Stravinsky times three

Late Night concert with Oksana Lyniv

Ukrainian conductor Oksana Lyniv will be on stage for the first time with members of the Berliner Philharmoniker at our Late Night concert on 25 September. On the programme: three works by Igor Stravinsky that could not be more different. We talked to her about intensive years of teaching, cunning foxes and Russian folklore.

How did you get into conducting?

I was born into a family of musicians, my mother is a pianist, my father is a choir director, my grandfather too. So rehearsals and concerts were something very normal for me from an early age. I then decided to study conducting at university. Unfortunately, my parents were not enthusiastic about the idea, because we come from Brody, a small town in Ukraine. They preferred a secure future for their daughter, and in the 1990s, the prospects for young musicians – women in particular – were very poor there.

But you were successful and eventually became Kirill Petrenko’s assistant at Bayerische Staatsoper. What did you learn from him?

These four years were very intense. I learned how he approaches a wide variety of composers, works and styles. We worked simultaneously on Wagner’s Ring, Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s Soldaten and new productions, Mozart and Italian opera. The fact that he knows exactly which details he has to work on in order to really create the special sound of a composer and his time was the most interesting thing.

Late Night on 25 September

With members of the Berliner Philharmoniker, on the programme: works by Igor Stravinsky

Get your ticket

Livestream

Watch the concert live at 22:00 in the Digital Concert Hall.

Watch Livestream

At the Late Night concert on 25 September, you will conduct three works by Stravinsky.  What fascinates you so much about him?

Stravinsky is one of the most important composers, not only of the 20th century, but in the history of music in general. His works are very complex, he changed styles so often and was always looking for a new sound and musical language. Throughout his life and beyond, he succeeded in captivating his audiences with new creative and revolutionary ideas in music and art. This complexity is also reflected in the programme of the Late Night: we are playing Dumbarton Oaks, his Octet for wind instruments and Renard, three very different chamber music works.

Video: Oksana Lyniv on her fascination for Igor Stravinksy

How are the pieces different?

Dumbarton Oaks is a typical Neoclassical work for chamber orchestra. The Octet is a suite for eight wind instruments in which each movement has its own character and the individual movements contrast with each other. And Renard is something very special, it is like a very short opera that tells the fairy tale of the cunning fox, which is very popular in Ukraine and Russia. The fox wants to eat the cock, but the cock has very clever friends who protect him. You can hear in every bar how important Stravinsky’s connection to his homeland was. He spent a lot of his life abroad and maintained the connection to his roots through folk songs, folklore and fairy tales. This is especially noticeable in this work.

Renard also has a few other special features ...

The great thing about the Late Night format is that, in addition to the 16 instrumentalists and four singers, we also have director Nina Kupczyk and magician and mime Freddie Rutz. We can be creative in this concert and the two of them can underline the text and the music with various actions, but of course we won’t reveal them yet.


Discover more

Strawinsky hoch drei

Late-Night-Konzert mit Oksana Lyniv

Die ukrainische Dirigentin Oksana Lyniv steht am 25. September bei unserem Late Night-Konzert zum ersten Mal mit Musikern der Berliner Philharmoniker auf der Bühne. Auf dem Programm: drei Werke von Igor Strawinsky, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. Wir haben mit ihr über intensive Lehrjahre, listige Füchse und russische Folklore gesprochen.

Wie sind Sie zum Dirigieren gekommen?

Ich wurde in eine Musikerfamilie hineingeboren, meine Mutter ist Pianistin, mein Vater und Großvater sind beide Chorleiter. So waren Proben und Konzerte für mich schon früh etwas ganz Natürliches. Ich habe mich dann für ein Dirigierstudium an der Hochschule entschieden. Leider waren meine Eltern von der Idee nicht begeistert, denn wir stammen aus Brody, einer Kleinstadt in der Ukraine. Sie wünschten sich für ihre Tochter lieber eine sichere Zukunft und in den 1990er-Jahren waren dort die Perspektiven für junge Musiker – Frauen ganz besonders – sehr schlecht.

Sie hatten aber Erfolg und wurden schließlich an der Bayerischen Staatsoper Assistentin von Kirill Petrenko. Was haben Sie von ihm gelernt?

Diese vier Jahre waren für mich sehr intensiv. Ich habe gelernt, wie er an unterschiedlichste Komponisten, Werke und Stilrichtungen herangeht. Wir haben gleichzeitig an Wagners Ring gearbeitet, an den Soldaten von Bernd Alois Zimmermann und an Neuproduktionen, zum Beispiel an Werken von Mozart und italienischen Opern. Dass er ganz genau weiß, an welchen Details er feilen muss, damit der besondere Klang eines Komponisten und seiner Epoche entsteht, war für mich war das Interessanteste.

Late-Night-Konzert am 25. September

Mit Mitgliedern der Berliner Philharmoniker, auf dem Programm: Werke von Igor Strawinsky

Jetzt Tickets kaufen

Livestream

Erleben Sie das Konzert um 22 Uhr live in der Digital Concert Hall.

Zum Livestream

Im Late Night-Konzert am 25. September dirigieren Sie drei Werke von Strawinsky. Was fasziniert Sie so an ihm?

Strawinsky ist einer der wichtigsten Komponisten, nicht nur für das 20. Jahrhundert, sondern für die Musikgeschichte überhaupt. Seine Werke sind sehr komplex. Er hat oft die Stilrichtungen geändert, war immer auf der Suche nach einem neuen Klang und einer neuen Musiksprache. Es ist ihm gelungen, sein Publikum immer wieder mit neuen kreativen und revolutionären Ideen in der Musik und der Kunst zu fesseln. Diese Komplexität spiegelt auch das Programm der Late Night wider: Wir spielen Dumbarton Oaks, sein Oktett für Blasinstrumente und Renard, also drei sehr unterschiedliche kammermusikalische Werke.

Im Video: Oksana Lyniv spricht über ihre Faszination für Igor Strawinksy

Wie unterscheiden sich die Stücke?

Dumbarton Oaks ist ein typisch neoklassizistisches Werk für Kammerorchester. Das Oktett ist eine Suite für acht Blasinstrumente, in der jeder Satz einen ganz eigenen Charakter hat und die einzelnen Sätze im Kontrast zueinanderstehen. Und Renard ist etwas ganz Besonderes: eine ganz kurze Oper, die das in der Ukraine und in Russland sehr populäre Märchen vom listigen Fuchs erzählt. Dieser will den Hahn fressen, aber der hat wiederum sehr schlaue Freunde, die ihn beschützen. Man merkt in jedem Takt, wie wichtig Igor Strawinsky die Verbindung zu seiner Heimat war. Er hat in seinem Leben sehr viel Zeit  im Ausland verbracht und hielt dennoch die Verbindung zu seinen russischen  Wurzeln durch Volkslieder, Folklore und Märchen aufrecht. Das spürt man ganz besonders in diesem Werk.

Es gibt bei Renard auch noch ein paar weitere Besonderheiten …

Das Tolle am Late Night-Format ist, das wir neben den 16 Instrumentalisten und vier Sängern auch noch die Regisseurin Nina Kupczyk sowie den Zauberer und Pantomime Freddie Rutz dabei haben werden. Wir können in diesem Konzert kreativ sein: Die beiden untermalen den Text und die Musik deshalb mit verschiedenen Aktionen, die wir jetzt aber natürlich noch nicht verraten.


Mehr zum Thema