Die junge Florence Price auf einer undatierten Fotografie

This year The Philadelphia Orchestra celebrates an important rediscovery. By programming Florence Price, the conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin features a composer whose works gained considerable attention in the USA in the Thirties and Forties by incorporating the echoes of the spirituals into a classic symphonic form. Pieces by Antonín Dvořák and Karol Szymanowski provide a rousing opening.

Philadelphia Orchestra

Yannick Nézet-Séguin conductor

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Antonín Dvořák

Carnival Overture, op. 92

Karol Szymanowski

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1, op. 35

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Florence Price

Symphony No. 1 in E minor

A Berliner Festspiele/Musikfest Berlin event

Dates and Tickets

Thu 01 Sep 2022, 20:00

Main Auditorium


Berliner Festspiele

Schaperstraße 24
10719 Berlin

Phone: +49 30 254 891 00

Fax: +49 30 254 892 30

Contact via email

Visit website