In memoriam Mariss Jansons

02 Mar 2020

The Berliner Philharmoniker will honour Mariss Jansons, who died on 1 December, with concerts on 4, 5 and 6 June 2020, which the conductor was originally to have conducted himself. As a result, the programme has been changed. The concerts will be performed without a conductor and will be led by 1st concertmaster Noah Bendix-Balgley from his stand. The programme will include the Second Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven, which was especially important to Mariss Jansons and was the only symphony by this composer that he conducted with the Berliner Philharmoniker. The Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and String Orchestra by Dmitri Shostakovich, with pianist Denis Matsuev and our principal trumpet Guillaume Jehl, will be presented as planned. The programme will conclude with Franz Schubert’s “Unfinished” Symphony.

Alexander Bader, clarinetist and orchestra board member of the Berliner Philharmoniker: “Mariss Jansons, an honorary member of the Berliner Philharmoniker, was a highly esteemed musical partner and personal role model to us for many years. To show that he is irreplaceable, in his memory we will perform the concerts that were planned with him in June without a conductor. We have changed the programme accordingly. It was important to us to select works which meant a great deal to Mariss Jansons, such as Ludwig van Beethoven’s Second Symphony and the Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and String Orchestra by Dmitri Shostakovich. We felt that Schubert’s ‘Unfinishedʼ Symphony would be the appropriate message at the end of this concert. Mariss Jansons will always have a special place in our hearts.”

Go to concert

Mariss Jansons
(Photo: Stephan Rabold)
Noah Bendix-Balgley
(Photo: Nikolai Lund)