Santtu-Matias Rouvali (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Santtu­-Matias Rouvali and Víkingur Ólafsson

John Adams describes his piano concerto Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes? as a “funky danse macabre”. Pianist Víkingur Ólafsson has chosen the energetic, diabolical work for his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker, with the youthful Santtu-­Matias Rouvali, principal conductor of London’s Philharmonia Orchestra, at the podium. Also on the programme are Helix, by our Composer in Residence Esa­-Pekka Salonen, which builds from an idyllic opening to its vehement conclusion, and Sergei Prokofiev’s Fifth Symphony, one of the composer’s most popular works.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor

Víkingur Ólafsson piano

Esa-Pekka Salonen


John Adams

Must the devil have all the good tunes?, Concerto for Piano and Orchestra

Víkingur Ólafsson piano

Sergei Prokofiev

Symphony No. 5 in B flar major, op. 100

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Santtu-Matias Rouvali (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Víkingur Ólafsson (photo: Ari Magg)