Die Götter Hades und Persephone als Fürst*innen der Unterwelt, Weihrelief aus Terrakotta, 5. Jh. v.Chr. (photo: De Agostini Editorial / getty images)

Musikfest Berlin

“A dual creature of life and death,” is how Iannis Xenakis described humanity. His orchestral work “Aïs”, programmed here by the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin under Vladimir Jurowski uses texts from Homer’s “Iliad” and “Odyssey” to highlight the moment when all life comes to an end. Even the love that can be heard in Béla Bartók’s First Violin Concerto remains fleeting. The concert concludes with Gustav Mahler’s Fifth Symphony.

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Vladimir Jurowski conductor

Georg Nigl baritone

Dirk Rothbrust drums

Vilde Frang violin

Iannis Xenakis

Aïs for baritone, percussion and orchestra

Georg Nigl baritone , Dirk Rothbrust drums

Béla Bartók

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1, Sz 36

Vilde Frang violin

Gustav Mahler

Symphony No. 5

A Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Dates and Tickets

Tue 13 Sep 2022, 20:00

Main Auditorium


Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Abonnement- und Kartenbüro
Charlottenstraße 56
10117 Berlin

Phone: +49 30 202 987 15

Fax: +49 30 202 987 29

Contact via email

Visit website