Ensemble Modern

Sir George Benjamin (photo: Matthew Lloyd)

As both a composer and conductor combined, Sir George Benjamin’s contribution to the development of contemporary music in recent decades can hardly be overestimated. An achievement that is recognised this year with the award of the prestigious Ernst von Siemens Music Prize. He makes a guest appearance at Musikfest Berlin in two concerts, on 2 and 3 September, together with the Ensemble Modern he loves so much.

Ensemble Modern

George Benjamin conductor

Anna Prohaska soprano

Edgard Varèse

Octandre for 7 winds and double bass

Saed Haddad

Mirage, Mémoire, Mystère for string quartet

Maurice Ravel

Trois Poèmes de Stéphane Mallarmé

Anna Prohaska soprano

Johann Sebastian Bach

The Art of the Fugue, BWV 1080: Canon in Hypodiapason and Contrapunctus 7 (arr. for ensemble by George Benjamin)

Arnold Schoenberg

Chamber Symphony No. 1, op. 9

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event, funded by Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.

Dates and Tickets

Sat 02 Sep 2023, 17:00

Chamber Music Hall | Introduction: 16:10


Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Schaperstraße 24

Phone: +49 (30) 254 89 100

Contact via email

Visit website