Kirill Petrenko conducts Schoenberg

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Kirill Petrenko presents two key works of the 20th century: with Kammersinfonie Nr. 1, Arnold Schoenberg initiated a turning point in his oeuvre, away from the full sound of late Romanticism and towards a modern, sinewy musical language. The expressive power that this can generate is also shown in his unfinished oratorio Die Jakobsleiter, for which Schoenberg was inspired by an Old Testament story: Jacob’s dream of the ladder to heaven that leads to God is taken by the composer as a parable for man’s search for spirituality.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Wolfgang Koch baritone

Daniel Behle tenor

Wolfgang Ablinger-Sperrhacke tenor

Johannes Martin Kränzle baritone

Gyula Orendt baritone

Nicola Beller Carbone soprano

Liv Redpath soprano

Jasmin Delfs soprano

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Arnold Schoenberg

Chamber Symphony No. 1, op. 9

Arnold Schoenberg

Die Jakobsleiter (Jacob's Ladder), Oratorio

Wolfgang Koch baritone, Daniel Behle tenor, Wolfgang Ablinger-Sperrhacke tenor, Johannes Martin Kränzle baritone, Gyula Orendt baritone, Nicola Beller Carbone soprano, Liv Redpath soprano, Jasmin Delfs soprano, Rundfunkchor Berlin choir

Dates and Tickets

sales information


On the sesquicentenary of Schoenberg’s birth