Sakari Oramo conducts the Karajan Academy

Sakari Oramo (photo: Benjamin Ealovega)

Romanian melodies, Latin American rhythms, Nordic atmospheric images: the music of the 20th century is colourful, diverse and surprising, as this programme with works by Sibelius, Copland, Ligeti and Ginastera shows. As different as the compositions may seem, they have one thing in common: they have their roots or are inspired by traditional folk music. For the first time, Sakari Oramo, long-time guest conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker, will lead the Karajan Academy. Sophie Pardatscher, the soloist in Copland’s Clarinet Concerto, has been a scholarship holder of the Academy since 2021.

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Sakari Oramo conductor

Sophie Pardatscher clarinet

Jean Sibelius

Pelléas and Mélisande, Suite, op. 46

Aaron Copland

Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra

Sophie Pardatscher clarinet

György Ligeti

Concert Românesc

Alberto Ginastera

Variaciones concertantes, op. 23

Dates and Tickets