16-18 June: Introductory talk at the Musikinstrumenten-Museum Berlin

09 Jun 2022

The introductory events for the concerts on 16, 17 and 18 June will take place in the Curt Sachs Saal of the Musikinstrumenten-Museum Berlin. The introduction focuses on the Danish composer Rued Langgaard and his Symphony No. 1, which will be performed by the Berliner Philharmoniker for the first time in 109 years. Guests of the discussion round moderated by the Philharmoniker horn player Sarah Willis are the conductor Sakari Oramo (17 and 18 June), Jesper Busk Sørensen, trombonist with the Berliner Philharmoniker, Esben Tange, artistic director of the Rued Langgaard Festival, and Carsten Schmidt, head of the library and department of musicological documentation at the Staatliche Institut für Musikforschung. Until 26 June, the museum is presenting the autograph of the symphony from the Institute’s collection in a special exhibition.

Free ticket at the museum ticket office

To take part in these introductions, concertgoers need a free admission ticket. These are available at the ticket office of the Musikinstrumenten-Museum Berlin (Entrance: Ben-Gurion-Straße).

Advance booking:
Phone: +49 (0)30 254 81-178

Langgaard in Berlin

Learn more about the Danish composer and his music – in the event series Langgaard in Berlin, a cooperation of the Staatliche Institut für Musikforschung with the Royal Danish Embassy in Berlin, the Stiftung Sankt Matthäus, Berlin, the Rued Langgaard Society, Ribe, and Dacapo Records, Copenhagen.

Find out more

Curt Sachs Saal of the Musikinstrumenten-Museum Berlin
(Photo: Anne-Katrin Breitenborn)
Autograph of Rued Langgard's First Symphony
(Photo: Staatliches Institut für Musikforschung Preußischer Kulturbesitz/Carsten Schmidt)