Jazz at Berlin Philharmonic:
Tribute to Krzysztof Komeda

Joachim Kühn (photo: ACT Steven Haberland)

He wrote the soundtracks for film classics such as Dance of the Vampires and Rosemary’s Baby and made jazz respectable in his native Poland: The pianist and composer Krzysztof Komeda was one of Poland’s leading jazz musicians until his untimely death in 1969. Joachim Kühn, one of the international jazz pianists of our day, is a great admirer of Komeda, who he met personally in Warsaw in 1965. In the first concert of our Jazz at Berlin Philharmonic series, Kühn pays tribute to the artist performing solo, in a trio with Chris Jennings and Eric Schaefer, and with the Polish Atom String Quartet.

Joachim Kühn Trio

Joachim Kühn piano

Chris Jennings double bass

Eric Schaefer drums

Atom String Quartet

Dawid Lubowicz violin

Mateusz Smoczynski violin

Michal Zaborski viola

Krzysztof Lenczowski cello

Homage to Krzysztof Komeda

Curated by Siggi Loch

Dates and Tickets