(Photo: (Foto: Cordula Groth))

Maestro with cult status

Claudio Abbado

1933-2014, principal conductor 1990–2002

Claudio Abbado’s musical career was long closely linked with the Berliner Philharmoniker – and not only when the orchestra selected him in 1989 as its principal conductor and Herbert von Karajan’s successor. The 33-year old gave his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker already in December 1966, shortly after Seiji Ozawa. Karajan had brought in those years some promising young conductors to Berlin, and the press reaction was that Abbado was the “greatest talent” of them all. The orchestra of course did not want to pass up on this young talent, and he was invited again in the following year. The concert programme with Alban Berg’s Three Pieces for Orchestra op. 6, Gustav Mahler’s Rückert-Lieder and Ludwig van Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony reflects the focus that was to characterise Abbado’s artistic work in the future: Viennese classicism, the German romantic era and the classical modern style. A fruitful collaboration developed between conductor and orchestra. Originally born in Milan, he served as guest conductor 33 times in the following years before being offered the position of principal conductor.

Departure for new frontiers

When Claudio Abbado took up his new duties, the Berlin Wall had just come down. Berlin and the two German states found themselves in political upheaval. It was a turning point – for both Germany and the Berliner Philharmoniker. “I’m Claudio for everyone. No titles!” With these words – as simple as they were revolutionary – he presented himself as the new boss, without any airs. A change of generations took place in the orchestra: many long-serving musicians retired, and younger ones took their positions. Claudio Abbado strived for a more transparent orchestral sound than his predecessor. The principal conductor placed his very own emphasis with his concert programmes. Typical of the Abbado era were major concert cycles focussing on a specific theme, for instance Prometheus, Faust or Shakespeare, and the engagement with the work of Gustav Mahler. Not to mention the concertant opera performances: of, for instance, Mussorgsky’s Boris Godunow, Verdi’s Simon Boccanegra, Wagner’s Tristan and Parsifal and Alban Berg’s Wozzeck. Many a previously unknown musical treasure was also uncovered, for instance, Gioacchino Rossini’s Il viaggio a Reims and Franz Schubert’s Fierrabras. Claudio Abbado resigned his office as principal conductor in 2002, giving his last concert in his function as head of the Berlin Philharmonic in the Vienna Musikverein in May 2002. At the final applause he was showered with more than 4,000 flowe

Respected and loved

Despite this departure the conductor remained artistically associated with the orchestra until his death in January 2014. Once a year, in May, he returned to Berlin to make music with the Philharmonic musicians. His concerts, with the programming typical of him, had attained cult status and were a highlight of the season. In 2008, shortly before Abbado’s 75th birthday, his Berlin performance developed into a particularly special cultural event: because of a fire in the roof timbres of the Philharmonie the concert had to be rescheduled at the Waldbühne. In 2013, the year he celebrated his 80th birthday, the Philharmoniker performed two central works of the romantic era under his direction: the incidental music for Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Hector Berlioz’sSymphonie fantastique, a work, by the way, that he had never before interpreted with the Berliner Philharmoniker. “The unheard-of thing about late Abbado is his art of bringing together nature and spirit, elegance and analytical clarity, beauty and cruelty,” stated the review published in theTagesspiegel.

1989: The newly elected chief conductor
(Photo: (Foto: Reinhard Friedrich))
In rehearsal
(Photo: (Foto: Cordula Groth))
2002: Farewell in Vienna
(Photo: (Foto: Cordula Groth))

(Foto: (Foto: Cordula Groth))

