Daniel Harding conducts Bruckner’s “Romantic”

Daniel Harding (photo: Julian Hargreaves)

A horn call from the tower of a medieval town, the rustle of a forest, hunting scenes – Anton Bruckner had such images in mind when he composed his Fourth Symphony, known as the “Romantic”. In this concert, conductor Daniel Harding will bring out the tonal richness of the symphony. Before that, we hear the Viola Concerto by Jörg Widmann, which allows soloist Antoine Tamestit not only to explore the dark, warm tone of his viola, but also to demand completely different, surprising sounds from the instrument – percussive, cutting, unsettling.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Harding conductor

Antoine Tamestit viola

Jörg Widmann

Concerto for Viola and Orchestra

Antoine Tamestit viola

Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 4 in E flat major “Romantic” (2nd version from 1878/80)

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Antoine Tamestit (photo: Julien Mignot)

Composer in Residence

In Search of the Uncertain: Portrait of Jörg Widmann