Kirill Petrenko and Lisa Batiashvili

Lisa Batiashvili (photo: Stefan Höderath)

Karol Szymanowski’s heartfelt, passionate, and mysterious First Violin Concerto is regarded as a secret declaration of love for the violinist Paul Kochanski. Lisa Batiashvili, Artist in Residence for the 2023/24 season, is a master of nuance, and knows how to fully unleash the poetry and richness of tonal colour in this piece. Not secretly, but quite openly, Richard Strauss depicts his family life in his Symphonia domestica in an ironically humorous way, including the screaming of children, marital strife and loving reconciliation. The conductor of the evening is Kirill Petrenko.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Franz Liszt

Les Préludes, Symphonic Poem No. 3

Karol Szymanowski

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1, op. 35

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Richard Strauss

Symphonia domestica, op. 53

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)

Artist in Residence

The Reflection of the Soul: Portrait of Lisa Batiashvili