprinzip der Orgel ist jedoch simpel und hat sich seit ihrer Erfindung vor über 2000 Jahren im antiken Alexandrien kaum verändert: Luft strömt durch unterschiedlich große Metall- oder Holzpfeifen und erzeugt so verschiedene Klänge. Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte wurde dieses Verfahren immer weiter verfeinert, neue Pfeifenformen entwickelt, mit variierenden Winddrücken experimentiert und somit neue Klänge kreiert. Pfeifen einer Bauart heißen Register – sie sind die Klangfarben einer Orgel. Kleine Instrumente haben nur eine Handvoll Register, große Orgeln nicht selten Hundert und mehr. In Deutschland gibt es etwa 50 000 Orgeln, davon alleine 1400 in Berlin.

Der Spieltisch der Orgel
(Foto: Peter Adamik)

Ein Orchester für sich

Die 1965 erbaute Orgel der Philharmonie hat 90 Register mit insgesamt gut 6500 Pfeifen und gehört zu den bedeutendsten Konzertsaalorgeln der Welt. Sie ist das zweitgrößte Instrument der Hauptstadt, nur die Orgel im Berliner Dom ist noch ein wenig größer. Viele der 90 verschiedenen Klangfarben der Philharmonie-Orgel sind dem Orchester entliehen. Es gibt Flöten, Oboen und Klarinetten, Trompeten, Posaunen und Tuben, Streicher und sogenannte gemischte Stimmen, die dem hohen Klang einer Piccoloflöte ähneln. Andere Register tragen so poetische Namen wie Doppelflöte, Voix céléste oder Zartbass. Die längste Pfeife ist etwa 10 Meter lang und erzeugt einen Ton mit 16 Schwingungen pro Sekunde. Die kürzeste Pfeife misst knapp 11 Millimeter und bringt einen Ton mit 15 600 Schwingungen pro Sekunde hervor. Die meisten Register sind den Manualen zugeordnet, die tiefen Töne werden mit den Füßen auf der Pedalklaviatur gespielt. Da der Organist die Klänge auf jedem der vier Manuale und dem Pedal individuell einstellen und mittels modernster Computertechnik in Sekundenschnelle abrufen kann – dieser Vorgang wird Registrieren genannt –, vermag die Philharmonie-Orgel einen wahren Klangzauber zu erzeugen. Mal klingt sie kammermusikalisch wie ein Streichquartett oder ätherisch wie eine Harfe, in nächster Minute erinnert sie an den Sound eines Blechbläserensembles. Zieht man alle Register der Orgel, wird es sehr laut und die Klänge rauschen durch den Großen Saal.

An fünf Sonntagen pro Saison bitten die berühmtesten Organistinnen und Organisten der Welt zur Orgelmatinee in die Philharmonie Berlin, häufig gesellen sich auch Musiker der Berliner Philharmoniker hinzu. Diese Matineen sind mittlerweile zu einem wichtigen Treffpunkt für die Fans von Orgelmusik geworden.


Mehr zum Thema