Award: Emmanuel Pahud

20 Sep 2023

Emmanuel Pahud, principal flute of the Berliner Philharmoniker, has been awarded the 2024 Léonie Sonning Music Prize. His ability to be both part of an orchestral collective and to perform as a soloist with innovative solo programmes has – according to board member Esben Tange – led the Léonie Sonning Music Foundation to honour the musician: “Emmanuel Pahud embodies the classical ideals of beauty, elegance and balance in his playing, while at the same time he is committed to the composition of new works.” The prize is regarded in the music world as Denmark’s most important award. As the prize winner, Emmanuel Pahud will give a series of concerts in Denmark in 2024.

The prize was established in 1965 by Leonie Sonning, the widow of the Danish author Carl Johan Sonning, through the creation of a music foundation. Since then, it has been awarded annually to a major international musical figure. The prize winners have included Igor Stravinsky, Leonard Bernstein, Anne-Sophie Mutter and Kaija Saariaho, as well as the former chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Sir Simon Rattle.

More about Emmanuel Pahud

Emmanuel Pahud
(Photo: Sebastian Hänel)