Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Dénes Várjon and Veronika Eberle

Chamber Orchestra of Europe (photo: Julia Wesely)

Light and dark, light and shadow – these contrasts are closely juxtaposed in this programme by the Chamber Orchestra of Europe: in Haydn’s Symphony No. 34, the sombre D minor and serene D major alternate. Minor modes also give the violin concerto by the 13-year-old Mendelssohn a tragic character, while Hummel’s G major concerto conveys above all light-heartedness. Janáček, on the other hand, offers musical sketches of quarrelling animals in his Concertino. In addition to such varied moods, virtuosity does not come up short in these concertante works.

Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Dénes Várjon piano and direction

Veronika Eberle violin

Joseph Haydn

Symphony No. 34 in D minor/major

Johann Nepomuk Hummel

Concerto for Piano, Violin and Orchestra in G major, op. 17

Veronika Eberle violin

Leoš Janáček

Concertino, JW VII/11

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Orchestra in D minor

Veronika Eberle violin

Supported by the Aventis Foundation

Dates and Tickets

Veronika Eberle (photo: Felix Broede)