The Feininger Trio Plays Schubert, Brahms, Zemlinsky and Gourzi

Feininger Trio (photo: Iréne Zandel)

The Feininger Trio, named after the painter and Bauhaus co-founder Lyonel Feininger, is noted for its warm, expressive sound and refined, nuanced interpretations. In this programme, the ensemble takes us to the musical Vienna of Romanticism and late Romanticism – with piano trios by Schubert, his soulful Notturno; the Brahms C minor, glowing with Hungarian fire; and Zemlinsky’s Op. 3, unmistakably oriented towards the tradition of Brahms. Offering a contemporary counterpoint is Apollon by the Greek composer Konstantia Gourzi.

Feininger Trio

Christoph Streuli violin

David Riniker cello

Adrian Oetiker piano

Franz Schubert

Piano Trio in E flat major, D 897 ‟Notturno”

Alexander Zemlinsky

Trio in D minor, op. 3 (arr. for violin, cello and piano)

Konstantia Gourzi

Apollon, Trio for Piano, Violin and Cello, op. 101

Johannes Brahms

Piano Trio No. 3 in C minor, op. 101

Dates and Tickets

sales information