Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)

Kirill Petrenko conducts Beethoven, Brahms and Schoenberg

After Beethoven’s Seventh and Ninth Symphonies, Kirill Petrenko now conducts the Eighth with the Berliner Philharmoniker, in which the composer humorously toys with the audience’s expectations. The programme also presents two splendid sets of orchestral variations: the good-humoured Haydn Variations by Johannes Brahms and Arnold Schoenberg’s Variations for Orchestra, in which the composer applied his twelve-tone technique for the first time. The work, which was premiered by the Berliner Philharmoniker under Wilhelm Furtwängler in 1928, shows not least how much Schoenberg was inspired by Brahms – a fascinating juxtaposition.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Johannes Brahms

Variations on a Theme by Haydn in B flat major, op. 56a

Arnold Schoenberg

Variations for orchestra, op. 31

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 8 in F major, op. 93

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)