Biennale of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Harding conducts Debussy, Ligeti, Sibelius and Britten

(photo: Julian Hargreaves)

György Ligeti was one of the musical beacons of the post-war avant-garde. Curious, adventurous, often humorous, he explored new, unexpected worlds. To open the Biennale of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Daniel Harding, standing in for Kirill Petrenko, conducts two key works by Ligeti, Atmosphères and Lontano, whose shimmering sound masses are typical of the composer’s style. In this concert, they are mirrored by three musical depictions of the sea: Claude Debussy‘s impressionistic sound painting La Mer, Jean Sibelius‘ dazzling tone poem Oceanides and Benjamin Britten‘s evocative Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Harding conductor (replacing Kirill Petrenko)

Jean Sibelius

The Oceanides, op.73

György Ligeti

Lontano for large orchestra

Benjamin Britten

Peter Grimes, op. 33a: Four Sea Interludes

György Ligeti


Claude Debussy

La Mer

Biennale packages

Put together your own individual Biennale package with three (10% discount) or five events (15% discount). You can choose from a total of twelve concert programmes of the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation. The Biennale packages are available exclusively online.

3 concerts / 10 % discount

5 concerts / 15 % discount

Dates and Tickets

sales information