Philharmonic Chamber Music: Music of Mourning

Philharmonic String Quartet Berlin

Chamber Music

Felix Mendelssohn was less than enthusiastic when his sister Fanny Hensel showed him her Quartet in E-flat major – as women composers in general could not hope for approval at the time. Today, however, Fanny Hensel’s work is proof of her great talent. After her early death, Mendelssohn created a musical monument to his sister with his dramatic and poignant String Quartet No. 6. The sentiment of mourning also dominates the works of Giacomo Puccini and Samuel Barber. With the Philharmonic String Quartet we hear the young generation of Berliner Philharmoniker musicians.

Philharmonisches Streichquartett

Dorian Xhoxhi violin

Johanna Pichlmair violin

Naoko Shimizu viola

Christoph Heesch cello

Giacomo Puccini

Crisantemi for string quartet

Fanny Hensel

String Quartet in E flat major

Samuel Barber

String Quartet, op. 11: 2nd Movement Molto adagio

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, op. 80

Dates and Tickets

sales information