Maestro mit Kultstatus

Claudio Abbado

1933-2014, Chefdirigent 1990–2002

Claudio Abbados musikalische Laufbahn war eng mit den Berliner Philharmonikern verknüpft – nicht erst seit ihn das Orchester 1989 zum Chefdirigenten und somit zum Nachfolger Herbert von Karajans wählte, sondern bereits seit Dezember 1966. Damals gab der erst 33-Jährige sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern, kurz nach Seiji Ozawa. Karajan hatte in jenen Jahren einige vielversprechende Nachwuchsdirigenten nach Berlin geholt, und die Presse urteilte, Abbado sei von ihnen die »stärkste Begabung«. Diese Begabung wollte das Orchester natürlich nicht ungenutzt lassen. Bereits im folgenden Jahr wurde das junge Talent wieder eingeladen. Das Konzertprogramm mit Alban Bergs Orchesterstücken op. 6, Gustav Mahlers Rückert-Liedern und Ludwig van Beethovens Siebter Symphonie spiegelt die Schwerpunkte wider, die Abbados künstlerische Arbeit zukünftig prägen sollten: die Wiener Klassik, das deutsche romantische Repertoire und die klassische Moderne. Zwischen Dirigent und Orchester entwickelte sich eine fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit. 33 Mal stand der gebürtige Mailänder in den folgenden Jahren als Gastdirigent am Pult der Philharmoniker, ehe ihm die Position des Chefdirigenten angetragen wurde.

Aufbruch zu neuen Ufern

Als Claudio Abbado sein neues Amt antrat, war gerade die Mauer gefallen. Berlin und die beiden deutschen Staaten befanden sich im politischen Umbruch. Eine Wende stand an – in Deutschland und bei den Berliner Philharmonikern. »Ich bin Claudio für alle. Kein Titel!« Mit diesen ebenso schlichten, wie revolutionären Worten stellte er sich, jede Starallüre vermeidend, als neuer Chef vor. Im Orchester fand ein Generationenwechsel statt, viele altgediente Musiker gingen in den Ruhestand, jüngere übernahmen ihre Positionen. Claudio Abbado strebte einen transparenteren Orchesterklang an als sein Vorgänger. Mit seinen Konzertprogrammen setzte der Chefdirigent ganz eigene ästhetische Akzente. Kennzeichnend für die Ära Abbado waren die großen Konzertzyklen, die ein spezielles Thema in den Mittelpunkt stellten, beispielsweise Prometheus, Faust oder Shakespeare, und die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Werk Gustav Mahlers. Nicht zu vergessen die konzertanten Opernaufführungen: zum Beispiel von Mussorgskys Boris Godunow, Verdis Simon Boccanegra, Wagners Tristan und Parsifal sowie Alban Bergs Wozzeck. Aber auch so mancher bislang unbekannter musikalischer Schatz wurde gehoben, beispielsweise Gioacchino Rossinis Il viaggio a Reims oder Franz Schuberts Fierrabras. 2002 legte Claudio Abbado sein Amt als Chefdirigent nieder, im Mai 2002 gab er im Wiener Musikvereinssaal sein letztes Konzert in seiner Funktion als Chef der Berliner Philharmoniker. Beim Schlussapplaus regneten mehr als 4000 Blumen auf ihn herab.

Verehrt und geliebt

Trotz dieses Abschieds blieb der Dirigent dem Orchester bis zu seinem Tod im Januar 2014 weiterhin künstlerisch verbunden. Einmal im Jahr, im Mai, kehrte er nach Berlin zurück, um mit den Philharmonikern zu musizieren. Seine Konzerte mit der für ihn typischen Programmatik hatten Kultstatus und bildeten ein Highlight der Saison. 2008, kurz vor Abbados 75. Geburtstag, geriet sein Berliner Auftritt zu einem besonderen Ereignis: Wegen eines Brandes im Dachstuhl der Philharmonie musste das Konzert kurzfristig in die Waldbühne verlegt werden. 2013, im Jahr seines 80. Geburtstags, führten die Philharmoniker unter seiner Leitung zwei Schlüsselwerke der Romantik auf: die Bühnenmusik zu Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdys Ein Sommernachtstraum und Hector Berlioz’ Symphonie fantastique, ein Werk, das er übrigens nie zuvor mit den Berliner Philharmonikern interpretiert hatte. »Das Unerhörte am späten Abbado ist seine Kunst, Natur und Geist, Eleganz und analytische Klarheit, Schönheit und Grausamkeit zusammenzubringen«, hieß es anschließend in der Kritik des Tagesspiegel.

1989: der neugewählte Chefdirigent
(Foto: (Foto: Reinhard Friedrich))
Bei der Probe
(Foto: (Foto: Cordula Groth))
2002: Abschied in Wien
(Foto: (Foto: Cordula Groth))