Hannu Lintu and Vilde Frang

Hannu Lintu (photo: Veikko Kaehkoenen)

Finnish conductor Hannu Lintu makes his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker as a musical ambassador of his home country. The chief conductor of the Finnish National Opera presents Kaija Saariaho’s ethereal Ciel d’hiver and Jean Sibelius’ Seventh Symphony: a formally innovative work whose harsh, Nordic tone is reminiscent of the vastness of Finnish landscapes. The concert opens with Olivier Messiaen’s orchestral lament Le Tombeau resplendissant and Igor Stravinsky’s highly virtuosic Violin Concerto, which plays with Baroque forms, with Vilde Frang as soloist.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Hannu Lintu conductor

Vilde Frang violin

Olivier Messiaen

Le Tombeau resplendissant

Igor Stravinsky

Concerto in D for Violin and Orchestra

Vilde Frang violin

Kaija Saariaho

Ciel d'hiver

Jean Sibelius

Symphony No. 7 in C major, op. 105

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Vilde Frang (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Special exhibition

Before the concert visit the special exhibition