Albrecht Mayer, Gottfried von der Goltz and the Berlin Baroque Soloists

Berliner Barock Solisten (photo: Frederic Brenner)

In the view of Albrecht Mayer, principal oboist of the Berliner Philharmoniker, “Johann Sebastian Bach loved the oboe beyond all measure”. Bach’s brilliant Concerto in A major for oboe d’amore would seem to support his presumption. At this concert, he performs the piece with the Berliner Barock Solisten (Berlin Baroque Soloists), an ensemble composed of members of the Berliner Philharmoniker along with leading representatives of the Early Music scene. Other items on the evening’s programme are the virtuosic Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 and concertante works by other members of the Bach family.

Berliner Barock Solisten

Gottfried von der Goltz violin

Albrecht Mayer oboe, oboe d'amore and direction

Johann Sebastian Bach

Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048 (Early version)

Johann Christoph Friedrich Bach

Sinfonia in D minor, Wf I/3

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Concerto for Oboe, Strings and Continuo in G major (afther the Harpsichord Concerto, Wq 9)

Johann Christoph Bach

Lamento for Oboe d'amore, Violin, Strings Continuo (after "Ach, dass ich Wassers gnug hätte")

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Symphony for strings in E flat major, Wq/HWV deest

Johann Sebastian Bach

Concerto for Oboe d'amore, Strings and Continuo in A major, BWV 1055R

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Series Original Sounds

The splendour of baroque in four concerts