Pekka Kuusisto and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Pekka Kuusisto (photo: Kaapo Kamu)

Finnish violinist and conductor Pekka Kuusisto is an unconventional artist who is not only passionate about classical music, but also about folk, jazz and electronic music. This broad range shapes his style of music-making and his programming. Together with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, he presents Beethoven’s Violin Concerto, one of the finest works of the genre, which he juxtaposes with two contemporary works: John Adams’ oscillating, energetic Shaker Loops and Thomas Adès’ Studies from Couperin, which combine Baroque elegance with contemporary tonal language.

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Pekka Kuusisto violin and direction

Thomas Adès

Three Studies from Couperin

John Adams

Shaker Loops

Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, op. 61

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Mahler Chamber Orchestra (photo: Molinavisuals)