Andris Nelsons (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Andris Nelsons conducts Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony

Composed in American exile, Arnold Schoenberg’s Piano Concerto is a seminal work of Modernism, but pianist Mitsuko Uchida also finds “lightness, serenity and sadness” in it. For her, the Concerto is not least an homage to the Viennese musical culture that Schoenberg came from. An especially impressive work from this Viennese tradition is Anton Bruckner’s solemn Seventh Symphony, which brought the composer an overwhelming triumph after many failures. Andris Nelsons, a Bruckner specialist from the younger generation of conductors, takes the podium of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons conductor

Mitsuko Uchida piano

Arnold Schoenberg

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, op. 42

Mitsuko Uchida piano

Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 7 in E major

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Andris Nelsons (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Mitsuko Uchida (photo: Decca / Justin Pumfrey)